We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience, corrected by proactive and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad experience, corrected by proactive and helpful staff”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The property is really good and is well connected by public transport. We were staying as business group of 8, with 8 rooms. 7 out of 8 of us had issues with the rooms facility, like lack of hot water, room air heating mechanism not working, no working power socket, no electricity in one of the room for entire room, very slow internet etc. For an expensive hotel like this, it was not expected at all. We complained about our plight and the general manager with the hotel staff were very proactive with their response and offered all of us to change our rooms along with better internet connectivity. And when we came back from our office that evening there was a nice goodies basket placed on our table with an apology note. Their action was very prompt and kind and it helped sooth a lot of anger among us.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maninder_bisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Maninder Bisen
Thank you for taking the time to create a review on Holiday Inn Gent Expo. We are happy to read that our location was very convenient for you. Situated next to the highway and tram, the city center and other locations are very nearby.
Sorry for the inconvenience that you and your colleagues encountered in May of this year. As it was reported immediately to us, you gave us the possibility to solve them. As you all had to send mails with large attachments it was necessary to logon to the High Speed Internet instead of the Basic one. We offer the basic internet free of charge as it allows you to check emails and visit the internet. A small fee had to be paid once you need access for professional purposes but then you encounter no problems with the speed.
As the solutions of the encountered issues matched your expectations, we hope that Holiday Inn Gent Expo remains your destination when visiting your company again in Gent.
Yours sincerely


Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    265
    170
    50
    14
See reviews for
114
194
25
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Hotel ideally located for expo and its a good Holiday Inn. The restaurant is in the moddle of the open centre of the hotel and this can be a bit loud but didnt notice it in my hotel room facing on to it (didnt open window though). On the outskirts of Gent and close by the motorway and the city centre is about 20 minutes away by tram (nearby hotel entrance). The University science departments are nearby as well a few tram stops away. Nothing spectacular but overall a good hotel for staying near the expo. If you want to stay in the city centre and enjoy the ambience of old town gent then this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghMark2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear EdinboroughMark2013
Thank you for your good rating of Holiday Inn Gent Expo. We have indeed a good location to get to our neighbor “Flanders Expo”, the city center of Gent and to other cities thanks to the close motorway. The tram that is located 100m. from our hotel is going every 10 minutes into town and also stops at the University Science Department.
Please believe me that your choice is made very quickly when you are shopping through the hotels. Guests will be ready to stay in Holiday Inn Gent Expo and make the effort to go into town by tram.
Our unique Atrium does allow guests to choose between a view on the restaurant or a view to the outside. All inside rooms have double glazed windows and that’s why you will not be disturbed by any noise.
Thank you again for your review, we appreciate that you took the time to create one. We hope to see you soon in Holiday Inn Gent Expo.
Yours sincerely


Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Same type of room as in any Holiday Inn, clean and tidy!

Access roads and entrance difficult - like one huge roundabout / one-way system! which we ended up going around twice! on inward and outward journeys, so be warned!

Just have reservations after spending the night unexpectedly with a cockroach - which ran across the desk and under the bed at 1am - suffice to say the light stayed on as they are nocturnal!
But didn't see him again or any of his friends, thankfully!

Did not eat here, so can't comment on breakfast - it was too expensive 15 euros each for a continental breakfast !

Also be aware of the additional tourist taxes per person per night charged on check out - this increases the overall cost by about 10 euros per night per person.

Probably would stay again if pushed, as right by motorway / Ghent Expo.

Room Tip: Don't take 181 !! but they run in the walls / cavities so doesn't matter they could crop up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skimbrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear SKinbrey
Thank you for taking the time and to inform us about your stay in Holiday Inn Gent Expo. We do appreciate your comments so that we can improve our product, services and to give us the opportunity to provide you with our information about our actions.
Even with the signs that are placed forwards our hotel, the management will talk again with the alderman of public signalization to improve our access.
Please know that our breakfast is an American Breakfast Buffet. Continental breakfast is a breakfast served to you on 1 plate which doesn’t allow you to add more. Rates inclusive breakfast are offered during reservations which saves you money. For example : 116,00 € inclusive breakfast up to 2 persons instead of booking 101 € exclusive breakfast + 2 x 15 = 131 €,
Tourist tax in all hotels of Gent is free up to the age of 12, from 13y on all guests pay 2,5€ per person per night.
Dear Mr SKimbrey & readers, everybody can take 181 again as this room was treated immediately by an external contractor, after you informed us during check out about the bugs. We sincerely apology again for this inconvenience.
Please do not hesitate to contact us personally when making a reservations for Holiday Inn Gent Expo. We can offer you the rate that fits you most.
Yours sincerely


Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Staying at the hotel for the 3rd time in as many years, we find it's location perfect for our onward journey into Germany. The staff are more than helpful, particularly the reception team who are knowledgeable about Gent and how to get there easily and then what to see once there. The rooms are basic, but adequate, we had a family room as we were traveling with 2 young children, however it suited our needs perfectly. The bar area and staff is very welcoming as indeed is the breakfast provided. See you next year :)

Room Tip: Abide by the instructions not to open windows as the Mosquitos do indeed find a way in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Family Anita L.
Thank you for your review on Holiday Inn Gent Expo and thank you for coming back for the 3rd time. We are pleased with your high rating of our hotel.
I’ll will thank our reception team on your behalf for their knowledge on Gent and their service. It’s indeed important to have staff who can efficiently help you out.
We will certainly be happy again to welcome you in person next year. It would say keep well, I’ll get your welcome drink ready.
Your sincerely


Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We planned to go to see Gent Brugge and some other city along the Belgian cost this hotel has a very big parking area and is located middle in a industry area, nothing to do of see around the hotel no restaurant exept IKEA
rooms are clean but very old

Room Tip: all rooms are very old but they are clean which is importand
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ton1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Ton 1952
We very appreciate the time that you took for telling us how you enjoyed your stay in Holiday Inn Gent Expo. A lot of guests must indeed make the choice for staying in the center of Gent or to choose a hotel in the surroundings to have a very easy access to the highways.
As our hotel Is located next to an exhibition center it’s correct that you will only find our Atrium restaurant and the one of Ikea. That’s why a tram brings you to the city center of Ghent where you have a plenty of choice.
We are happy to tell you that we nearly finished in renovating the last rooms. We started with the joints, tiles, washbasins and baths in the bathrooms and we nearly finished in renovating the furniture in the guest rooms.
We will be happy to welcome you again in Holiday Inn Gent Expo and provide you with more comfort as before.

Yours sincerely


Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Holiday inn Ghent in February. We stayed on a bed and breakfast tariff as we were doing a lot of touring in the region.we really enjoyed our stay. The room was comfortable but basic,it had everything that's required on a short break.The breakfast was very good with a varied choice to suite most.We were pleased with the hotel and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank geoff_ridding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Geoff Ridding
First of all I like thank you for your stay in Holiday Inn Gent Expo and for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are very happy that, if even your stay in February, you are still willing to tell your story.
We do understand when touring through Flanders, Holiday Inn Gent Expo is very well situated as you are in 2 minutes on the E40/17 highways and in a mum of time at the coast, Brussels and Antwerp.
Thank you for confirming that our American Breakfast Buffet is good and has a very large choice. I guess it will be thanks to the fresh fruit, orange juice, different kind of bread, croissants, sausages, baked bacon, eggs, filling, yoghurts, cereals etc etc etc. I hope you also tasted our different kind of coffees.
Keep well and hope to see you soon back in Holiday Inn Gent Expo.
Yours sincerely


Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at august 2013. 2 Kids + 2 adults.
The hotel is average. The stuff are great and very welcoming.
We had breakfast that it was ok. Nothing was missing. Nice breakfast.
We took this hotel because of its location. Its near highway and close to Gent.
The hotel entrance is behind IKEA and can be very tricky to get here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dvirc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest
First of all I like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about Holiday Inn Gent Expo. It’s great to read that our location met your expectations. A lot of people do not only visit our beautiful city Gent but also like to visit Antwerp, Bruges and the coast and with the highway access next to us it’s very easy to get there.
Our American buffet breakfast does indeed offer everything you need to start your day with a lot of energy thanks to the different kind of cereals, fruits, yoghurts, eggs, bacon, sausages etc etc etc.
To know if staff is friendly and nice starts at the reception desk. Thank you for confirming that they are very welcoming.
Please know that you need to follow the signs of Holiday Inn Gent Expo instead of consulting a GPS as most of them do not represent the premises correctly. Follow the signs to find us easily.
We hope to welcome you again in Holiday Inn Gent Expo during your next stay in Gent or Belgium. Keep well in the meantime.
Kind regards

Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
2.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gent
2.5 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
2.4 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
2.5 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gent Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gent Expo

Property: Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Address: Maaltekouter 3, Ghent 9051, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#9 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Gent Expo 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE USE OF BROADBAND INTERNET IN THE ENTIRE HOTEL!Holiday Inn Gent Expo is a 4-star hotel with an entirely refurbished Atrium which is ideally situated at the crossing of the major European motorway junction (E40-E17-A17) at exit 14 - Expo and next to Flanders Expo and IKEA Gent. Furthermore hotel Holiday Inn Ghent Expo is connected with the historic city centre of Ghent: the tram stop is located at 100 metres from the hotel with a link of every 10 minutes to the city centre. This Holiday Inn hotel in Ghent is centrally located for business as well as for tourists exploring Flanders. All 169 comfortable spacious hotel rooms have double glazed windows and are air-conditioned, equipped with minibar, LCD flatscreen TV and coffee & tea making facilities. The eye-catching Atrium, under a huge glass roof and glazed elevators, is the heart of the hotel. Here you will find our trendy Atrium Restaurant with a unique design. The cuisine is contemporary, associating light and refined meals with inventive Belgian flavours. The Lounge Wine Bar is the meeting point in the surroundings. The atrium, bar, lobby and meeting rooms offer free wireless high speed Internet (WIFI)! Looking for a meeting place in Gent? Holiday Inn hotel Ghent offers 9 meeting rooms with natural daylight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Gent Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gent Expo Hotel Ghent
Holiday Inn Ghent
Ghent Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing