We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overnight stopover.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gent
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good overnight stopover.”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The Hotel is ideal as an overnight stop as it is located approximately one hundred miles from the Eurotunnel, taking an hour and a half by toll free motorway. We stayed for one night on 24 August 2013 arriving late evening and were greeted by helpful check in staff.
Our room was large and spacious with an en suite shower room, all spotlessly clean. Our only moan would be that the mattress on our bed felt tired and could do with replacing in the near future it was however comfortable enough for to get a good night sleep.
Breakfast was okay although very crowded with other guests even at 8am in the morning. Due to dietary requirements we had previously requested for some Gluton Free food items and the some G/Fbread was provided by the hotel. There were yoghurts, fruits cold meats and cheeses available from the buffet along with a selection of cerials, pastries and breads etc for normal diets.

Being a Priority Club Member I was not aware of being charged for car parking as some earlier reviewers have stated.

To sum up this is a clean excellent value hotel ideal for a one or two night stopover and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We always ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ccr260243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    186
    128
    26
    5
See reviews for
134
79
12
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Decent business trip stay at this hotel. Breakfast could definitely be improved upon but there was at least a decent selection in the mornings. The rooms were very spacious and the bathrooms were great. Beds were small but this is typical here. Also the A/C could only go so low, assuming to save energy, which is fine, but it was very hot during my stay.

Location right off of the highway was perfect and we weren't far from the city center in Ghent. Overall it was a pleasant stay and I had no bad experiences. The restaurant and bar were very nice to have!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRoyalChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We made a last minute decision to stop somewhere overnight on the way to the Channel Tunnel and this looked a good option with parking just off the motorway. We booked using reward points and had our dog with us, so the only items to be charged were €15 for the dog and €10 for the car park. Arriving around 2100 check-in was quick and we were given the free wifi code and offered a choice of reward points or a free drink as gold members. The hotel looked bright, modern, tasteful, as did the room which was huge for an 'Express' level Holiday Inn. Bathroom was spotless, shower worked well, tea and coffee was provided, so everything for an overnight stay. Breakfast in the morning was a well stocked buffet catering for most European tastes, the coffee was good, the breakfast area was pleasant enough, totally satisfactory. The location is very easy from the motorway, as it was a warm evening we drove the 10 minutes in to the centre of Gent for a wander and a beer, as others have mentioned the €10 seems a little high for a 12 hour overnight stay in the car park. We would certainly return if wanting a stopover just off the motorway there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJCNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed there for one night, with two adults and three kids. Ghent is just over an hours drive from Dunkirk's ferry port.

The room was fine, large enough and clean enough. They had put the baby cot up just as requested, but somehow most hotels, including this one, just don't put enough towels in the room. (Stands to reason that, if you book for four people + a baby, you would find at least four bath towels in the room. The thing is, you hardly ever do, they give you two, and make you ask for more.)

Breakfast was included in the price, and was good, but not excellent. If you are travelling by car (that'll be nearly 100% of all guests staying at this hotel, as there is no public transport), they'll charge you 10EUR extra for car parking (tut-tut). In addition, there's a local tax of 2.50EUR per adult.

We were going to come back on our return journey, however, they had jacked up the price from 72EUR to 115EUR a night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Friedrich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had a wide triple room, clean and well equipped.The hotel is nearby the highway and you need your own car to reach the city center. To park your car in the hotel parking site requires 10 euros a day. Breakfast buffet is large but of medium quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica19467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Monica19467,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. It is great to know you liked your room accommodation. My apologies we were not able to exceed your expectations with the breakfast. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Room large but there was a broken bed leg. Bathroom lacked space to put to toiletries but did have a door that closed to make the toilet a separate room. Good for a few days stay. Restaurant didn't have much to offer but we did eat in the bar which was ok. Very busy at breakfast time and could do with more space where the food is laid out, but on the whole was a good place to stay

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveller0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Going on a quick tour of Belgium to places not been to I decided that as far as possible I'd opt for know entities as far as hotels are concerned, hence this being one of the options to get a family room. The setting is rather like many of these, on the edge of a semi business/retail park - although not too far away from the centre, it can hardly be described as convenient to just pop into Gent centre. The hotel was more or less as expected with a reasonable public area, good sized rooms well presented etc. There is a huge car park and on the entrance side it seems to have a conference/exhibition part of the hotel.
The room was large and had a/c, kettle etc; although no fridge; the bathroom was the usual HIE design with the bathroom door doubling as a WC one when in use. Very clean and crisply laundered bedding , plenty of towels etc - good standard.
The breakfast spread was good and staff on the ball refilling as necessary since the hotel was quite busy and they opened up an over spill breakfast room seating area. The actual area where the buffet is laid out is a bit cramped when busy and for some reason the boiled egg machine was on the other side of the area and not well marked. The staff were quite helpful.
Be warned though the car parking is not free even if staying there and at 10 euros a night I felt this was more than enough for its out of town location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trebor1677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
#17 of 37 in Ghent
613 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
2.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
2.5 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
2.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gent

Property: Holiday Inn Express Gent
Address: Akkerhage 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gent 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find your gateway to Flanders with convenient transport connections close to the Holiday Inn Express Gent hotel.Just a couple of minutes from the convenient E17 motorway and 4km from medieval Gent city centre, make the contemporary Holiday Inn Express Gent your base for exploring the Flanders region. Major business centres such as Brussels and Brugge are within 35 minutes' drive of your welcoming Gent hotel.You can reach Holiday Inn Express Gent via regular rail services from Brussels Airport, which arrive into Gent St-Pieters station, 3km from the hotel. We have an ample car park, which adds good value to your stay. Your spacious Guest room is the ideal environment for catching up on work with free WiFi. The hotel is close to popular sights in the city, notably the atmospheric charm of the medieval Old Town including St Bavo's Cathedral, with its mystical paintings. Tram 4 and Bus 8 stop at walking distance and will bring you anywhere in the city at regular intervals. For the great outdoors, try Belgium's northern coastal resorts, within a 40-minute drive from us. Kids under 18 stay for free with their parents in one of our spacious Guest rooms. This Green Key eco-label certified hotel offers a free charging point for electrical vehicles, and a Tesla Supercharger station. Help yourself to a hot drink and the complimentary continental breakfast options at Holiday Inn Express Gent. Our helpful staff can advise you on which city-centre attractions to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gent Hotel Ghent
Holiday Inn Ghent
Express Hotel Ghent
Ghent Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing