We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Bag At The Inn” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Gent Expo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag At The Inn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

For - standard Holiday Inn offering. Modern decent size comfortable rooms. Good location as dead easy to access Station and Ghent centre via tram

Against - major function, of which we had no warning, closed restaurant so very limited range of food. We ate out! Surly staff on reception charged 5E City Tax as an extra - again no notice. Chambermaid entered our room on Sunday morning at 09.15 after the briefest knock. We were still in bed!

So some good some bad we may have been unlucky.

.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MorganEYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Guest
I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with the services offered by our team. The tram next to the hotel offers you a very easy access into the city centre in only 10 min: no parking trouble anymore. The city tax is obliged by law and every hotel of Gent must charge this fee to his guests. This is the case in most of the European cities. That evening our restaurant exceptionally had a limited choice because of a very big event taking place. On behalf of the team of Holiday Inn Gent Expo, I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Yours sincerely
HOLIDAY INN GENT EXPO
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    261
    164
    47
    13
See reviews for
111
191
24
187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed here during the Gentse Festen and it was a great choice. It was far from the "madness" in the city but close enough to reach by tram.

During the festival there are trams all day and at 1 am they were leaving every 2-3 mins. It takes about 15 mins to reach the center of Ghent and the area is very nice and quiet.

The staff of the hotel was always helpful.
The room was big and the bed was very comfortable.
A great place to stay. As a bonus you could see wild rabbits outside the window :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marcelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your kind feedback on our hotel. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with the services offered by our team. Holiday Inn Gent Expo is the ideally location for a quiet stay during the festivals in the city centre.
On behalf of the team of Holiday Inn Gent Expo, I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Yours sincerely
HOLIDAY INN GENT EXPO
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I stayed on business for 2 nights and appreciated everything about the place. Clearly it's a purpose built, functional hotel that sees a lot of traffic, so it wasn't quite perfect in every way eg bathroom a bit worn. That said it's an easy tram ride to town and all the things that matter were very good - the beds, the heating, the soundproofing, the breakfast. The cost of the car parking looks a bit steep though (I was on a coach) and there is no other choice locally so the value for money is tempered somewhat. I have no sympathy for the person who only discovered the expo/IKEA when they got there and then moaned about it, any research would have told them its location! This hotel is doing well and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your kind feedback on our hotel. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with the services offered by our team.
On behalf of the team of Holiday Inn Gent Expo, I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Yours sincerely
HOLIDAY INN GENT EXPO
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xchurch
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

this was our fourth stay at this hotel and every time we have stayed here we enjoyed it.the staff speak english very well and the resraurant even though not cheap serves up good food.the rooms are very modern and very clean with tea and coffee making facilities and multi channel t.v.couldnot fault this hotel and will stay here next time we are in ghent

Room Tip: be a priority club member
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyXchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your kind feedback on our hotel. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with the services offered by our team.
On behalf of the team of Holiday Inn Gent Expo, I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Yours sincerely
HOLIDAY INN GENT EXPO
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Very good hotel outskirted from the city of Gent but actually only 20mn tram from the City-centre.
Good property, good bedding, excellent breakfast.
The staff is very helpful.
This hotel is a good hotel part of chain for standard quality and OK for Business and Leisure.
You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your kind feedback on our hotel. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with the services offered by our team. The tram next door the hotel offers you a very easy access into the city centre in only 10 min: no parking trouble any more.
On behalf of the team of Holiday Inn Gent Expo, I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Yours sincerely
HOLIDAY INN GENT EXPO
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalgety Bay ,Fife.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here for four nights on a Christmas break organised by" Leger Holidays".
We had an excellent stay finding the room and the beds most comfortable.The food was excellent and the entertainment laid on for us over Christmas was first class.
The staff all spoke good English and were friendly and helpful.
I do not know what hotel the people who wrote negative revies were staying at, but it was not the same one as we stayed at.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harbourplaceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your kind feedback on our hotel. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with the services offered by our team during christmas holidays. Our team did his very best in order to entertain very guest during the holidays. What was your impression of our new christmas decoration set up by our staff. We were very proud of the result and we hope that you enjoyed it too. On behalf of the team of Holiday Inn Gent Expo, I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for next christmas or in other periods.
Yours sincerely
HOLIDAY INN GENT EXPO
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, West Virginia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel along with my partner and others on a Leger New Years tour of Belgium. The hotel is situated along a busy highway and next to an Ikea store. It is outside of the city center, but is serviced by a tram. There's no restaurants or stores in walking distance of the hotel except the hotel's restaurant.

The parking lot is on one level and the entrance to the hotel is on an upper level, but we were driven to the door before and after each one of our excursions. The lobby is nicely decorated and the check in was smooth. The elevators were large and fast. We had a room on the 3rd floor and our window was facing the outside. The inside rooms' windows looked down into the center of the hotel. In the center of the hotel was the bar and restaurant.

A breakfast buffet came with the room. Plentiful food was provided including hot cooked foods and cold foods along with a variety of breads and drinks. We had to pay 30 euros per night for the supper buffet which I think was a little expensive, but a large amount of foods were available. Unless we wanted to take a tram into town, this was the only place to eat.

The rooms were a little dated, but cleaned daily and towels, wash cloths, shampoo and soap were available daily. The bed was comfortable. We did have free internet.

The staff was friendly and helpful. We were there for the hotel's New Year's celebration and supper. It was well organized. A band provided dancing for the guests. A good time was had by all. A later buffet brunch was provided for us the next day.

Overall, this was a very nice hotel, and I would recommend the Holiday Inn Gent Expo for a stay in Gent.

Room Tip: The inside rooms look down to the center of the hotel where the restaurant and bar is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review
December 7, 2011
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your kind feedback on our hotel. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with the services offered by our team.
On behalf of the team of Holiday Inn Gent Expo, I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Yours sincerely
HOLIDAY INN GENT EXPO
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
2.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gent
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
2.4 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
2.5 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gent Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gent Expo

Property: Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Address: Maaltekouter 3, Ghent 9051, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#9 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Gent Expo 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE USE OF BROADBAND INTERNET IN THE ENTIRE HOTEL!Holiday Inn Gent Expo is a 4-star hotel with an entirely refurbished Atrium which is ideally situated at the crossing of the major European motorway junction (E40-E17-A17) at exit 14 - Expo and next to Flanders Expo and IKEA Gent. Furthermore hotel Holiday Inn Ghent Expo is connected with the historic city centre of Ghent: the tram stop is located at 100 metres from the hotel with a link of every 10 minutes to the city centre. This Holiday Inn hotel in Ghent is centrally located for business as well as for tourists exploring Flanders. All 169 comfortable spacious hotel rooms have double glazed windows and are air-conditioned, equipped with minibar, LCD flatscreen TV and coffee & tea making facilities. The eye-catching Atrium, under a huge glass roof and glazed elevators, is the heart of the hotel. Here you will find our trendy Atrium Restaurant with a unique design. The cuisine is contemporary, associating light and refined meals with inventive Belgian flavours. The Lounge Wine Bar is the meeting point in the surroundings. The atrium, bar, lobby and meeting rooms offer free wireless high speed Internet (WIFI)! Looking for a meeting place in Gent? Holiday Inn hotel Ghent offers 9 meeting rooms with natural daylight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Gent Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gent Expo Hotel Ghent
Holiday Inn Ghent
Ghent Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing