We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY GOOD HOTEL AND STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gent
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Good clean rooms friendly staff,nice resteraunt,next to the motorway.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVID13071955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EXHI_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2011

Dear Guest
We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. The Holiday Inn Express Gent specialises in catering for all types of sports groups. Teams or individuals, professionals or amateurs.. we look forward to providing them with a smooth customer experience during their stay in Gent. Put the next date for the Tour of Flanders in your agenda: April 1st 2012. I hope to see you again among the cycling fans in the hotel. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Gent.
Sincerely,
Laurens Roels
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2011

We've enjoyed our stay at this hotel during the past weekend. We wanted a place to stay during our participation in the Tour of Flanders. The entire staff was of great service. Our bicycles were able to be placed inside of the hotel during the night. The breakfast was extensive and delicious! The rooms were tidy and wide. All in all, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rients
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

I booked the hotel since it was very close to my place of busineess. Great price and great service.
The hotel has a restaurant in-house with bar. Great food. If you like to walk , you could try the chess cafe (Mangolian barbecue styled restaurant)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prataap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Hotel was nice, clean and room were fairly spacious. We only used it as a stop-over while driving down to Germany, and it was perfectly adequate for that purpose.

Best advantage is the free internet (you have to pay for high-speed).

Breakfast was also nice than most stop-over hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura_blonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Had an overnight stay in the Express by Holiday Inn Gent, as a stopover on the way to the north of Holland. Hotel is in a good location, just off the motorway.
Rooms are comfortable and the room itself offered good value for a family of four.
However, there are additional costs for both the TV and Wifi, and guests are also required to pay 9 Euros for overnight parking - I felt this was unnecessary as the hotel is not in a city centre location. I feel that these additional costs are imposed just to relieve the traveller of extra cash! Although I might use Express by Holiday Inn again, they will not be my first choice of hotel when I need an overnight stop in Europe in the future.
Also beware of the restaurant in the hotel. We were charged 19.95 Euros for an evening meal which was sold to us as 'Lamb' but which turned out to be burger type meat and potato croquettes. Our meal had clearly come out of the freezer when they ran out of the adverised lamb dish!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APK1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

The hotel is located just off the highway - exit 9 from the A14 and the first right - but is far from the touristy places (though we were told at the reception that its just a 7 min drive). The room was quite spacious for our family of 4. Breakfast was simple but nice with very friendly staff. We stayed a couple of nights and it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmagadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

This hotel is good value and offers a clean ,well equipped place to stay. The staff were very helpful especially Laurens who was friendly and efficient.
The hotel is let down by it's location and outward appearance but as a stopover is ideal.
Breakfast was of good quality and plentiful, staff ensure food is replenished and the self service system is well organised.
There is a fee for parking which is unusual for an out of town hotel and seems unnecesary.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorelei3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
2.0 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
#19 of 38 in Ghent
642 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
2.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
2.4 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 38 in Ghent
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gent

Address: Akkerhage 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: £76 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gent 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find your gateway to Flanders with convenient transport connections close to the Holiday Inn Express Gent hotel.Just a couple of minutes from the convenient E17 motorway and 4km from medieval Gent city centre, make the contemporary Holiday Inn Express Gent your base for exploring the Flanders region. Major business centres such as Brussels and Brugge are within 35 minutes' drive of your welcoming Gent hotel.You can reach Holiday Inn Express Gent via regular rail services from Brussels Airport, which arrive into Gent St-Pieters station, 3km from the hotel. We have an ample car park, which adds good value to your stay. Your spacious Guest room is the ideal environment for catching up on work with free WiFi. The hotel is close to popular sights in the city, notably the atmospheric charm of the medieval Old Town including St Bavo's Cathedral, with its mystical paintings. Tram 4 and Bus 8 stop at walking distance and will bring you anywhere in the city at regular intervals. For the great outdoors, try Belgium's northern coastal resorts, within a 40-minute drive from us. Kids under 18 stay for free with their parents in one of our spacious Guest rooms. This Green Key eco-label certified hotel offers a free charging point for electrical vehicles, and a Tesla Supercharger station. Help yourself to a hot drink and the complimentary continental breakfast options at Holiday Inn Express Gent. Our helpful staff can advise you on which city-centre attractions to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gent Hotel Ghent
Holiday Inn Ghent
Express Hotel Ghent
Ghent Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing