We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid stay in Ghent” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Gent Expo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Elton Cambs UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Solid stay in Ghent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

Ghent is one of the finest cities in Europe, and if you have'nt been then go - you will not be disappointed. Getting into the centre of Ghent has always been difficult but with 2 major renovation projects going on over the next few months (probably much longer), it's a nightmare. Much better to stay on the outskirts - for instance at the Holiday Inn next to Expo. Its well sign posted although you now have to navigate IKEA to get to the car park.
We have stayed here many times over the last 10 years and the biggest drawback was getting in and out of town.This is now really simple as the tram line is just 3 mins walk from the hotel and the trams run every 20 mins or so. Within 15 mins you can be in the heart of Ghent saving at least 15 euros on a taxi fare.
This hotel is a standard Holiday Inn business hotel with good facilities, and an efficient front desk. Its not much to look at externally but has a big car park. The rooms are quiet and the beds pretty comfortable. On the downside whilst the reception and bar have been refurbished the rooms are starting to look tired - light stains on the carpets and some wear to the room furniture and bathroom. Its still ok ,but the sooner they refurb the better. The food is good although some of the breakfast offerings run out ,especially the pastries. It's pretty good value especially when you book early - we got a room rate of 85 euros a night (inc breakfast), but bear in mind you have to pay for parking - 8.50 euros a day.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BBosworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 9 October 2009
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your constructive feedback.
I am please to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us over the past 10 years!
All your feedback will truly help us to improve our service and offerings. Please be informed that we are in the process of making plan for a rooms refurbishment in the future.
On behalf of the entire team, I look forward of welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Gent Expo. It will be a pleasure to serve you.
Yours sincerely
Léon Raaijmaakers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    261
    164
    47
    13
See reviews for
111
191
24
187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

Hi Leon,
Check in was quick and easy and the girls on the desk very efficient. Got a free wi-fi login upon request, but due to distance from reception, the hardwired ISDN lead in the room was better and enabled me to skype home to the kids.
Internal room overlooking the atrium with the restaurant down in the basement, so no opening window for fresh air, but the air con worked when you had the key card in the electric, so room temperature was well controllable.
I would describe the room as fairly basic but more than adequate for a nights stopover when on business. Location is out of town, but I suppose it was built for the Expo, so ideal for that. The tram does go close and will take you into the center of Ghent.
Wide screen TV with about 20 European stations including BBC1 & 2. But no sleeptimer on remote control. OMG, what's that about? I normally set it and fall asleep, but had to wake up in the middle of the night, scramble around in the bed and find the off button. WHAT AN INCONVENIENCE.
On a more serious note, I see what one other Tripadvisor poster meant about the slippery bath while showering. Leon, if you do actually take the feedback on board and do something with it when you can, then you could get some bathmats or at least put up some warnings.
Didn't eat an evening meal, but breakfast buffet (cooked or cold selections) was fine, with a really great high speed orange juice squeezing machine which sat there growling and threatening to take off the fingertips of anybody who messed with it. British health and safety eat your heart out. There were a couple of big containers of pre-squeezed stuff for those that felt too intimidated by it.
The bar was also quick and efficient, with the beer cold, so no complaints there.

All in all Leon, thanks for a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thetotalpackage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 24 September 2009
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your feedback. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and for your comments on the service of our team! We have replaced the juice squeezing machine in the restaurant, as indeed it was making an abnormal noise. With reference to your comment on the remote control: Although the TV entertainment system is brand new and state-of-the-art, it is indeed not possible to have a timer so the TV automatically switches off. I have put your comment forward to our supplier though to take this on board for the future. We are also currently investiging the baths.
Once again, thank you for your feedback. On behalf on the entire team, I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Yours sincerely
Léon Raaijmaakers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

Check in was ok, room is a bit run down (dirty carpet). Breakfast was good. Hotel is in walking distance to IKEA and Expo only. Although at the end of the world they charge for the parking. Bye the way: We can recommend the restaurant at IKEA :-).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raiygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 11 September 2009
Many thanks for your feedback about e.g. the carpet. I am happy to read that you enjoyed our extensive buffet breakfast! Should you have the time to experience our own restaurant, serving Belgian and international cuisine, you are most welcome!
Yours sincerely

Léon Raaijmaakers
General Manager
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ghent hotels

DERBY UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

We booked online and were attracted by the Euro 300 package for booking ahead for the five nights. With this you get a cheap rate but lose all your money if you change, cancel or don't turn up. It was only after booking that we realised that breakfast is not included but can be added at euro 21 per person, per day! A total of Euro 510. We could have booked a package including breakfast that could have been altered or cancelled up to one day before arrival for about Euro 470. So by taking the package where the customer takes ALL the risk you pay more!! On contacting the hotel to upgrade to include breakfast we were told we would lose the Euro 300 and would have to pay Euro 470. I.e. on trying to spend more money with them they were not interested in helping us, so we went most mornings to IKEA, just across the road, for breakfast. Range is limited but it's less than half the price of the hotel. The hotel therefore lost out on 5 day's breakfasts.


DANGER ! Be very careful when showering or taking a bath. When wet with soapy water the bath becomes VERY slippery. We both slipped several times. When taking a bath it was difficult to get out as one could get neither a foothold or a handhold.because of the slippery surface. On arriving go across to IKEA and buy a bath/shower anti-slip mat.
You have been warned, someone is going to get seriously injured here. Hotel staff were not interested.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IVANOVERDRAFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 14 August 2009
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your feedback. Could you please let me know in which particular room your have been staying in, so we can possibly rectify your feedback on the bath tub? With reference to the room rate; you could have booked the Advance Breakfast rate which would have been the best value for you, so you could have made use of our extensive full breakfast buffet with hot dishes at a discounted rate!
I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Gent Expo.
Yours faithfully
Léon Raaijmaakers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

Stayed at the Holiday Inn for one night - thankfully, as I think that was too much in retrospect.

Location:
Mentioned before that this is in an expo park, but very handy from the motorway. Signposting from the motorway is very limited, there is a bit of guesswork on the 1-way system, to loop back around to Ikea - the signposts only seemed to show for the hotel half way around. Apart from the main reception/food area, the rest of the hotel is in need of repair and painting - chipped concrete, and rooms that look a bit dated.

Room:
We had a family room, as had a 5year old son. The extra bed was a bit limited. Thin plasma or LCD tv in room that gave a range of european channels - French, Belgium, German, UK (BBC1/BBC2), Italian, Spanish, Turskish etc. The shower was either very hot or very cold, but everything else there was OK; and our kettle did not work.
Worst comment on the room, was that housekeeping had left the feedback details of the previous guest, who had the same comments as myself, but it also contained personal details such as name, phone, email etc. on there.

Why didn't we complain at the time?... I usually do, though had just driven for 17hours from Italy, and the idea of just a bed, which was fine, was all that we needed.

Food:
Food and drink looked expensive - I think the breakfast was about 22euros, and the comments from others was that the portions were not big. Can't comment.

A note, that you do pay extra for the car park (8,50euros; and also a local Gent tax, on a per person rate), so even if you have purchased online there are around £10 worth of extras to pay locally.

On the positive
The room was very cheap.
Internet wireless is *free* from the rooms (though need a logon code from reception), which praise to them, someone brought up to our room, at 7am in the morning.
Staff, overall, were helpful.
Very convenient for Ikea, and for once my wife and I actually enjoyed browsing Ikea without the throngs of people there usually are.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NikJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 14 August 2009
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your constructive comments on our hotel. I was also happy to read that you rated our team as helpful and that you were satisfied with the free internet in the entire hotel. With reference to your comment on the condition of the room, we are in the process of planning a rooms refurbishment! Also to respond to your comment on our breakfast to have small portions ; we do provide an entire buffet breakfast, which can be best described as the largest and most extensive buffet breakfast in Ghent.
Please accept our sincere apologies that you found a guest comment which has already been completed. Should in future you have questions whilst staying with us, our duty manager would be delighted to respond immediately to your needs.
I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Gent Expo.
It will always be a pleasure to serve you.
Yours faithfully
Léon Raaijmaakers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

The hotel is located far from anything interesting unless you want to explore IKEA. The restaurant closes at 10pm and there is no place anywhere around for dinner. Worse, our room's window had been left open and the room was full of mosquitoes, we killed more than 20 (no exaggeration) so had a very unpleasant night.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yenny88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 10 August 2009
Dear Sir, Madam

Thank you for taking the time to report the inconvenience of the mosquitoes in your room. We have a notice on every guest room window advising to keep the window closed, as during summer, mosquitoes might enter the guest room. I can understand that this might have caused you trouble getting to sleep. I would like to apologise for this. With regards to the restaurant opening hours, the restaurant is indeed open until 10pm. I hope to be able to welcome you again to the Holiday Inn Gent Expo.

Yours sincerely
Léon Raaijmaakers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2009

I agree this is a friendly hotel... they showed some empathy when we arrived after a very stressful trip including getting lost in the parking lot of the neighbour Ikea and the front desk was very helpful in giving us advice about the city.
That's about it on the positive side...
10' drive by tram??? Maybe at 3 at night (although I doubt there would be trams at that time) but we got stuck in the traffic jams to enter the town centre, even by tram, and it took us more like 1/2 hour!
Renovations??? Not in a million years! This is not worth a Holiday Inn. The big atrium seemed cleaned up (cheaply), but the rooms are horrible! Hallways ae just depressing! We had the impression to be in a prison camp.
As I said, the staff are doing a good job but this hotel needs money!

By the way... we will certainly go back to Ghent! What a gem!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkShortbreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, 20 July 2009
Many thanks for having taken the time to write this comment. Only in this way we can improve our service.
I was pleased to read that you were satisfied with the friendliness of my team and that you have enjoyed Ghent. With reference to the tram to the centre, I am sorry to ready that it took you 30 minutes to go to the centre due to traffic congestion. Your comments on the state of your room and public area will be taken on board, as we are busy with refurbishment plans for these areas. The atrium, lobby and bar indeed have already been entirely refurbished.
On behalf of the entire team, I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Gent Expo. It will always be a pleasure to serve you.
Yours faithfully

Léon Raaijmaakers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
2.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gent
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
2.4 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
2.5 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gent Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gent Expo

Property: Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Address: Maaltekouter 3, Ghent 9051, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#9 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Gent Expo 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE USE OF BROADBAND INTERNET IN THE ENTIRE HOTEL!Holiday Inn Gent Expo is a 4-star hotel with an entirely refurbished Atrium which is ideally situated at the crossing of the major European motorway junction (E40-E17-A17) at exit 14 - Expo and next to Flanders Expo and IKEA Gent. Furthermore hotel Holiday Inn Ghent Expo is connected with the historic city centre of Ghent: the tram stop is located at 100 metres from the hotel with a link of every 10 minutes to the city centre. This Holiday Inn hotel in Ghent is centrally located for business as well as for tourists exploring Flanders. All 169 comfortable spacious hotel rooms have double glazed windows and are air-conditioned, equipped with minibar, LCD flatscreen TV and coffee & tea making facilities. The eye-catching Atrium, under a huge glass roof and glazed elevators, is the heart of the hotel. Here you will find our trendy Atrium Restaurant with a unique design. The cuisine is contemporary, associating light and refined meals with inventive Belgian flavours. The Lounge Wine Bar is the meeting point in the surroundings. The atrium, bar, lobby and meeting rooms offer free wireless high speed Internet (WIFI)! Looking for a meeting place in Gent? Holiday Inn hotel Ghent offers 9 meeting rooms with natural daylight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Gent Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gent Expo Hotel Ghent
Holiday Inn Ghent
Ghent Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing