We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gent
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value for money, good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Was in Ghent for a weekend to watch the Tour of Flanders. This was a great base for our group with loads of car parking and easy to find with Sat Nav!!! The rooms were clean, well maintained and bigger than other Holiday Inn Express' I've stayed in. The staff had no issue with some of our group storing their bikes in the room (still plenty of room to walk round!!!). Each room had tea and coffee, hair dryer, and flat screen TV.
The bar staff were extremely friendly and kept the drinks flowing all night!! The bar food was really tasty, perhaps better than the buffet. Reception was also very accommodating in sorting out our bill trying to divide it amongst 12 of us!!!
Good location - about an hours walk outside of Ghent, but well worth the stroll to see the sights. Taxi's are easily available and affordable if you didn't feel like walking. Only took about 45 minutes to drive to watch the cycling.
All in all a great base, excellent value for money and will certainly be going back if the cyclists want another go over the cobbles!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LGladders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    182
    123
    25
    5
See reviews for
132
75
12
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

This hotel is suited for business meetings. Our conference room is always very well equiped and the staff is always very friendly, polite and correct and is trying to answer our needs as fast as possible.

Advice: order your conference room when the responsables are there, Sophie and Jasmin.

Thanks girls

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonasB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Just what we needed - cheap and cheerful easy to get into central Ghent from.

Would recommend going further afield then just the immediate restaurants outside definately worthwhile exploring the town, found a Great italian and several nice coffee shops.

Straight forward know what to expect, if in doubt easy option.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AscotRuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear AscotRuan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you in the near future to allow you to experience our commitment to quality and service.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purmerend
Level Contributor
139 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

Stayed there again for the umpteenth time, this time no charge for the in-room Wifi and parking being a member of the Priority Club.
Rooms clean as usual, only our first room on the non-smoking floor reeked of cigarettes. The maid took us to another clean room, and changed the keys at the reception for us, very good service, brava!
Complementary breakfast was OK, no complains there. Restaurant good enough, the oysters were good. The hotel is situated in an idustrial district, in the evening nothing else in the neighborhood, for a nother restaurant you would need to take your car (or the bus with the bus stop just opposite the hotel) to the city center.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haje1946_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Haje1946_11,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. I'm happy to hear you received a good room and was able to enjoy the internet service as well as parking service. However, I apologize for any inconvenience you encountered with the unusual smell and if you found our hotel location not to your liking. It is feedback like yours which aids the hotel in continuous improvement. We appreciate your feedback as it will be shared in order to avoid a similar experience as it is our goal to provide excellent service to all our guests. Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
147 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Due to roadworks, the hotel currently is a bit difficult to reach, but that is temporary. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful and the hotel is more or less what you might expect from a Holiday Inn Express. Its older than most HIE and it is visible. Parking is excellent, breakfast is good, it's got it's own restaurant (which is not common for HIE) and internet was remarkable fast. The only real downside was the room temperature. It was too warm and the climate control was not working properly. Opening the window was a bit of a relief, but it remained too warm in the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Robin J,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. I understand that having a good night sleep is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. I am sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the room temperature. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 585 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

One night stay en route to Holland. Hotel not immediately good to look at is on an industrial area, however, once inside is very modern, cosy and welcoming. Plenty of parking (15 euros per day). Friendly reception and check in. Our room was very big with double bed and sofa. Tea and coffee making facilities and lots of English channels on the TV. Nice large shower room. All very clean. We used the free wi fi option in our room but it was rather slow. Bar area very nice also. Had an excellent meal in the restaurant and were offered extra bread and fries with our meal! Breakfast is a good quality continental selection with plenty to offer for all tastes. Gorgeous coffee and orange juice. My only fault that made this very good and not excellent was our bed - it was not very comfortable as the mattress was far too springy so we did not have a good night's sleep. Also the hotel is not within walking distance of anything, you do need a car or taxi to explore the local area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Cleobear30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
156 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

Very good hotel, a little far from the city center, but breakfast included as a good diference between the others hotels at the same nivel, i like the HIExpress better than the Hinnbecause the "free" breakfast, like everything in Belgium is not a cheap hotel but a very good value, i do not like to pay for the parking only because the local of the hotel is very far from the city and you do not have another options to parking close the same...cost of parking - 10 euros/day.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank jorgeotavio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
2.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
2.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
#16 of 37 in Ghent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gent

Property: Holiday Inn Express Gent
Address: Akkerhage 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gent 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find your gateway to Flanders with convenient transport connections close to the Holiday Inn Express Gent hotel.Just a couple of minutes from the convenient E17 motorway and 4km from medieval Gent city centre, make the contemporary Holiday Inn Express Gent your base for exploring the Flanders region. Major business centres such as Brussels and Brugge are within 35 minutes' drive of your welcoming Gent hotel.You can reach Holiday Inn Express Gent via regular rail services from Brussels Airport, which arrive into Gent St-Pieters station, 3km from the hotel. We have an ample car park, which adds good value to your stay. Your spacious Guest room is the ideal environment for catching up on work with free WiFi. The hotel is close to popular sights in the city, notably the atmospheric charm of the medieval Old Town including St Bavo's Cathedral, with its mystical paintings. Tram 4 and Bus 8 stop at walking distance and will bring you anywhere in the city at regular intervals. For the great outdoors, try Belgium's northern coastal resorts, within a 40-minute drive from us. Kids under 18 stay for free with their parents in one of our spacious Guest rooms. This Green Key eco-label certified hotel offers a free charging point for electrical vehicles, and a Tesla Supercharger station. Help yourself to a hot drink and the complimentary continental breakfast options at Holiday Inn Express Gent. Our helpful staff can advise you on which city-centre attractions to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gent Hotel Ghent
Holiday Inn Ghent
Express Hotel Ghent
Ghent Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing