We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Adoma(Ghent)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (671)
Filter reviews
671 results
Traveller rating
123
291
186
51
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
291
186
51
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkcity centretram stationtram servicefree internetfollow the signsbit datedbuilding workpublic transporteasy accesspleasant stayhotel is locatedbreakfast buffetpleasant hotelfamily roomfew minutes walkshort stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
278 - 283 of 671 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Everything you would expect from a holiday inn
Clean and tidy, nice buffet breakfast which for the money you pay is the least you expect
Parking was 9.50 euro's a day which is always hard to stomach but what do you do
Decent bus/tram service into the centre of town for 1.20 euro each way just two minutes from hotel which you can buy tickets for at reception
Free wifi is a bonus
Happy with stay and would use again if visiting the lovely city of Gent

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redimp125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind feedback on Holiday Inn Gent Expo. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with the services offered by our team.

The hotel is ideally basis to visit the heart of Ghent. You can leave our car and hop on the tram next to the hotel. But that is not all: We offer free WIFI in the public areas and in the bedrooms. Try out our very large assortment of breakfast buffet now for only 15 euro.

On behalf of the team of Holiday Inn Gent Expo, I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Yours sincerely
HOLIDAY INN GENT EXPO
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

A nice hotel situated by the Expo conference building but a way out from Gent and apart from an IKEA opposite there was nothing else around. Even so they hotel still charge 9 euro’s per night for the car park. There was parking in the surrounding area but given that it seemed very isolated we didn’t want to leave our car where it could be vulnerable to thieves. It was rather complicated to find the entrance to the hotel once you were off the motorway. On checking in to the hotel we were given a voucher to for a complimentary beer or wine from the bar.
The rooms were nicely furnished with flat screen TV & comfortable bed although the duvet was really heavy. There were tea & coffee making facilities although only powdered milk provided. One small niggle– the hotel has a real problem with mosquitoes. Although we did not open the windows we must have swatted over 12 & we even had them on the white duvet whilst we were in bed. We called reception & the receptionist denied they had a problem with mosquitoes but sent a spray down & a plug in diffuser. Even so, we still killed some more in the morning. Also the toilet cistern wouldn’t shut off & the noise of the water constantly filling up was really annoying.
I called down to reception & said she would report the problem. I asked to speak to the manager, he was really understanding & very apologetic & said the hotel does have a problem with mosquitoes as there was water nearby. We hadn’t included breakfast in our reservation as it was 21 euro’s per person & we thought this an extortionate amount to pay for breakfast, we were going to go across the car park to the nearby IKEA (much cheaper!) The manager offered us a complimentary breakfast and was waiting for us to escort us to our table. The breakfast was served in the atrium of the hotel & was very pleasant with a good choice of cereals, pastries and savoury foods.
Gent was about a 10 minute drive and the city is beautiful, we would love to go back, perhaps for the Christmas market but until the hotel sorts the mosquito problem out I wouldn’t stop there again

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAGNO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your kind feedback on Holiday Inn Gent Expo. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with the services offered by our team.

The accessibility of the hotel has already been improved with a big sign next to Ikea. But this is not sufficient enough apparently. After your suggestion we ordered a few additional signs. They will be delivered and placed shortly. Thank you for your nice words about our complain handling. Hospitality is for Holiday inn Gent Expo the most important value and our mission is to satisfy all our guests. We had some trouble with mosquitoes only in a few rooms. We are investigating where they come from and we have done all possible to avoid this inconvenience in the future.


On behalf of the team of Holiday Inn Gent Expo, I look forward to welcoming you back in person.


Yours sincerely
HOLIDAY INN GENT EXPO
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Gym very poor and relaxation limited to dining area. Rooms were clean and comfortable.
Presently streets are being repaired so have to take a detour to get to hotel. Immediate vicinity of hotel not pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carstairs323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your stay in Holiday Inn Gent Expo.

I’m happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleased with the services offered by our team. All our bedrooms are recently renewed with carpets, which makes the room more comfortable.

As leisure facilities we offer for free a mini gym. This has not the same facilities as a fitness centre. Never the less it is a good suggestion to extend our mini gym. I will monitor this with other guests if they have the same needs.

On behalf of the team of Holiday Inn Gent Expo, I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Yours sincerely
HOLIDAY INN GENT EXPO
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Enjoyable stay at Ghent Expo after a stressed arrival due to the confusing road system around the expo site. Reception staff were helpful and friendly . The initial free drink was a nice touch as was the free cocktails and tapas on "meet the Manager" evening.
Our room was clean , fresh and comfortable and we left with good memories of Gent also of Brugge and Brussels both easily accessible from Gent by train.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil190776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your kind feedback on Holiday Inn Gent Expo. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with the services offered by our team.

The purpose of the GM drink is to get acquainted with all guests and listen to them where we can improve our service. Some guests explained me that the new big sign is an improvement but not clear enough. The day after I immediately asked an offer for a few additional signs. They will be delivered and placed next week. Thank you for your positive suggestions.

On behalf of the team of Holiday Inn Gent Expo, I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Yours sincerely
HOLIDAY INN GENT EXPO
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We have been visiting this hotel for many years, and it had become rather tired and in need of refurbishment.It seems that over the last year nearly all the rooms have been updated to a good standard. On this visit we had a refurbished room and it was very pleasant - the room was light and airy and the TV and air conditioning worked well. On this ocassion we did'nt eat at the hotel - so cannot comment on the food.I was curious why the bar was closed or perhaps it had been moved . The receptionists were very pleasant , and the room cleaners quiet and efficient.
Parking is around 10 euros a night and you can leave your car and catch a tram from the tram stop which is around 5 minutes walk away. Weekend deals make this a very good option, and if you are visiting Ghent the frequent tram service avoids the problems of driving around the city centre which can be difficult. I can now give this my full recommndation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBosworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your stay in Holiday Inn Gent Expo.

I’m happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleased with the services offered by our team. All our bedrooms are recently renewed with carpets, which makes the room more comfortable.

We moved our bar in the Atrium downstairs. To have the same atmosphere in our Atrium Bar compared to the bar on reception level, we are planning to make some changes. The Atrium Bar will be more cozy for all our guests.

On behalf of the team of Holiday Inn Gent Expo, I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Yours sincerely
HOLIDAY INN GENT EXPO
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews