We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short Break in Ghent”
Review of Hotel Gravensteen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gravensteen
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Salcombe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Short Break in Ghent”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I selected this hotel because it was offering good value short breaks at the end of February without knowing anything about the topography of Ghent. I was delighted to find that it was very central, close to the castle and river, and that the centre of Ghent is largely pedestrian, except for trams and a few buses. The hotel was extremely friendly, clean, and comfortable, with staff speaking excellent English. Breakfast was a very adequate buffet in a bright upstairs room, and service was instant in a cosy ittle bar close to Reception. It was.particularly cold weather and I was happy to find a fully-adjustabe radiator in my room. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Ghent for sight-seeing purposes.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    265
    116
    38
    21
See reviews for
67
279
19
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

This hotel is very well situated near to the picturesque Graslei canalside and almost directly opposite the impressive Gravensteen Castle. Is easy to get to from the train station with the red tram route running from just up the road from the train station to the castle.

The hotel itself is quite impressive upon arrival with quite a grand and ornate reception area and staircase. The room itself was quite tired though with quite a few repairs and a lick of paint needed. It was also very noisy on the first floor with most guests having to pass by the room to get to theirs on the upper floors and so until quite late at night and then from very early in the morning there was a door in the corridor outside that kept banging shut.

Having said all this I would still say that it is good value accommodation in a good location.

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor above the reception area was noisy as a lot of people have to pass the r...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

The Gravensteen is a curious mixture of charm (a collection of old buildings, hence a plethora of levels, up-and-down passages) and disrepair (some of the furniture in my room was quite tacky; creaky, wobbly floors). In general, it was fun. Equally uneven was the breakfast: nice selection (even grilled sausages - except weekends) but shamefully watered-down orange juice.
The central location and especially the namesake castle across the street are obvious advantages that, to some, might even be reason enough to overlook some of the faults.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rybas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmestrand, Norway
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I would ahve wished for an extra star between "Average" (3 stars) and "Very good" (4 stars) since this hotel tends in the direction of "Good" but not "Very good". The hotel is located in the old town and within walking distance from everything. The staff is friendly. My room was in the annexe, and it really seemed impossible to turn up the heat in my room (I tried to set the radiator on full, but nothing happened even if the pipes were warm). So instead I set the bathroom radiotor (which worked) on full and kept the door open to heat the main room. Another problem with the rooms was that there is very little sound insulation between rooms and between the rooms and the corridor. The breakfast was OK although I missed some real orange juice (whether from consentrate or whatever) since all there was was something mixed out to a thin watery taste.

Room Tip: It may be bestter to get a room in the main building than in the annexe. on the other hand breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EspenSOre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

The location was very good, but our room needed some renovation urgently: the furniture and walls looked very old. The hair dryer was much more older than I am, and it was out of order. We called the reception to ask, if there is any other one we can use, but they did not have anything available. The bed however was very good and comfortable.
I found the price for the accommodation and breakfast too high.
We did not eat the breakfast in the hotel, we went to small coffee shops nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is a pretty average hotel, our pro’s and con’s:

PROs
- Location in Ghent, just a few meters away from the hart of this great city!
- Breakfast buffet.
- Clean room.

CONs
- Noizy! We stayed on the fist floor (room 51) and could hear the people on the streets talk as well as we could enjoy other hotel noises.
- Requested a double bed, we got 2 single beds on a slippery floor so that they move apart very quickly.
- Room is pretty small, the two beds take 60% of the floor space, some furniture takes 20% so there’s not much walk space left.
- Reception staff friendliness, if you don’t ask anything you won’t know anything, for example the way to the breakfast room or Wi-Fi access, sort it all out yourself.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juul-Dites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

This hotel is in the perfect position, right at the centre, with loads of good restaurants within a few yards. The amazing House of Elliot is just 10 yards away! Our room (in the annexe) was spacious, quiet and comfortable. However our friend had a single room at a cheaper rate and didn't have a kettle. When she asked she was told the cheaper rate didn't include a kettle! A bit mean, to say the least. Needless to say, she borrowed ours. Breakfast plentiful if dull. Orange water masquerading as orange juice. Small but cosy bar, and friendly staff. Three and a half really, but as that's not available, four stars for location and excellent room.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank LiverpoolPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.1 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gravensteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gravensteen

Property: Hotel Gravensteen
Address: Jan Breydelstraat 35, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gravensteen 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
49 comfortable rooms with private bathroom.Trendy lounge / Bar.Patio,Fitness and sauna.Cosy breakfast room,15 private parking places1 meeting rooms with daylight,Free wireless internet,Central location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gravensteen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gravensteen Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing