We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Gravensteen
Nearby Hotels
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (604)
Filter reviews
604 results
Traveller rating
106
293
137
43
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
293
137
43
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat view of the castlemale reception staffgreat locationannex buildingthe tourist information officebreakfast roomair conditioningtea coffee facilitiespleasant roomthe main hotelold townshort walktram stopramencar parkingweekend breaktop floor
Filter
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 604 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2011

when arriving the lobby and the exterior of the hotel looks ok, they did not have my reservation on file they found it the next day
where given a room, when walking the carpet and the wood was very noisy, room very small, sound proof very bad can her lot of noise from the window espacially on door maids from 7 am, reception not so friendly, often very cold, they don't say Good morning or good evening even if you say to them no replies,

doesn't worth 90 euros or 2 stars hotel

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravellerWorld_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

This is mid November and the mosquitos still had us for a midnight night feast because we left the window open! The staff seemed surprised but looking at previous reviews mossies are a real feature of this hotel. Apart from that the hotel was good, our room in the newish annexe was clean and quite spacious, the bed very comfortable and the breakfast good. Best point is the location, within walking distance of all the sights and the number 1 tram takes you straight to the railway station.

Room Tip: The annexe is very quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheila c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my wife and 2yr old son. We booked the room for 6 nights and moved out after the second night. Many of the rooms do not have screens on the windows and are not air conditioned. The rooms are hot and smelly. The first night we opened the window and we were swarmed with mosquitos. When we came down stairs to go out for a walk we were met with a flood of raw sewage. Terrible hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morleg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel in the beautiful city of Ghent at then end of a touring holiday through Germany on our way back to the UK. We've been in Ghent many times before, and the magic of this city makes the decision to return again very easy indeed. There are a few hotels right in the historic heart of the city, and Hotel Gravensteen is one of them. Its a small and independent hotel in a cluster of old city houses. The rooms are bijou but comfortable, and some offer splendid views across to the old Gravensteen castle. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful indeed. All the main sights of Ghent are in easy walking distance, and there is a plethora of good restaurants and bars everywhere - difficult to choose one.

Room Tip: Some of the very cheap rooms are bijou under the roofspace - but good value.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E_Yorkshire_lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We loved the location of this Hotel. It was one block away from the center of everything. The canal boat rides leave from just near the hotel, and the famous Korenmarkt and Grasiel area is a block away. Some rooms have a view of the "Castle of the Counts" or Gravensteen Castle. Our room was very spacious with all the 3 star ammenities. You must pay for parking, but it is safe, and in this town you must have parking. Internet was a strong signal, but you pay by the hour to use it. Breakfast is very expensive, so we choose to eat at the many cute restraurants all around us. We had a good rate, as it was a pre paid/non-refundable rate. Gent was the highlight of our trip, and this hotel was a great place to stay. We actually liked Gent better than Bruges.

Room Tip: You might want to get a room with a view of the Castle.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn_D27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews