We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, not the best service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, not the best service.”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Having been driving for 14 hours, we tried to find a place for the night that allowed dogs. The receptionist claimed on the phone that there were only executive rooms left, for €160. According to booking.com they had rooms left for €70, but he said that was wrong. We booked online anyway, and went to the hotel and checked in with no comments.

Hotel and room was really nice. A good breakfast buffet, close to the main road and expo area if that's where you're going. Parking right outside.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking your time to create a constructive review on Holiday Inn Gent Expo.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your room, breakfast and that our location was very convenient for you.
Based on your experience we are able to improve our service concerning room selling. We do apologize for this inconvenience and will investigate why the local system rate had a different rate in Booking.com.
We hope despite of this matter, Holiday Inn Gent Expo remains a good place to stay, during your next visit to Gent.
Yours sincerely


Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    263
    167
    49
    13
See reviews for
113
193
24
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
oxford, england
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

A modern hotel in an exhibition park reached by driving in a seemingly neverending loop. still when you get there it is fine - friendly check-in - but not a place to have a drink if you arrive late - there is just the night porters store.
The rooms are situated around a large atrium which contains the restaurant and it looks quite good.
It's hard to work up much enthusiasm for the hotel - you won't be disappointed when you arrive there and equally you will not be bowled over. For myself it was a good stopping place en route to Germany

Room Tip: There seems to be two choices a view over an expo site or a view over the restaurant. No sweeping vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtbhll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest
First I like to thank you for your stay in Holiday Inn Gent Expo while driving direction Germany. I guess you were fit again the next day for your long trip as you marked for example your “sleep quality” on high.
We appreciate your constructive remarks and we can inform you that nevertheless the never ending loop, we are better reachable then driving to a hotel in the city center.
Our Lounge Bar is daily open till midnight. We did hope having a shop with drinks & food we can still offer something to our guests that arrive very late after midnight. Sorry that this alternative didn’t fit you.
Thank you again for your comments and we hope that when you travel again, Holiday Inn Gent Expo remains a stopover hotel again for you.
Yours sincerely

Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Hotel OK, Rooms very clean and reasonable size.The hotel was very convenient for the tram into the center if you don't want to drive in and park.
Its a shame the vents in the bathroom didn't seem to be working as it got very steamy when the shower was running. The breakfast costs 15 euro each which we considered too expensive for coffee and Croissant which is all we wanted (three people). We got a tram instead to the center and found a very good croissant bar where we got a 3 croissants and coffees for the price of one breakfast in the hotel. Other than this. I would recommend the hotel especially if you require a stopover near the motorway. I agree with Neil R who states that it is a bit hard to find.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your constructive feedback concerning your stay in Holiday Inn Gent Expo and we hope that you had a safe trip home.
Our location is indeed very convenient as a stopover when travelling. Getting into the city center or other locations is very easy, certainly with a tram that is running every 10 minutes til 11 p.m. and with the E40 highway nearby. We are also pleased to read that our room maids are doing their jobs with much enthusiasm. Clean rooms are one of the basic requirements during a stay.
Please know when you did not reserve a room including an American buffet breakfast, the alternative is taking a coffee and 2 croissants for 3€ that is available from 6.30 a.m. till 10 a.m. next to the reception.
We are sorry for the inconvenience of the vent in your bathroom. We would appreciate it if you could inform us in which room you stayed by email (gm@higentexpo.com).
Thanks again for your story about Holiday Inn Gent Expo and hope to welcome you again in person during your next stay in Gent.
Yours sincerely


Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The hotel is over all mediocre. Staff friendly and helpful, excellent breakfast, but rooms are very basic, and the isolation to noise is OK but no more.
The gym is a joke. It is a small room with 3 small machines.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kobiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Guest
First of all I like to thank you for your stay in Holiday Inn Gent Expo and for creating a review.
We do appreciate your positive comments on are staff, breakfast and good isolation of our rooms as well for the information about our rooms and minigym.
Our apologies for your disappointment about our small gym room. We did believe that the description “Minigym” with our 6 fitness apparatus(1) Legg Press 2) Bicycle 3) Treadmill 4) Multi Press 5) Adjustable Pulley 6) Lat Pulldown) would give a correct picture of what we offer. Sorry that it didn’t. If you prefer to use more professional devices and more choice, do not hesitate to ask our reception desk for a gym in our neighbourhood.
We still hope that based on this last fact, Holiday Inn Gent Expo remains your destination when visiting Gent again.
Yours sincerely


Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ghent hotels

Eardisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

The reviews had told us that the hotel was on the outskirts of Gent, it was like staying at the NEC near Birmingham as it is the Expo hotel. We also knew it might be hard to find, it was and even after 4 days we still drove the wrong way occasionally ... Easier to see than drive to, but the hotel proved ideal for us. We were using it as a base to visit Brugge one day and Brussels another day and it is within 30 miles of both. Getting to Gent was easy on the tram, the station is 5 minutes away and Gent centre 15 minutes away on the tram.

The hotel itself was excellent, clean, superb breakfast included in our price, dog friendly, with the Expo Centre and tram station providing good walking opportunities. But what made our visit so good was the excellent and genuine customer service from every member of staff. All helpful, polite and smiling. A service standard rarely matched.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your lovely stay. We are happy to read that our location suited you to visit Brugge and Brussels. It is in fact very convenient as the highway is only 3 minutes away.
On top of that we are honored that are staff made your stay comfortable as you hoped for. We do understand that excellent service, helpful staff and genuine care will make a difference even for our little friends.
Please accept our sincere apologies concerning the road works that challenged you to get here. They will end the 17th June 2013.
If you coming back to Gent or Belgium I hope you will have a wonderful time again in Holiday Inn Gent Expo?
Kind regards


Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
2.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gent
2.5 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
2.5 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gent Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gent Expo

Property: Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Address: Maaltekouter 3, Ghent 9051, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#9 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Gent Expo 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE USE OF BROADBAND INTERNET IN THE ENTIRE HOTEL!Holiday Inn Gent Expo is a 4-star hotel with an entirely refurbished Atrium which is ideally situated at the crossing of the major European motorway junction (E40-E17-A17) at exit 14 - Expo and next to Flanders Expo and IKEA Gent. Furthermore hotel Holiday Inn Ghent Expo is connected with the historic city centre of Ghent: the tram stop is located at 100 metres from the hotel with a link of every 10 minutes to the city centre. This Holiday Inn hotel in Ghent is centrally located for business as well as for tourists exploring Flanders. All 169 comfortable spacious hotel rooms have double glazed windows and are air-conditioned, equipped with minibar, LCD flatscreen TV and coffee & tea making facilities. The eye-catching Atrium, under a huge glass roof and glazed elevators, is the heart of the hotel. Here you will find our trendy Atrium Restaurant with a unique design. The cuisine is contemporary, associating light and refined meals with inventive Belgian flavours. The Lounge Wine Bar is the meeting point in the surroundings. The atrium, bar, lobby and meeting rooms offer free wireless high speed Internet (WIFI)! Looking for a meeting place in Gent? Holiday Inn hotel Ghent offers 9 meeting rooms with natural daylight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Gent Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gent Expo Hotel Ghent
Holiday Inn Ghent
Ghent Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing