We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for the noisy rooms!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Watch out for the noisy rooms!!”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Our stay was marred by the constant rumble of the air conditioning units from the nearby Expo conference centre and on our last night by the sound of running water from the drainage system (there was heavy rain)

We had to change our room at 1.30am and in the morning, staff appeared to be unaware of the problems we had had the night before - but were good enough to give us a 50% discount on our last night's stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you are the other side from the Expo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brymac9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Brymac9,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the ambient noise levels prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    267
    170
    50
    14
See reviews for
114
195
25
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Very good hotel next to the tram which takes you to the centre in 20 mins. Special notice and thanks to the guy who saw us looking confused in the centre of Ghent at the tram station (before we'd even checked in), offered us advice without us even asking, and who I then saw the next day on reception of Ghent Expo Holiday Inn! I couldn't believe it! He represented your hotel fantastically whilst not even on shift or in uniform. He summed up the friendliness of the Belgian people perfectly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Billy K,
Thank you so much for this heart-warming comment you’ve written about our staff and Belgian people. By giving us these amazing rates I notice you’ve clearly enjoyed your stay with us thanks to the friendliness of our staff – and Dennie in particularly – as well as the easy connection with the tram to get into the city centre. This special thanks from you goes to a very great trainee we’ve had in the last 5 months. He loves to help people out as he did with you that day at the railway station. Let us hope you’ll come and visit Belgium again to explore more of Ghent. Have a wonderful Christmas and a happy new year!
Kindest Regards,
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Second visit to this hotel, arrived from a long drive and we were upgraded as Platinum members to an executive room. The hotel is starting to look a little tired in the corridors and rooms, room clean enough with massive bed. They provide an Nespresso type coffee machine and kettle on one side of the room and an office space on the other, problem is there are no power sockets anywhere in the room apart from next to the office area so you have to carry the coffee machine over to the other side of the room! Searched for information booklet to get times of restaurant and room service but nothing found until I came across a letter from the manager informing guests that all information was on the interactive tv, unfortunately the tv was only a tv, with no interactivity just a blank screen. On reporting this to the front desk there seemed to be confusion as to if and when this would work, we went out and on our return were informed it could not be made to work and were presented with a printed menu. Called room service later and asked to confirm the menu to be told its all on the interactive tv!!! After explaining the tv was anything but interactive we ordered food and wine which was delivered promptly. Room was around the corner from the lifts but still suffered from machinery noise which disturbed sleep. Breakfast was a €15 addition and to be honest is not worth it, yes it has cooked and cold selections but only as far as scrambled eggs, mushrooms and meat, selection of fruit and yogurts, if your on your way to Brugge or similar better to wait and pick up something there, unless your with a coach party which seem to descend onto the dining area and devour everything. The staff were efficient and polite throughout and I was given a free drink due to the inconvenience of the tv, one other strange thing is they have a newly refurbished bar to the side of reception but its only open on certain days through the week! I would commend the staff on their efficient check in and check out and answer of queries but the hotel needs a facelift and someone who knows how to get the tv's working correctly so as to avoid confusion. The hotel has WiFi at differing speeds, having just come from the Holiday Inn in Baden Baden which had supersonic WiFi I was disappointed with the speed in Ghent, even though I had free business WiFi it was insufficient to stream movies or tv. Also as with other comments on Tripadvisor unless you have been before you will get lost and miss the turning, so you will either end up in Ikea or back on the motorway, bigger signs needed after the Expo centre

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grindlehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Platinum Member

Thank you for your loyalty by staying with us for the second time. Your opinion is very important to us to improve our services where needed and there for please let me thank you for your time to write this review. We love to spoil our Platinum Members by giving them one of our seven king executive rooms which I hope you enjoyed after the long drive you’ve had. When reading your review I noticed the confusion there was about your television. Our room service menu and other information about the hotel is only available on the television screen so I fully understand the issue this caused when you wanted to order from our room service.
Kindest Regards,
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I just had a couple of days in the beautiful city of Ghent. The hotel is a little tired looking located in the exhibition centre with a massive Ikea next door. I arrived around mid day and as no room was available I was upgraded to a suite which was prefect and very spacious (I'm IHG Gold member). The hotel is less than 5 mins stroll to the tram stop and trams seem to arrive every ferw minutes so you can be in the centre of Ghent in around 20 mins. I was able to buy my tram tickets from the hotel. Parking at 10Euro per day is pricey given the out of town location. The only downside was the breakfast ( 15 Euro per person) the hot food wasnt really hot at all, there were very few waiters to show you to a table. I only had breakfast on 1 morning preferring to get something in the city. Not a great breakfast experienc ebut everything else worked out really well

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegroundsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Gold member

I would like to thank you for your loyalty as a Rewards Club member by choosing Holiday Inn Gent Expo for your stay in Ghent. I enjoy reading you’ve liked our city and our hotel. Our King Executive Rooms are twice as large as a standard room and provide all the comfort you need. Using our large parking in front of the hotel is indeed €10 per night for all hotel guests because of the taxes for the ground and maintenance. I am sorry to read you weren’t pleased with our breakfast even though this offers a lot of choices between hot and cold dishes. Our guests’ opinion is of great importance so the next time you’ll be visiting us, never doubt to raise any kind of problems to our Manager of Duty at the Front Desk. We hope to welcome you again at our hotel in the future.
Yours sincerely
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

i spent one day in gent for work and the next traveled, the hotel was close to the major roads but the GPS had trouble finding it due road works, the hotel is also close enough to the city center so i could enjoy the city as well.
the staff were nice and helpful.
the rooms are large and comfortable.
one thing bothers me is that they should mention when they say that parking is available is to add that it cost 10eu...

Room Tip: there are only 3 floors so requesting a high floor wont make a difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hagay I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Mr Hagay
Thank you for taking the time to tell your story about Holiday Inn Gent Expo while in Gent. We appreciate your positive and constructive comments as it gives as always an idea what is going well and what we need to improve.
We are fully aware of the access to our hotel. Even with the necessary indications of the hotel and “Turn off GPS”, our management will shortly talk again to the responsible of the road works to reorganize indications so that will be more logic and clear.
Free parking spaces are less available nowadays and the grounds are not getting cheaper.
Thanks again for your comments Mr Hagay and we hope that despite the access, Holiday Inn Gent Expo remains your preferred hotel while visiting Gent of Belgium next time. Keep well and till next time.
Kind regards
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I was on a Business trip to Ghent and this place happened to be only few kms away from office and hence i choose Holiday Inn. Lady at the reception (who could not understand English clearly) asked us to wait for check in, if we wanted higher floors, little did i realize that there are only 3 floors :). Thankfully a gentlemen at the reception who could speak and understand English came to our rescue (may be from lunch break) and helped us get a room.

Its a descent place for the price you pay except if you want to order A la carte, way to expensive. Being a vegetarian breakfast options werent too many. There is an Ikea outlet right opposite the hotel and found some vegetarian option there. Otherwise no restaurants nearby.

Rooms appeared to be very traditional and old types, with red all over. Did not find the rooms and bathrooms as clean as expected

Hotel is near to the tram station so its connectivity to city center is not an issue. After taking the expo exit, i found myself driving few kms to reach the hotel and that was annoying. I believe this place is primary meant for expo visitors.

If you are a tourist there is a lot city center can offer.For short Business trip, its a good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dharmesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Dharmeshsheth,
Thank you for taking the time and to inform us about your stay in Holiday Inn Gent Expo. We do appreciate your comments so that we can improve our product and services.
Our hotel is perfectly located for both business and leisure trips since we have a tram stop only 200 metres away and all the important highways close to the hotel. You also discovered the convenience of the tram to get into the city centre. We offer quiet rooms at the outside of Ghent but still you can enjoy our lovely and historic city centre.
I would like to apologize for the uncomfortable check-in, even though all our staff members are multilingual as one of our other members were able to help you. Our breakfast provides many cereales, yoghurt, cheese, fruits, bread, croissants, eggs, etc which you can eat as a vegetarian.
Our rooms have recently been renovated, especially the bathrooms to meet up with the IHG Standards and cleaned daily.
We hope to see you soon in Holiday Inn Gent Expo.
Yours sincerely,
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I've used this hotel in a business travel and I found it fully convenient.
Clean, calm, good breakfast. Rooms are large and the bathroom is well equipped.
It is important to know that if you are without a car it is far from the city center but not so much, after all. If you want you can walk to the city center... you just need a good company not to get bored. In fact the surrounding are really desolate.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmhaboh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Mmhaboh
First of all I like thank you for your stay in Holiday Inn Gent Expo and for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.
Thank you for confirming that our American Breakfast Buffet is good and has a very large choice. I guess it will be thanks to the fresh fruit, orange juice, different kind of bread, croissants, sausages, baked bacon, eggs, filling, yoghurts, cereals. I hope you also tasted our different kind of coffees.
Keep well and hope to see you soon back in Holiday Inn Gent Expo.
Yours sincerely
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
2.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gent
2.5 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
2.3 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
2.5 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gent Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gent Expo

Property: Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Address: Maaltekouter 3, Ghent 9051, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#9 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Gent Expo 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE USE OF BROADBAND INTERNET IN THE ENTIRE HOTEL!Holiday Inn Gent Expo is a 4-star hotel with an entirely refurbished Atrium which is ideally situated at the crossing of the major European motorway junction (E40-E17-A17) at exit 14 - Expo and next to Flanders Expo and IKEA Gent. Furthermore hotel Holiday Inn Ghent Expo is connected with the historic city centre of Ghent: the tram stop is located at 100 metres from the hotel with a link of every 10 minutes to the city centre. This Holiday Inn hotel in Ghent is centrally located for business as well as for tourists exploring Flanders. All 169 comfortable spacious hotel rooms have double glazed windows and are air-conditioned, equipped with minibar, LCD flatscreen TV and coffee & tea making facilities. The eye-catching Atrium, under a huge glass roof and glazed elevators, is the heart of the hotel. Here you will find our trendy Atrium Restaurant with a unique design. The cuisine is contemporary, associating light and refined meals with inventive Belgian flavours. The Lounge Wine Bar is the meeting point in the surroundings. The atrium, bar, lobby and meeting rooms offer free wireless high speed Internet (WIFI)! Looking for a meeting place in Gent? Holiday Inn hotel Ghent offers 9 meeting rooms with natural daylight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Gent Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gent Expo Hotel Ghent
Holiday Inn Ghent
Ghent Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing