We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant, medium sized hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Chamade
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The hotel is located near St. Pieter’s train station, but far enough away not to suffer from the noise of trains. It is on a fairly busy road with a tram stop opposite the hotel. In about 8 minutes, tramline 1 takes you directly into the city centre. The hotel is very well soundproofed. Entering the hotel you will find the desk and a small bar at the left. Desk and bar are opened till 23.00 hrs. After that time there is no staff till the following morning and you have to use the night entrance to enter the hotel. The 45 rooms can be reached by an elevator. The hotel has its own parking.
Staff is kind and helpful. Check inn/check out went very smoothly. Previously sent e-mail was answered within 24 hrs. and my request for a quiet room was honoured.
I occupied room 103, which was very attractive and spacious. It has a large boxspring bed with a rather good mattress. The pillows are soft, but you can take a second one. There is a large cupboard with a mini bar and coffee/tea facillities. The room has an air-conditioner, which I did not use, and a rather large LCD-TV with many channels in different languages. Against the wall there is a large mirror. Wifi is free. The large bathroom, separated by a door, has a washstand (with all kind of amenities), a toilet and a bath with shower. To use only the shower is somewhat risky because of the slippery floor in the bath. Room and bathroom were impeccably clean.
The warm/cold breakfast buffet is on the 6th. Floor. It is really very, very good: a great variety of bread and sweets, several kinds of yoghurt, jam, cheese, meat products, fresh fruit, etc. Coffee from the coffee machine is good. Our breakfast was included in the price of the room. You can have neither lunch nor dinner, but there are several restaurants with terraces in the neighbourhood. I paid 74 euro for a double room single use (prepaid non-refundable) which is very acceptable.
All in all, the hotel is very recommendable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwmpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenV3, Manager at Best Western Hotel Chamade, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear sir,

Thank you very much for your nice review of our hotel.

We do appreciate every opinion of our guests!

Hope to welcome you again once more in our hotel.

Best regards,

E. Vanasten
General Management
BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2013

If you are covering Bruges while staying in Ghent, this hotel is ideally located being just a five minute walk from the Ghent Seint Pietre Station. Even otherwise, you get Tram No. 1 right in front of the Hotel which takes you to the Historic Centrum, the Castle, and most of the attractions in Ghent.
The hotel is very basic, nothing fancy. The rooms are cramped. The standard double occupancy hardly has space to move if you have opened both your suitcases. There is only one lift and breakfast is on the 6th Floor. You have to wait a long while for your turn, otherwise the stairs are very steep.
The buffet breakfast surprisingly is very good. It is a complete spread, and you can get your fuel for the day. Carry some fruits from the buffet for your afternoon snacking and you are good to go.
All in all, I would say the place is value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnuragRanjita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenV3, Manager at Best Western Hotel Chamade, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear sir,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel.
We do appreciate every opinion of our guests.

I hope we can welcome you once again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Ellen Vanasten
Best Western Hotel Chamade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Travelers beware! I had a late night check-in which worked well. I was dead tired from my travels and just wanted to crash. However when I entered the non-smoking room it was clear that there had been someone in before smoking cigartettes. I also found that the room was barely cleaned. Finding hair everywhere in the bathtub hardly qualify as clean. Thanks God I could open the windows, but I was happy to check out in the morning and leave.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spladi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

From apalling check in experience, double charging for accomodation, an awful room with no hot water, no working TV, and freeezing cold (outside temp was minus 6 inside it was minus two !
Breakfast was spartan, and stale bread does not make a continental breakfast.
Cannot recommend this place at all, next time I stay In Gent i'd rather sleep on St peters platform !

Room Tip: Anywhere away from the renovation works, ask for a room with a "working TV" apprantently t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cleethopresmafia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenV3, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Chamade, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear sir,

First of all I would like to thank you that you've taken the time to review our hotel. We take every opinion of our guest very seriously.
I'm sorry that your stay with us was not what you expected.
In order to give you a correct answer I would like to know when exactely you stayed with us and what your name is. You can send an answer directly to the hotel via email info@chamade.be
I would like to inform you that we have installed brand new satellite television last week, this was probably during your stay. After a few hours we noticed that some tv's were not working properly, this was immediately taken care of the next day.
I'm so sorry if this caused you any inconvenience.
Our hotel only has digital flat screens and 2 satellite dishes on the roof of the hotel, with a variety of dutch, english, french and german speaking channels.

Best regards,

Ellen Vanasten
Manager Best Western Hotel Chamade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

During our recent visit to the Gent Six Day Race, we stayed in the Hotel Chamade for three nights. The hotel room was a good size and the equipment provided was of a good standard. The hotel provides free wi fi, which is always a bonus. You will need to request parking prior to arrival, which we didn't, however three days in the underground train station car park was only 30 Euros.

The main St Peters Railway station is just at the end of the street easily within a 5 minute walk. The tram stop right outside is a direct route in the the heart of Gent and is only 1.20 Euro for 1 hour. We incidently did not have our ticket checked once. The location to the track used for the six day was perfect within walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenV3, Manager at Best Western Hotel Chamade, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear Mrs. Emma,

Thank you very much for your nice review of our hotel!

We really apreciate every guest's opinion.

Thank you again, and hope to welcome you again next year in our hotel for the Six Day Races!

Best regards,

Ellen Vanasten
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

took a party of thirty five adults to ghent for a long weekend hotel was in the quieter part of ghent city centre was about twenty min stroll away are you could get the tram outside the hotel cost euro 1/20,staff were very helpfull & pleasent breakfast good with hot & cold meals rooms cleaned every day plus clean towels,, rooms were good with tea/ coffee mini bar small bar in lounge but a couple bar /rest near rooms at the front could be noisey at times with the trams but they stopped by mid/nite would stay again,,

Room Tip: we were in room 105 at the front very good resturant on sixth floor so higher the room no the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVE545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenV3, Manager at Best Western Hotel Chamade, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear Dave,

Thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel.

We loved having your group in our hotel!
Come back some time!

Best regards,

Ellen Vanasten
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

The Best Western Hotel Chamade is in my opinion a pretty well-maintained hotel in Ghent. I prefer the renovated rooms which are more modern. But all rooms are clean. The breakfast is average. But all in all this is a good hotel to stay a couple of nights in Ghent.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room when making reservation! These rooms are more modern. But all rooms are cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
1.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 39 in Ghent
615 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 39 in Ghent
2,273 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Chamade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Chamade

Address: Koningin Elisabethlaan 3, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: £88 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Chamade 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our cosy family hotel is the ideal base for your visit to the friendliest city in Flanders: Ghent. The BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade is a 3-star hotel situated in a residential area of Ghent, right next to St Pieters Station and within walking distance of the historic centre of Ghent. Tram 1 will take you to the city centre or Flanders Expo in a flash.Both tourists and rushed businesspeople can take a relaxing break from their busy daily lives at our hotel. Check in at our spacious reception area, then enjoy a relaxing drink from our bar in the lounge.Our tasty and extensive breakfast buffet is served in our beautiful breakfast restaurant, from where you can also enjoy a magnificent view of Ghent. Our hotel has 45 bedrooms with spacious bathrooms with bath or shower, flat screen with satellite tv, telephone and minibar. There are also facilities for making coffee and tea. BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade is located at 500m from the ICC Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Chamade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ghent
Best Western Chamade
Ghent Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing