We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gent
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel is adequate with a nice restaurant and bar area. The restaurant food was nice with a decent beer selection. The room stayed warmer for sleeping than we liked, but it may be a European difference in coolness request. The only negative is the distance from town, it takes either bus 65 or 67 then tram 1 to get into town. We couldn't see the city at night as the bus schedule stopped before it got dark enough to enjoy the city at night. Overall it is fine if you want a nice clean place to stay out of town.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Yeti1980_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    186
    128
    26
    5
See reviews for
134
79
12
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
422 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

We used the restaurent since the Campinale one closes weekends, not enough trade. Well we order a buffet and got meal of the day served to us, not round the buffet. This option is several pages in on the menu list, lost in translation. The house white was excellent, the cheese board good. The meal of the day was good even thou what we ordered was not as described. We also got the 300 metre walk from the Campinale good for exercise but didn't works off what we consumed.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonTell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We pre booked a group of 70pax (rowers) for the KRSG Regatta in Gent. On arrival no rooming had been done for the group and this caused chaos! The sleeper coaches in the rooms are very very uncomfortable and most of the athletes complained. The service is very good as is the breakfast service. The hotel is across the road from a factory and is not ideally situated for someone that would like to be close to all the tourist attractions, however the bus stop is aprox 100m from the hotel and makes it easy to travel to the main station from where you can catch a bus/tram to wherever you choose to go.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrouVrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EXHI_Gent_manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear TrouVou

Thank you for the time you have taken to review our hotel. I am sorry that the check-in took a bit longer for your group. I understand from my reception team that we did not receive a rooming list in advance and that there was 1 person extra travelling with the group. To ensure a smooth arrival experience i would certainly advise you to send all this information to us at least 1 week in advance next year. That way we will have the keys ready for you to distribute.

With regards to the sofa bed: some teams are travelling on a very tight budget, and for that reason we have offered rates for up to 4 persons per room, with the remark that we do not advise more than 1 adult in the sofabed. It is clear that a sofa bed can never provide the same sleeping quality than a bed with boxspring and quality mattress, and a good night's rest is very important for top athletes such as yourself. If you prefer rooms for 2 or max. 3 persons, i would advise to add this information to your reservation request for the Regatta.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. I hope your participation in the Regatta was succesful and we look forward to welcoming you again next year in May.

Sincerely
Laurens Roels
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

As expected from Holiday Inn chain, you can expect a nice atmosphere and well facilitated accommodation in the hotel. The included breakfast is good enough with well selected menu. I find the hotel suitable for families.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dobromir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The motorway intersection this Holiday Inn is situated on is probably one of the busiest in Europe (it certainly seems like it!).

This booking started off as a quick night stop on the way through to the Ardennes, but as we arrived early, we decided to eat at the Hotel, and it was really very good.

Taking into consideration the fact that it is a Holiday Inn, its even better!
The food was really very good and comes recommended.
The hotel itself, was very well presented, clean, tidy and most efficient.
If you are travelling through Belgium, I can recommend the Holiday Inn, Gent.

Just one small complaint, was the fact that, as a Priority Club member, I was give a Free Drink voucher - very kind! I ordered a drink after dinner, but when I went to pay with my voucher, I was told that the voucher applied only to a small range of "house" wines, beers and soft drinks! No mention of this on the voucher. The barman was particularly curt and didn't really care. Poor service - Holiday Inn!

Room Tip: A real surprise! Well done Holiday Inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tullidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
149 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

You know when you "sleep" but wake up exhausted? That's what a room here buys you. Although the rooms and hotel are very clean (always a plus!), the paper thin walls and awful mattresses make this a no-go. We heard every room door open and close near us, conversations in the hall and from rooms on either side of us, toilets flushing, showers running, every noise possible. When you feel like a banana in any position you sleep in because the mattresses are so soft, maybe you just sleep lighter...who knows, but sleep us too important to me to return here. Of note, this is the third Holiday Inn Express we have stayed in in Europe in 18 months and have had the same issues In all 3. We average about 18 nights a month in hotels, but you can bet there won't be anymore in Holiday Inn Expresses. Find another place to stay in Gent, closer to the old town if you don't have a car...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear W H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, London
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Really friendly staff who were very helpful.

Clean and fairly spacious rooms.

Good breakfast.

Bus into Gent is not good though (45 minute wait on way in; 50 minute wait on way out). On our second day we drove to the free parking (approx 120 spaces) at Flanders Expo and then got the No 1 tram (approx every 10 minutes).

Highly recommend you buy a Gent Card before travelling there (if visiting as a tourist) - covers your travel for 2 days, entrance to museums, etc. and a free boat trip for 25 Euros.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
2.0 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
#18 of 37 in Ghent
614 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
2.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
2.5 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gent

Property: Holiday Inn Express Gent
Address: Akkerhage 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gent 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find your gateway to Flanders with convenient transport connections close to the Holiday Inn Express Gent hotel.Just a couple of minutes from the convenient E17 motorway and 4km from medieval Gent city centre, make the contemporary Holiday Inn Express Gent your base for exploring the Flanders region. Major business centres such as Brussels and Brugge are within 35 minutes' drive of your welcoming Gent hotel.You can reach Holiday Inn Express Gent via regular rail services from Brussels Airport, which arrive into Gent St-Pieters station, 3km from the hotel. We have an ample car park, which adds good value to your stay. Your spacious Guest room is the ideal environment for catching up on work with free WiFi. The hotel is close to popular sights in the city, notably the atmospheric charm of the medieval Old Town including St Bavo's Cathedral, with its mystical paintings. Tram 4 and Bus 8 stop at walking distance and will bring you anywhere in the city at regular intervals. For the great outdoors, try Belgium's northern coastal resorts, within a 40-minute drive from us. Kids under 18 stay for free with their parents in one of our spacious Guest rooms. This Green Key eco-label certified hotel offers a free charging point for electrical vehicles, and a Tesla Supercharger station. Help yourself to a hot drink and the complimentary continental breakfast options at Holiday Inn Express Gent. Our helpful staff can advise you on which city-centre attractions to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gent Hotel Ghent
Holiday Inn Ghent
Express Hotel Ghent
Ghent Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing