We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab return visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gent
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed here as a 2+2 family on a European trip between Brussels & Lille.
Reception staff were amazing & found us a room despite our early arrival.
Room was a decent size even with the sofa bed in use.
When we booked for dinner we were given a 10% discount voucher - which was cool.
The restaurant is just brilliant with a top choice of food in a buffet layout & top service.
A taxi into Lille was around €15.00, reception were happy to book this for us, & we thought this was far easier than driving in or using the buses.
The only issues we had were:
* The lack of air-con; it was really hot at night which made sleep uncomfortable & with the window open the road noise was pretty loud.
* The €10.00 per day parking charge seemed a bit of a cheek; but the car park seemed pretty secure.
Would definitely return if it was a bit cooler.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonny-Northerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

This HIEX is probably designed for conference business and it has all the 'factory hotel' characteristics: clean room, adequate breakfast buffet, efficient staff but, in overall, faceless, just professional and not hospitable.
The hotel is just a box design, not very far from the city centre (with my own car) and with all the amenities that one would expect from a HIEX. It is appropriate for the road warrior business traveler but does not stand out from its sister hotels in any way. Not one to remember really!
The 10 Euro charge for the parking per night is not extravagant but a bit annoying (just like internet charges, which now IHG Rewards members do not have to pay any longer).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexPOxford_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Dear AlexPOxford_UK,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. I am glad that you noticed the cleanliness of the room. I do apologize that your experience was not what you expected on some aspects of your stay. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The hotel is adequate with a nice restaurant and bar area. The restaurant food was nice with a decent beer selection. The room stayed warmer for sleeping than we liked, but it may be a European difference in coolness request. The only negative is the distance from town, it takes either bus 65 or 67 then tram 1 to get into town. We couldn't see the city at night as the bus schedule stopped before it got dark enough to enjoy the city at night. Overall it is fine if you want a nice clean place to stay out of town.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Yeti1980_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

We used the restaurent since the Campinale one closes weekends, not enough trade. Well we order a buffet and got meal of the day served to us, not round the buffet. This option is several pages in on the menu list, lost in translation. The house white was excellent, the cheese board good. The meal of the day was good even thou what we ordered was not as described. We also got the 300 metre walk from the Campinale good for exercise but didn't works off what we consumed.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank LondonTell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We pre booked a group of 70pax (rowers) for the KRSG Regatta in Gent. On arrival no rooming had been done for the group and this caused chaos! The sleeper coaches in the rooms are very very uncomfortable and most of the athletes complained. The service is very good as is the breakfast service. The hotel is across the road from a factory and is not ideally situated for someone that would like to be close to all the tourist attractions, however the bus stop is aprox 100m from the hotel and makes it easy to travel to the main station from where you can catch a bus/tram to wherever you choose to go.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrouVrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EXHI_Gent_manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear TrouVou

Thank you for the time you have taken to review our hotel. I am sorry that the check-in took a bit longer for your group. I understand from my reception team that we did not receive a rooming list in advance and that there was 1 person extra travelling with the group. To ensure a smooth arrival experience i would certainly advise you to send all this information to us at least 1 week in advance next year. That way we will have the keys ready for you to distribute.

With regards to the sofa bed: some teams are travelling on a very tight budget, and for that reason we have offered rates for up to 4 persons per room, with the remark that we do not advise more than 1 adult in the sofabed. It is clear that a sofa bed can never provide the same sleeping quality than a bed with boxspring and quality mattress, and a good night's rest is very important for top athletes such as yourself. If you prefer rooms for 2 or max. 3 persons, i would advise to add this information to your reservation request for the Regatta.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. I hope your participation in the Regatta was succesful and we look forward to welcoming you again next year in May.

Sincerely
Laurens Roels
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

As expected from Holiday Inn chain, you can expect a nice atmosphere and well facilitated accommodation in the hotel. The included breakfast is good enough with well selected menu. I find the hotel suitable for families.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dobromir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The motorway intersection this Holiday Inn is situated on is probably one of the busiest in Europe (it certainly seems like it!).

This booking started off as a quick night stop on the way through to the Ardennes, but as we arrived early, we decided to eat at the Hotel, and it was really very good.

Taking into consideration the fact that it is a Holiday Inn, its even better!
The food was really very good and comes recommended.
The hotel itself, was very well presented, clean, tidy and most efficient.
If you are travelling through Belgium, I can recommend the Holiday Inn, Gent.

Just one small complaint, was the fact that, as a Priority Club member, I was give a Free Drink voucher - very kind! I ordered a drink after dinner, but when I went to pay with my voucher, I was told that the voucher applied only to a small range of "house" wines, beers and soft drinks! No mention of this on the voucher. The barman was particularly curt and didn't really care. Poor service - Holiday Inn!

Room Tip: A real surprise! Well done Holiday Inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tullidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
2 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
2.5 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
#19 of 39 in Ghent
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 39 in Ghent
2,273 reviews
2.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
2.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gent

Address: Akkerhage 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: £82 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gent 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find your gateway to Flanders with convenient transport connections close to the Holiday Inn Express Gent hotel.Just a couple of minutes from the convenient E17 motorway and 4km from medieval Gent city centre, make the contemporary Holiday Inn Express Gent your base for exploring the Flanders region. Major business centres such as Brussels and Brugge are within 35 minutes' drive of your welcoming Gent hotel.You can reach Holiday Inn Express Gent via regular rail services from Brussels Airport, which arrive into Gent St-Pieters station, 3km from the hotel. We have an ample car park, which adds good value to your stay. Your spacious Guest room is the ideal environment for catching up on work with free WiFi. The hotel is close to popular sights in the city, notably the atmospheric charm of the medieval Old Town including St Bavo's Cathedral, with its mystical paintings. Tram 4 and Bus 8 stop at walking distance and will bring you anywhere in the city at regular intervals. For the great outdoors, try Belgium's northern coastal resorts, within a 40-minute drive from us. Kids under 18 stay for free with their parents in one of our spacious Guest rooms. This Green Key eco-label certified hotel offers a free charging point for electrical vehicles, and a Tesla Supercharger station. Help yourself to a hot drink and the complimentary continental breakfast options at Holiday Inn Express Gent. Our helpful staff can advise you on which city-centre attractions to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gent Hotel Ghent
Holiday Inn Ghent
Express Hotel Ghent
Ghent Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing