We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Washington State
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This property is in a great location for a quiet stay in Gent. It is close enough to get to the city center easily but far enough away to make parking easy. We felt welcomed from the minute we stepped into the lobby. Oskar was extremely professional and helpful. This type of customer service is not always seen here in Europe but it is so appreciated. The staff at The Holiday Inn Expo Gent far exceeded our expectations. Rooms are clean and well appointed. Internet speed is good and beds are very comfortable. The expo center is the neighboring building so if you're coming to Gent for an expo, THIS is the place to stay!!

Room Tip: Well worth an upgrade to an executive room for twice the size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJWORK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear MJWORK,

Many thanks for your review about your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read about your positive experiences with our location and customer service, especially the attitude of our receptionist Oskar. We will certainly share your comment with him and our entire team. Customer service has a great importance since we want our guests to feel like they’re at home and can ask us anything at any time. We would love to welcome you again at Holiday Inn Gent Expo during your next visit to Ghent.
Kindest Regards,
Thomas Van Parijs
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    267
    170
    50
    14
See reviews for
114
195
25
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 6 nights during my business trip at Ghent. I took a pre booked taxi from Brussels airport to the Hotel, so had no issues with finding the Hotel. As suggested in many reviews, good luck on finding in this place if you are driving and coming here for first time

Very good and friendly staff at the reception who gave me a warm welcome and accomodated my request for an early check in. I had a change in schedule and arrived at 10am in the morning, but still had a room ready for me. I had made a request for an early check in just the previous day,

The rooms are decent, though I was provided with a twin bed for a single person staying, it was still comfortable. Bathrooms were nice and clean as well. Breakfast spread was good, and kept me interested for 6 days, thuogh the orange juicer made random apperances only on some days on the buffet spread

The reason I still rate this as a basic hotel is I had come with expectations of a four star hotel and this is definitely not a four star, but a 3 star business hotel. The signal strength of Wifi in the room I checked in was virtually nothing, but the staff moved me to a room near reception, with out much luck here as well (This is a sore point for a busiess hotel)

The check out was a very quick - and everythign settled in a few seconds.

The hotel has easy access to Flanders Expo TRAM station, and that is the only access to outside world if you dont want to drive in the loop. I took the TRAM out to the city centre at times eating out and sometimes ate at the hotel restaurant which was pretty decent again. Even if you are coming by train Sint Peters station , Ghent is just 5 minutes on TRAM

All over, if you go with the expectations of a 3 star business hotel, this will not disappoint you

Room Tip: Check if the room has Wifi reception !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rigils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Rigils,

Many thanks for writing this elaborate comment about your last stay at Holiday Inn Gent Expo. It is of a great importance to us what our guests experience at our hotel during their visit.
Apart from the bad connection you seemed to have with our WIFI network I am delighted to read you were pleased by our staff members, rooms and various breakfast buffet which kept you interested for 6 days. Please accept our apologies the WIFI didn’t meet up with your expectations even though our staff tried to help you by moving you to another room. All our routers are equally spread in the hotel to provide our guests with a strong signal.
I would like to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our hotel in the near future.
Kindest Regards,

Thomas Van Parijs
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The hotel is located outside of the city center. Is has good parking facilities and a tram (line 1) brings you in 20 minutes to the heart of the city. This tramline also passes the trainstation. The hotel offers correct and clean rooms. The bathroom offers all you need and coffee/tea is availble in the room. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is excellent (with good coffee and fresh juice). The hotel is nearby the highway, but very well isolated. The beds are comfortable and you can choose a hard or soft pillow. Both for a business and a city trip I would go there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JurgenS1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear JurgenS1978,

Thank you for choosing for us and writing this comment about your great experience. According to your ratings it became an enjoyable stay.
I am pleased to read our breakfast and food was satisfying. Providing quiet rooms to our guests, despite the traffic passing by, is very important to us. Even though we are well located to reach all the main highways you can easily enjoy a day in Gent by using the tramline.
I hope my staff will welcome you again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Thomas Van Parijs
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The facilities are excellent, very clean, the rooms are nice, it's quiet, the staff is extremely kind. The breakfast is magnific, and meals too. The internet service is more than ok. Ideal for bussiness trips. The tram station is at 2 minutes walking. It is only a bit confusing to access from the highway in a car, and the trip to the train station is about 8 minutes in tram.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willy664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Willy664,

Thank you very much for rewarding us with this great review and high ratings!
It pleases me to know you find our rooms and breakfast to your liking, and took the time to write a comment about it. Offering quiet rooms to our guests is of big importance since this is the main ingredient to have a good quality of sleep. The speed of our internet is equal in the hotel rooms, public area’s and restaurant which is a positive aspect for our business guests indeed.
Take care and we would love to welcome you again at Holiday Inn Gent Expo.
Kindest Regards,
Thomas Van Parijs
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had a lovely stay at the hotel, all very clean, nice shower, comfortable beds and the staff could not have done any more to help us. they were great, very friendly at midnight when we returned back to the hotel and wanted a cup of tea. But to try and drive there is like driving around a cork screw. Who ever designed the road accessed must have been drunk. A nightmare but worth it when we got there.

Room Tip: Print off a map
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Karen-Ealing,

I am delighted to read about your recent experience with us. Thank you for sharing this on Tripadvisor and giving us this amazing ratings due to the cleanliness of the hotel and its staff.
We do realize coming to our hotel by car isn’t always that easy. This is because the area of our hotel is located next to the most important highways in Belgium. The district of Ghent is having a few traffic works around here which makes it a bit difficult to reach the hotel but by following the signs ‘Holiday Inn’ around The Loop you’ll find us. My apologies for this unpleasant moment.
If you would have any problems with the road next time you’ll visit us, please give us a call and we will certainly help you finding our hotel.
Kindest Regards,
Thomas Van Parijs
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Rumour has it that if one can find this hotel without getting lost, the guests are given a free dinner. Once one has mastered getting to the hotel, beware of a few extra charges. While the price states 'including all taxes', there is an extra 2.50 euros/day/guest added by the city of Ghent. In addition, if one has a car, there is a 10 euro/day charge for parking. Finally the 15 euro charge for breakfast seems quite high.
Apart from that, the hotel is comfortable although the rooms are a little on the small side, the staff is friendly and helpful. Be sure to ask for a morning room make up or this may be quite late in the afternoon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beaunestay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Jason C,

My best wishes for the new year and thank you for reviewing Holiday Inn Gent Expo with these great rates. The access to our hotel is indeed more complicated due to road works in progress in this area. To make it easier for our guests to reach the hotel, a few signs have been placed around The Loop saying ‘hotel’ or ‘Holiday Inn’. Not included in the room rate is the city tax and parking which should be indicated at the website you’ve booked with. Until next time and take care.

Kindest Regards,
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vleuten, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The hotel is very clean, and the rooms are great.
But the hotel is not in the centre. You can walk but it will take you 60 minutes.
Other options is the tram.
We went by car to the city which was easy and quick. (and on sunday we had free parking)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevertje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Jason C,

My best wishes for the new year and thank you for reviewing Holiday Inn Gent Expo with these great rates. The access to our hotel is indeed more complicated due to road works in progress in this area. To make it easier for our guests to reach the hotel, a few signs have been placed around The Loop saying ‘hotel’ or ‘Holiday Inn’. Not included in the room rate is the city tax and parking which should be indicated at the website you’ve booked with. Until next time and take care.

Kindest Regards,
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
2.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gent
2.5 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
2.3 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
2.5 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gent Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gent Expo

Property: Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Address: Maaltekouter 3, Ghent 9051, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#9 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Gent Expo 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE USE OF BROADBAND INTERNET IN THE ENTIRE HOTEL!Holiday Inn Gent Expo is a 4-star hotel with an entirely refurbished Atrium which is ideally situated at the crossing of the major European motorway junction (E40-E17-A17) at exit 14 - Expo and next to Flanders Expo and IKEA Gent. Furthermore hotel Holiday Inn Ghent Expo is connected with the historic city centre of Ghent: the tram stop is located at 100 metres from the hotel with a link of every 10 minutes to the city centre. This Holiday Inn hotel in Ghent is centrally located for business as well as for tourists exploring Flanders. All 169 comfortable spacious hotel rooms have double glazed windows and are air-conditioned, equipped with minibar, LCD flatscreen TV and coffee & tea making facilities. The eye-catching Atrium, under a huge glass roof and glazed elevators, is the heart of the hotel. Here you will find our trendy Atrium Restaurant with a unique design. The cuisine is contemporary, associating light and refined meals with inventive Belgian flavours. The Lounge Wine Bar is the meeting point in the surroundings. The atrium, bar, lobby and meeting rooms offer free wireless high speed Internet (WIFI)! Looking for a meeting place in Gent? Holiday Inn hotel Ghent offers 9 meeting rooms with natural daylight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Gent Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gent Expo Hotel Ghent
Holiday Inn Ghent
Ghent Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing