We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Het Waterhuis aan de Bierkant

Het Waterhuis aan de Bierkant
Ranked #16 of 839 Restaurants in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene, View
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Mainly a beer heaven with some food to help it down, alongside the canal
Phalaborwa, South Africa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“GREAT !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We´ve spend one evening in this charming cafe. Great beers, every taste and so much choices and a wonderful service. We will come back !!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    194
    36
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best bar in Ghent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

My husband and I were in Ghent approx. five years ago for a couple of days and went to this bar ever chance we could. So when I returned to Ghent for a day trip this July this was my first stop. It was just as I remembered - EXCELLENT beer (Klokke), super friendly staff and just an overall classic Belgian bar. If you go in the warm months they have out door seating with a great view for people watching. During the colder months the bar gets really packed so go early. Unlike other reviewers even when packed service was always good never had to wait more than a couple of minutes for my beer. Maybe being female, friendly and from NYC helps :0

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeekieMoo_NYCNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Beerilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Small bar with large terrace alongside the river. Somewhere between 150 and 200 beers on offer (depending on who you believe) with about 15 on draft. There is a book describing each beer. The beer comes in its personalised glass and Belgian beer is like no other. Be careful of the strength (upto 11 percent) but atmosphere is lively and there is a Genever bar (Dutch gin with flavourings) next door which is also worth a look. Geat views while you sip your beer. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“I'll have another!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

I visited this bar a number of years ago in late fall and decided to stop again during an April visit in Ghent. I must admit it was more enjoyable the first time likely because the weather was cold and there weren't so many people at the bar. This time it was beautiful outside and so very crowded. The wait staff tried to keep up but it was difficult to get our beer without long waits. However, the selection of Belgian beers was excellent as always. Overall, this is still one of the top beer bars to visit while in Ghent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great beer collection, great location, great service: a must-visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

I'm very troubled by all the negative comments on the service. I'm a local and I often go here for a beer. If you don't know what beer to chose from the overwhelming menu, just ask the waiters. When they're able, they will give you an entire explanation about the beers and their taste and origins. However, you have to consider that when there are 20 other guests waiting for an order, they lack the time of giving the service that you wish for.
There's a great atmosphere in the bar and their selection on draft beers is excellent. When comparing prices with other beer houses this is an outstanding choice!
The golden tip is to wave at the waiter and have a bit of patience. I hope you enjoy your visit to this excellent bar!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Het Waterhuis aan de Bierkant also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Het Waterhuis aan de Bierkant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing