We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The hotel is over all mediocre. Staff friendly and helpful, excellent breakfast, but rooms are very basic, and the isolation to noise is OK but no more.
The gym is a joke. It is a small room with 3 small machines.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kobiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear Guest
First of all I like to thank you for your stay in Holiday Inn Gent Expo and for creating a review.
We do appreciate your positive comments on are staff, breakfast and good isolation of our rooms as well for the information about our rooms and minigym.
Our apologies for your disappointment about our small gym room. We did believe that the description “Minigym” with our 6 fitness apparatus(1) Legg Press 2) Bicycle 3) Treadmill 4) Multi Press 5) Adjustable Pulley 6) Lat Pulldown) would give a correct picture of what we offer. Sorry that it didn’t. If you prefer to use more professional devices and more choice, do not hesitate to ask our reception desk for a gym in our neighbourhood.
We still hope that based on this last fact, Holiday Inn Gent Expo remains your destination when visiting Gent again.
Yours sincerely


Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Salah M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 June 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Marina C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 June 2013

The reviews had told us that the hotel was on the outskirts of Gent, it was like staying at the NEC near Birmingham as it is the Expo hotel. We also knew it might be hard to find, it was and even after 4 days we still drove the wrong way occasionally ... Easier to see than drive to, but the hotel proved ideal for us. We were using it as a base to visit Brugge one day and Brussels another day and it is within 30 miles of both. Getting to Gent was easy on the tram, the station is 5 minutes away and Gent centre 15 minutes away on the tram.

The hotel itself was excellent, clean, superb breakfast included in our price, dog friendly, with the Expo Centre and tram station providing good walking opportunities. But what made our visit so good was the excellent and genuine customer service from every member of staff. All helpful, polite and smiling. A service standard rarely matched.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your lovely stay. We are happy to read that our location suited you to visit Brugge and Brussels. It is in fact very convenient as the highway is only 3 minutes away.
On top of that we are honored that are staff made your stay comfortable as you hoped for. We do understand that excellent service, helpful staff and genuine care will make a difference even for our little friends.
Please accept our sincere apologies concerning the road works that challenged you to get here. They will end the 17th June 2013.
If you coming back to Gent or Belgium I hope you will have a wonderful time again in Holiday Inn Gent Expo?
Kind regards


Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

It's been a while since I stayed at a Holiday Inn. I had moved away from them as I'd had too many bad experiences. I have stayed at a few of their new Holiday Inn Express facilities that were OK, and had noticed the rebranding (new signage) on the Holiday Inn family, and so thought I'd give this one a tray. Sadly, it felt so much like the old times, that I guess they spent all of their money on re-branding with signs, rather than trying to build their brand legitimately with a high quality customer experience. Walking in, I notice paint peeling off the steps. The check-in was OK. I am told free wi-fi is included. Well, we get to the room and the WiFi is free alright....but so slow that we decide we can't use it and might as well head to bed. Then we get the old Holiday Inn... no shampoo or anything... but here's your bar of soap, and maybe you can figure out what is in the dispenser on the wall. The shower head is cracked, there is mildew in the caulk around the tub. Then my favorite, the sink that does not drain, so you get to see the backwash from the guest who stayed before you, or maybe in this case the 10 guests ...because it is not draining at all. Disgusting.
I just don't understand why a major firm like this does not understand the need to match the competition in quality and concern for their customers. We are now at the Holiday Inn Express in Rotterdam (staying on Points)... much nicer, but still no soap in the bathroom. At least the sink is working tho.

Room Tip: Check to make sure the sink is working and ask for shampoo before you accept the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funkester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Guest
First of all I like to thank you for sharing your experiences with us, it will gives us the possibility to improve what is necessary.
We apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. We agree that your experience in the bathroom is unacceptable. We would be thankful if you could communicate your room number of your stay. With that information we can repair this bathroom immediate.
Our lovely staff are always present for our important customers like you. Please never doubt to talk to them and give us a chance to rectify troubles or let you help when a product or service is not good as expected.
We guarantee you that we are in the middle of planning a renovation of our bathroom areas where required. We are very sorry that this issue is existing after our rebranding.
Internet is getting more and more important, we do understand. We are still evolving in this matter. At this moment we can only offer our gold and platinum members of our chain free high speed internet(upload 256Kb, download 512Kb) and the possibility to send emails with large attachments. The basic internet(upload 128Kb, download 256Kb) that was offered to you, allows you to check emails and for visiting the internet.
We would be glad if you would contact me via my email gm@higentexpo.com to gather more information.
Thank you in advance for your reaction.
Yours sincerely

Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

Pros:
_ The hotel was very good
_ even though is located far away from the city center you can reach it with the tram line number 1 (connecting to the city center and Guillielmine train station) in 20 minutes

Bad:
_ the price was quite high (140€ for a twin room).
_ I had to choose it because was the only left in the city

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertolugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for staying in Holiday Inn Gent Expo and for taking the time to write a review on our products and services.
We are happy to read that our hotel was very good.
We are sure that if a room was left in the city centre you paid 30 Euro more in a four-star-hotel. All Gent hotels included our hotel offers rates based on the occupancy of our hotel. During a low occupied day, our rooms are offered from 70 Euro.
We hope that during a next stay in Gent, it will not so busy for you, which will result in a much lower rate. Keep well and hope to see you next time in Holiday Inn Gent Expo.
Yours sincerely


Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Very comfortable bed and friendly helpful staff. Conveniently located and at the end of the tram line into the centre of town. The hotel ha a special offer. A ticket for 4 people, for €9. Good value and avoids finding parking in the town

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear Sir, Madam
Thank you for your very positive review on Holiday Inn Gent Expo and for putting all our challenges on nearly perfect. I’m glad to read that our staff was very helpful and that our location suited you.
The tram in indeed an easy way to get into the town and not so expensive as you can also travel with a group of 10 people on the 10-trip- card for 9,00 Euro.
Thank you again for your enthusiastic comments and if you need to stay in Ghent again, we would be glad to give you the same service again.
Kind regards

Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
2.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gent
2.4 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
2.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 38 in Ghent
2,256 reviews
2.5 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gent Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gent Expo

Address: Maaltekouter 3, Ghent 9051, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#9 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: £59 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Gent Expo 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE USE OF BROADBAND INTERNET IN THE ENTIRE HOTEL!Holiday Inn Gent Expo is a 4-star hotel with an entirely refurbished Atrium which is ideally situated at the crossing of the major European motorway junction (E40-E17-A17) at exit 14 - Expo and next to Flanders Expo and IKEA Gent. Furthermore hotel Holiday Inn Ghent Expo is connected with the historic city centre of Ghent: the tram stop is located at 100 metres from the hotel with a link of every 10 minutes to the city centre. This Holiday Inn hotel in Ghent is centrally located for business as well as for tourists exploring Flanders. All 169 comfortable spacious hotel rooms have double glazed windows and are air-conditioned, equipped with minibar, LCD flatscreen TV and coffee & tea making facilities. The eye-catching Atrium, under a huge glass roof and glazed elevators, is the heart of the hotel. Here you will find our trendy Atrium Restaurant with a unique design. The cuisine is contemporary, associating light and refined meals with inventive Belgian flavours. The Lounge Wine Bar is the meeting point in the surroundings. The atrium, bar, lobby and meeting rooms offer free wireless high speed Internet (WIFI)! Looking for a meeting place in Gent? Holiday Inn hotel Ghent offers 9 meeting rooms with natural daylight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Gent Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gent Expo Hotel Ghent
Holiday Inn Ghent
Ghent Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing