We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what you expect but don't always get!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gent
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“what you expect but don't always get!”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Going on a quick tour of Belgium to places not been to I decided that as far as possible I'd opt for know entities as far as hotels are concerned, hence this being one of the options to get a family room. The setting is rather like many of these, on the edge of a semi business/retail park - although not too far away from the centre, it can hardly be described as convenient to just pop into Gent centre. The hotel was more or less as expected with a reasonable public area, good sized rooms well presented etc. There is a huge car park and on the entrance side it seems to have a conference/exhibition part of the hotel.
The room was large and had a/c, kettle etc; although no fridge; the bathroom was the usual HIE design with the bathroom door doubling as a WC one when in use. Very clean and crisply laundered bedding , plenty of towels etc - good standard.
The breakfast spread was good and staff on the ball refilling as necessary since the hotel was quite busy and they opened up an over spill breakfast room seating area. The actual area where the buffet is laid out is a bit cramped when busy and for some reason the boiled egg machine was on the other side of the area and not well marked. The staff were quite helpful.
Be warned though the car parking is not free even if staying there and at 10 euros a night I felt this was more than enough for its out of town location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trebor1677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    190
    128
    26
    5
See reviews for
135
80
13
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casoria, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Very clean, and good food.
Close to university and the price is good.
With taxi you can reach center of city in 15 min.
I'll come back again....................................................................

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giuseppe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EXHI_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Giuseppe

Thank you very much for your kind review. I'm very happy to read that a senior contributor on Tripadvisor confirms that Holiday Inn Express offers much value for your money.

The University Hospital and the Pharmaceutical Sciences department are located across the street, and most other faculties can be found within 5km of the hotel.

Thank you for using InterContinental Hotels Group. We look forward to your return visit!

Sincerely

Laurens Roels
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

A clean and relatively comfortable room. Unfortunately for us it was a hot couple of nights and the air conditioning just wasn't sufficient to keep us cool and the very small opening in such a large window was never going to allow any air into the room.
The reception staff were helpful, polite and friendly as was the young man at the bar. The waiting staff on the evening were keen to help and ensure we enjoyed our meal.
Breakfast was another matter!!
Ignoring the pushing and barging from the other guests from other parts of europe who took so much food and mostly wasted it or, like the other half, made themselves snacks for the day and basically emptied the shelves of food so we had to keep waiting for stuff, there was a reasonable selection of items to choose from. The serving staff were rude! They too barged there way around. One lady in particular, short cropped blond hair and the largest rear end, was particularly rude! We even had to deal with her on our second evening in the restaurant and decided to eat elsewhere!
Only one thing really irked us and that was the car park fee. Should have been free for guests but instead cost us 20euros for the two nights. Add that to the Belgium "city tax" at 2euro50 per adult per night and the hidden charges soon mount up.
All in all the Hotel is what it is and was sufficient for our stop over. Somewhere to lay our heads.
Belgium is another matter and I for one would not rush back, despite the people being really pleasant.

Room Tip: Ideal as a stopover or a base for seeing elsewhere. Basically just a place to rest your head as ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hipscrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EXHI_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Hipscrew

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your 4 out of 5 score for Value, Rooms and Cleanliness. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. While we appreciate your positive comments, we are disappointed to hear your comments regarding the breakfast service. We are sorry we fell short of your expectations. Thank you for your feedback as it informs us of ways in which we may better serve our guests to further guest satisfaction. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely
Laurens Roels
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windsor
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Used this hotel as a base for a 2 night stay to see Ghent and to travel into Holland and the North Belgium coast. The room was very spacious, even with the sofa bed opened out. Internet connection was fast and free. There was a choice of TV channels. Reception staff were very helpful and polite and gave good advice about how to get into Ghent and the choices of parking or bus/train. The breakfast buffet had lots of choice, but the queue for it was long as the hotel seemed very busy whilst we were there.
My only complaint would be the cost of parking - 10 Euros per night and there was nowhere else to park so you have no choice .

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Windsormiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EXHI_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Windsormiss

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very happy that you have used the excellent E17 and E40 motorway connections nearby to discover the Flanders region.

With regards to the breakfast queue, it can indeed get a bit busy in the weekend when lots of families want to sleep out and then come to breakfast between 9.15 and 10am. If you want to have breakfast in comfort, we do advise to come before 9am.

Again, thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Gent. We look forward to meeting you again in Gent.

Sincerely
Laurens Roels
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trier, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We booked a family room for 2 adults and 2 children. We had plenty of room to move around. Breakfast was included in the price, available all morning until 10 and absolutely OK.
We found 10 Euros for parking to be a bit high, considering there was no alternative. Otherwise, no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4brooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EXHI_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear 4brooklyn

It's great to read that you have enjoyed Gent with the entire family. Our rooms are 28sqm so indeed there is plenty of room to move around.

Did you know that we even have 10 connecting rooms for families of more than 4 persons?

When you come back to Gent, make sure you ask at reception for all the special activities for kids in town. The Castle of the Counts or the Blaarmeersen Sports park are always great fun, and there's also a lot of museums with special tours for children.

Sincerely
Laurens Roels
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights following a family holiday to the Alps and used it as a base to explore Brugge and Ghent.It was excellent value for money ( costing < £60 per night for a family of 4 including breakfast!).
Pros-
Easy to find with Sat Nav.
Clean and Modern
Large rooms ( even with the sofa bed open)
Clean modern bath rooms
Substantial Continental breakfast included ( with fresh fruit)
Free Wi Fi
English Channels on the TV-great for tired children
Cons-
Costs 10 euros per night for parking -which was rather steep.
Rather soft mattresses
The sofa bed is only suitable for children and I would not sugest sleeping 4 adults in a room
No bath in the room
No aircon-which made the rooms rather warm in August.
15 minutes drive out of Ghent so not a suitable site for those that like to walk into the centre for an evening meal
Not many local restaurants near the hotel
Overall for us a good hotel for exploring Brugge and Ghent which was good value for money ( after the cost of the French Alps!)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drdrjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EXHI_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear drdrjack

I'm delighted to read that a Top Contributor of Tripadvisor has selected the Holiday Inn Express for her stay in Gent with the family.

With regards to your remarks, I have a few suggestions:
-the mattress in the room is as per IHG brand standard. But a mattress is something very personal indeed. We get regular requests for other types of mattresses and have therefore fitted some rooms with softer and firmer versions. Please inform reception what type you prefer and we will try to accommodate you as much as possible. By the way, the same applies to pillows: there's a soft and a firm version in the room, and we have 4 more types available for you.
-The sofabed is to be used by either 1 adult or 2 kids. It goes without saying that you cannot expect the same sleeping quality from a sofa bed as you can from a regular bed with boxspring and quality mattress.
-Unfortunately Holiday Inn Express only has power showers in the rooms. No bath i'm afraid.
-Every room is equipped with individually controlled airco. If you are not sure how to operate it, kindly contact our friendly reception team and they will demonstrate it for you in your room.
-The hotel is +/- 2.5mi away from the city center. However, as the entire city center is a pedestrianized area, it's much easier to leave your car at the hotel and make use of the excellent public transport connections nearby.

See you again next time when you want to explore more of Flanders !

Sincerely
Laurens Roels
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed here as a 2+2 family on a European trip between Brussels & Lille.
Reception staff were amazing & found us a room despite our early arrival.
Room was a decent size even with the sofa bed in use.
When we booked for dinner we were given a 10% discount voucher - which was cool.
The restaurant is just brilliant with a top choice of food in a buffet layout & top service.
A taxi into Lille was around €15.00, reception were happy to book this for us, & we thought this was far easier than driving in or using the buses.
The only issues we had were:
* The lack of air-con; it was really hot at night which made sleep uncomfortable & with the window open the road noise was pretty loud.
* The €10.00 per day parking charge seemed a bit of a cheek; but the car park seemed pretty secure.
Would definitely return if it was a bit cooler.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonny-Northerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
2.0 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
#19 of 37 in Ghent
616 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
2.5 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
2.4 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gent

Property: Holiday Inn Express Gent
Address: Akkerhage 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gent 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find your gateway to Flanders with convenient transport connections close to the Holiday Inn Express Gent hotel.Just a couple of minutes from the convenient E17 motorway and 4km from medieval Gent city centre, make the contemporary Holiday Inn Express Gent your base for exploring the Flanders region. Major business centres such as Brussels and Brugge are within 35 minutes' drive of your welcoming Gent hotel.You can reach Holiday Inn Express Gent via regular rail services from Brussels Airport, which arrive into Gent St-Pieters station, 3km from the hotel. We have an ample car park, which adds good value to your stay. Your spacious Guest room is the ideal environment for catching up on work with free WiFi. The hotel is close to popular sights in the city, notably the atmospheric charm of the medieval Old Town including St Bavo's Cathedral, with its mystical paintings. Tram 4 and Bus 8 stop at walking distance and will bring you anywhere in the city at regular intervals. For the great outdoors, try Belgium's northern coastal resorts, within a 40-minute drive from us. Kids under 18 stay for free with their parents in one of our spacious Guest rooms. This Green Key eco-label certified hotel offers a free charging point for electrical vehicles, and a Tesla Supercharger station. Help yourself to a hot drink and the complimentary continental breakfast options at Holiday Inn Express Gent. Our helpful staff can advise you on which city-centre attractions to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gent Hotel Ghent
Holiday Inn Ghent
Express Hotel Ghent
Ghent Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing