We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, clean and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Reviewed 15 March 2011

The only bad thing of this hotel is the location unless you are staying in the city for the Expo.
Leaving this appart, the hotel itself is great. Friendly and helpful receptionist, spacious room, modern flat TV, clean toilette. Also the restaurant is large and light in a very nice ambience.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sawmanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback on our hotel and service!
On behalf of the entire team, I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Gent Expo.
Yours faithfully
Léon Raaijmaakers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days late in December. The best part of the experience was interacting with the helpful and friendly staff. The room was very clean (though we found some cracked and broken tiles in our bathroom) and our request for an extra cot bed for the children was honored. The breakfast spread was very very nice (the cold and hot food selection was extensive and rivaled that of many 5 star hotels we have been at). We also appreciated the free wifi access in the lounge area. We were vegetarians and could not find much selection on the dinner menu, so we ate out. The location is not ideal to go to the city centre, but as it is mainly for the Expo crowd, we understand. Be aware though that there is a hefty 8.5 euros per day parking fee, but this is advertised clearly. There is a 2.5 euros per day per person city tax that was extra...we felt it should have been made clear and payment taken up front at the time of booking on the site. Overall, a very pleasant stay at a nice hotel. I will recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirthivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2011

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your feedback on our hotel! I am happy to ready that you have enjoyed your stay with us. On behalf of the entire team, I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely
HOLIDAY INN GENT EXPO
Léon Raaijmaakers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

I have stayed here on numerous occasions.
Rooms/Bathroom in need of updating.Towels very old and threadbare, also they never smell very fresh.
The location is very confusing. You have to drive around a huge circuit to arrive back at the front door. Signposting to hotel is very bad, you will struggle to find your way in!
Parking charge is a complete ripoff as you are effectively in the middle of nowhere.

The buffet breakfast is good and you have free wired internet in the rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank junglejim_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2010

Dear Guest
Thanks you for your feebdack. I am happy to ready that you enjoyed the free internet and breakfast in our hotel. We have already been in touch with our laundry company and they have done an investigation of their washing equipment. We have a towel replacement programme in place. Our apologies, should you have received a towel which already needed to have been replaced. With reference to the accessibility of our hotel, we are doing our utmost with the City of Ghent to improve the overall situation of accessibility.
On behalf of my entire team, I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you to our hotel.
Yours sincerely
HOLIDAY INN GENT EXPO
Léon Raaijmaakers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

I stayed for 3 nights at this hotel for a business event. I must say that the service was very nice, this is a good hotel with very good food selection for breakfast and lunch (dinner options were a bit pricey and the selection is limited but the quality of the food was okay). The room had everything I needed, it was very clean and the staff was friendly. The location of the hotel is quite outside of the city. All in all, one of the best Holiday Inns I stayed, the hotel is suitable for business (and to a less extent for leisure). I liked the WiFi, too!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Utas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2010

Dear Guest
Many thanks for feedback on our hotel product and services. On behalf of the entire team, I am very happy to ready to you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Ghent (either for business or leisure - you will find a tram station immediately next to our hotel which takes you easily into the city of Gent).
Yours sincerely
Léon Raaijmaakers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We stayed here for 1 night on a trip to Germany. We stayed with our 3 small children in a family room. The hotel had some good points. Nice service at the reception. Happy hour at the bar with gave you two drinks for the price of 1. Good dinner, a little expensive for adults(€22) but made up for it because kids ate for free(regularly €10 each). The lobby area was nice and had a computer to use with internet for €1 for 10 minutes. Tram stop within 2 minutes walk, but due to work being done did not stop in the centre, but just ask the tram driver which stop to get off at. The driver was very helpful to us. The room was adequate but tired and not completely clean. Heavy layer of dust in the wardrobes which stopped us from putting anything in them. Carpets worn and did not look completely clean. Bathroom was tired not dirty just worn. Happy with breakfast. Lots of choice. Would stay here again in a push, but will look elsewhere if I have the time. If had renovation of the rooms, would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ourfamiliesholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2010

Dear Guest
Thank you for your constructive feedback on our hotel. I am please to ready that you enjoyed our service of the team and also our quality of food both for dinner and breakfast. With reference to the rooms; please be ware that we just have placed new carpets in the majority of our guest rooms. We are continuously looking to improve our product and service. Your feedback will certainly be acted upon. On behalf of the entire team, I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again to Holiday Inn Gent Expo.
Yours faithfully
HOLIDAY INN GENT EXPO
Léon Raaijmaakers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We last visited this hotel in September 2009, and were told that the rooms were undergoing refurbishment over the comiong mnonths. Unfortunately one year on and we still got a tired old room. Stained carpets, scatched furniture , stained sink, some rust in the bath - what I would have expected in an old two star hotel. To add to the down market feel the towels were past their best and the bed limnen looked tired. This has always been good value for money but if you get an old room its certainly not . On the plus side the reception staff were plaesant and cleaners, were effective. Beware the tram going in to town - because of massive rededevelopment it does not stop in the Centre, so you need to get off about 15 mins walk away, or you will end up in the suburbs.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BBosworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2010

Dear Mr Bosworth
Thank you for your constructive feedback. We have listed to your feedback and acted upon them. Please be aware that e.g. we have just replaced the carpets in the majority of our guest rooms. On your next stay, we will assign such a room to you. We also have a continous plan in place to maintain the quality of our product. I was pleased to read that you were happy with the level of service and cleanliness. On behalf of the entire team, I look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Gent Expo.
Yours sincerely
Léon Raaijmaakers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Please seriously consider what other hotels are in the area before you book this one. Really bad location, bad indiffernt staff, very poor food. I expect the management have been trained by an american company. No sense of real customer service.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bottomrung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for your opinion and feedback on our hotel. I regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us. With reference to our location: our hotel is the closest location to the Flanders Expo Exhibition halls and we do have a tramconnection to the city centre right next to our hotel. We always have a Duty Manager in our hotel to assist you as our valued guest, should you have any questions or need assistance during your stay.

Yours faithfully

HOLIDAY INN GENT EXPO
Léon Raaijmaakers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
2.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
2.5 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
2.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 39 in Ghent
2,325 reviews
2.5 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gent Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gent Expo

Address: Maaltekouter 3, Ghent 9051, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#8 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: £62 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Gent Expo 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE USE OF BROADBAND INTERNET IN THE ENTIRE HOTEL!Holiday Inn Gent Expo is a 4-star hotel with an entirely refurbished Atrium which is ideally situated at the crossing of the major European motorway junction (E40-E17-A17) at exit 14 - Expo and next to Flanders Expo and IKEA Gent. Furthermore hotel Holiday Inn Ghent Expo is connected with the historic city centre of Ghent: the tram stop is located at 100 metres from the hotel with a link of every 10 minutes to the city centre. This Holiday Inn hotel in Ghent is centrally located for business as well as for tourists exploring Flanders. All 169 comfortable spacious hotel rooms have double glazed windows and are air-conditioned, equipped with minibar, LCD flatscreen TV and coffee & tea making facilities. The eye-catching Atrium, under a huge glass roof and glazed elevators, is the heart of the hotel. Here you will find our trendy Atrium Restaurant with a unique design. The cuisine is contemporary, associating light and refined meals with inventive Belgian flavours. The Lounge Wine Bar is the meeting point in the surroundings. The atrium, bar, lobby and meeting rooms offer free wireless high speed Internet (WIFI)! Looking for a meeting place in Gent? Holiday Inn hotel Ghent offers 9 meeting rooms with natural daylight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Gent Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gent Expo Hotel Ghent
Holiday Inn Ghent
Ghent Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing