We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY GOOD HOTEL IN CENTRE OF GHENT OVERLOOKING CASTLE”
Review of Hotel Gravensteen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Gravensteen
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Stockport
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD HOTEL IN CENTRE OF GHENT OVERLOOKING CASTLE”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Excellent hotel in the centre of Ghent but difficult to find via sat nav and one way system but got there in the end. Hotel very clean and staff really helpful - we were able to park at the hotel which was good - very convenient for bars and restaurants and river cruises - would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: On 2nd floor - very nice and quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    267
    116
    38
    22
See reviews for
68
280
19
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ribeirão Prêto, São Paulo, Brazil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I liked very much to stay at Gravensteens hotel, in Ghent. Ther is a charm of antique at the environment, and it fits so much to Ghent's atmosphere. The breakfast is delicious, i loved it!
The staff is very available, and specially the recepcionists were very kind , explaining everything I asked, sometimes several times... But i think the best is the localisation, it is perfect, right beside the Castle, it was so nice, to pass by the Castle every day, when leaving the hotel. And it s also near of the other charming and must view places of Ghent. I sure recommend and would come back, in Ghent, again.

Room Tip: My room was ok, but i didn t know the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Celia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Central city centre location next to the castle, and very near to a lot of attractions and restaurants Was easily reached from the main station using Tram 1. Only issue was ticket machines that were out of order. Room was clean; helpful staff at reception; excellent breakfast buffet, in the other part of the hotel. The double room was perhaps a little small for two people, but was fine used as a single. Also had the issue of having a wait a long time before the bath completely drained, after taking a shower. However, would be happy to return if visiting Ghent again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Burl47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

1-5 minutes walk from so many attractions. The room was nice, with a few minor issues - hairdryer not working; bathroom door didn't close, no extra blankets - but rooms are clean; helpful service at reception (with one exception during the evening); excellent breakfast. Be sure to visit the Design Musuem a block away, and to meander with no particular destination in mind.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

A brilliant place to stay for spending a few days in Ghent. Good buffet breakfast and so near to the sights and restaurants. We stayed in the Tower Room, which had an amazing 360degree view over the city, but did prove very noisy in the gales!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Irayna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel looks nice from the outside and has a fabulous City Centre location next to the castle. Sadly, that is where it ends.
If you want to be eaten by bed bugs while you sleep, then book a room at this hotel. Otherwise avoid it at all costs. Aside from the bed bugs, which should be enough to put you off, the breakfast is limited/poor, the bar is very small and lacking in any atmosphere, the staff are generally miserable, especially at breakfast and the rooms are dirty and smelly, stains on the carpet, fixtures falling off walls and it all smells a bit stale. It is a tired hotel badly in need of a makeover with new beds and mattresses. I mailed the management urging them to clean up this hotel and replace the beds/mattresses and to show some respect for their guests.

I have stayed in Gent a few times recently for business, it is a beautiful City with lots going for it........ but I urge you to stay somewhere else in this beautiful City and not at the Gravensteen.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AWM_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grave1, General Manager at Hotel Gravensteen, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear A.M ,
I am sorry to learn that you rather had a bad experience during your stay. We did not manage to complete your expectations in full, and we are very sorry for that.
Guest comments are of paramount importance to us, both in terms of measuring our standard of service and in our on-going endeavour to give our guests the best possible experience at Hotel Gravensteen.
As Hotel Manager I investigated your issue into detail. I would like to inform you that all of our rooms have been checked by a certified company and no bedbugs were found. In addition, the hotel is preventively treated every year to avoid such complaints!
The entire team of Hotel Gravensteen takes a personal interest in giving our guest the best possible experience. I would like to express my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay, but we cannot be held responsible since there were no bedbugs found in any of our rooms.

I also was most surprised about your overall feedback concerning the product. We always strive to give our guests value for money and a great all-round Hotel Gravensteen experience. Speaking in terms of makeover. I am happy to announce that the yearly (major) investments in the product are scheduled for November this year (main building).
I hope you are satisfied with this explanation.
Yours Sincerely,
V. De Wilde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ghent hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Great little hotel..we loved the ample breakfast. The location is perfect. You can walk to many attractions. Close to the canals, and across the street from the castle. Go to the tourist information first and you can purchase a 25 euro pass for Gent. Good for many attractions and the buses too. We would go back to the hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.3 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.3 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
972 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gravensteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gravensteen

Property: Hotel Gravensteen
Address: Jan Breydelstraat 35, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gravensteen 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
49 comfortable rooms with private bathroom.Trendy lounge / Bar.Patio,Fitness and sauna.Cosy breakfast room,15 private parking places1 meeting rooms with daylight,Free wireless internet,Central location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gravensteen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gravensteen Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing