We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Het Rommelwater B&B
Nearby Hotels
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
20
18
7
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
18
7
4
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I've stayed twice at Het Rommelwater and I am already planning on coming back. It's in a wonderful location for exploring Ghent and Belgium and it was an absolutely wonderful stay. The rooms were extremely comfortable with television and cooking facilities, the great coffee in the rooms was a wonderful bonus and the bathroom was clean and comfortable. I could also safely leave my bike indoors and while close to Ghent it was quiet to be able to get plenty of rest after cycling. The best part was the really nice hosts who always are extremely hospitable and warm people! It really began to feel like a home from home and so I can't wait to come back. I'll definitely be going there every year from now on.

Room Tip: I stayed in two of the rooms and both were extremely comfortable
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Healthfreak2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My stay at Het Rommewater B&B was nothing less than heavenly home away from home. The owners Rene and Stef live in they are always friendly and knowledgable of Belgium and of course the city of Ghent.
My travels take me to far away places and there is nothing more comforting than a cozy warm place to put your feet up and the end of the day, enjoy a world renowned Belgium beer. The rooms are great and colorful. I normally stay in the little room it's really cozy and with the breakfast its great value for money.
I have been passing through Ghent for the last 4 years and make a point of staying @ Het Rommelwater B&B

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Having stayed a little out of town on our first night at the Astoria we had to change due to no availability for our second night in Ghent. Despite the nice web photos this hotel was disapointing. The rooms were basic, lacked good lighting and our room faced out onto a very noisy bar which went on until 5am. Despite paying 129 euros for the room, which you can get cheaper and better in Ghent our breakfast was an extra 20 euros each! I've paid less in London! The breakfast was nice but it was certainly not worth it. We spent the same amount out on dunno and drinks at Gruut the night before. In short if you want good value and a decent night sleep look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenintheUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HetRommelwater, Owner at Het Rommelwater B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Please note this review is for Hotel Astoria in Ghent and not for our B&B. So this review is posted under the wrong business. We asked Tripadvisor to check this review and take if off
our site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stayed in the single room. Very good price, nice furniture and comfort overall OK. The owner lives in the property and is quite nice. As other reviewers had previously said, the wi-fi didn't work well in my room, but she did everything to fix it, and I think it's going to be ultimately fixed quite soon. The place is a 20-minute walk from the centre, so if you have to be there sharp on time for work, you'll have to get the bus at the near stop, or get up early enough and walk. Otherwise, the location is just fine and close enough to Dampoort station, though there aren't any shops or bakeries nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siebel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed in a single room.
The room is rather simple and antique.
The price was great (38 euro without breakfast). The only thing that was important for me was to Skype with my wife and kids but the internet connection is so lousy that I had to come up with other solutions (although I specifically addressed the free Wifi issue with the owner prior to my arrival).
Overall the place is OK.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dov S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HetRommelwater, Owner at Het Rommelwater B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

As it was the first complaint we immediately checked our wifi with our notebook in every room and everything worked perfect. So we think maybe the problem was due to our guest's notebook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews