We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A MUST VISIT IN GHENT”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dulle Griet

Dulle Griet
Ranked #2 of 35 Nightlife in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: De Dulle Griet is a time-worn old-school pub, with a wonderful old Flemish interior. The selection of beers is impressive too, with more than 400 different special beers, both local & international. De Dulle Griet has the biggest choice in terms of beers in Ghent!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A MUST VISIT IN GHENT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

You have to come here if 1) your visiting Ghent and 2) you enjoy Belgium beer. Not only are they much friendlier compared to some of the surrounding bars but it has a brilliant atmosphere, was packed, has an amazing selection of beers and is worth a visit just to order/consume a MAX Beer. 2.2L of either blond or brun. I went for the Brun and have to say it was one of the nicest beers I had over the 2 days. For 10 euro you are getting close to 4 pints (a bargain!) and the whole having your shoe taken away as a deposit is a blast.... my friends who visited here with likewise loved it. In fact we left here, went for dinner and then returned after....but couldn't get in as it was so busy.

Always a good sign. Highly recommended

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NeilTh1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    137
    31
    9
    39
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing variety of beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

This place may well be a tourist trap, but it is a must-see nonetheless. It has 250 beers to choose from (7 on tap), amongst which is the Dulle Griet beer itself (and its VERY potent). If you opt for the very popular KWAK beer you get a huge one-litre glass of this somewhat sweet beer – and you must give your shoe as deposit. This is hung up from the ceiling in a fishing-net. Note the many souvenir shoes of clients that preferred to keep the glass…

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Friendly cafe which specializes in local beers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Nice cafe with mostly tourists but manages to be authentic anyway thanks to abundance of beer related artifacts, professional waiters and just hundreds of brands of Belgian beers to try out.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MariekeAmsterdam718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

My boyfriend and I just visited this place since it was listed as a good place to try in my travel book. The interior is nice and it's fun to sit there and marvel at the historic pieces of beer culture they have in there. Unfortunately, and maybe because it is such a tourist area we were treated with no respect.

We are Americans and it seemed as though the bartender wanted nothing to do with us because of that. We are huge beer lovers and even brought American bottles to trade in Belgium. We almost got the impression that all the bartenders in Belgium would not like us or look down on us because of this guy.

When the bartender first gave us our beers we asked him if he traded beers or if he knew of any places that did and that we were huge beer fans. He practically scoffed at us for asking and told us "no offense, but you Americans don't know how to brew beer". Coming from a guy who works in such a touristy area we were shocked that he would say something like that because it is totally wrong and a very ignorant thing to say. We tried to brush it off and even offered to bring one of our beers we brought to show him but he said he wouldn't be working the next day. What do you know we walked in the next day with the rest of our group just to show them the place and there he was right behind the bar.

In a nutshell all the bartenders we saw there were rude, unfriendly, and stuck up and I think it's pretty appalling the way the one guy we talked to treated us. If you don't want to deal with tourists, then don't work in such a touristy spot!


If you really love beer, don't go here, it's just a tourist trap.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Gabriela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great bar, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

I had been recommended the Dulle Griet by a friend, how right he was!

As soon as you walk in the bar has a great atmosphere, both in decor and people. The waiter was happy to give advice on beer, following a few questions to establish our tastes he managed to bring a superb beer on every occasion. The only food available on the evening was a plate of salami & cheese, this was superb and went down very well.

The Dulle Griet was so good that we returned on our second night, the only disappointment was that we were not staying in Ghent long enough to return for a third night.

This bar is highly recommended and I will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank Jack5764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dulle Griet also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Dulle Griet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing