We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly placed”
Review of Hotel Gravensteen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Gravensteen
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Stourbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfectly placed”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

A perfect base from which to explore this beautiful city. The hotel is plush, comfortable and clean. Breakfasts are ample. Service is excellent. Very pleased we chose this hotel.
The only negative was sketchy wifi.

Room Tip: Room 15 has a (slim) view of the river. It's a very nice room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grave1, General Manager at Hotel Gravensteen, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Susan,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay in our hotel.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Concerning the free Wifi, we are working on a new system where the speed and stability will be optimized! Soon it will be introduced.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Vincent De Wilde
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    269
    119
    39
    22
See reviews for
69
284
21
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Returned yesterday from this hotel. Although it looked beautiful from the front, we were disappointed to be given a room in a separate and characterless block at the back. The entrance to the annexe was shrouded with scaffolding and dust. Inside, it reminded us of simple and basic student style halls accommodation. The breakfast was fine and the location excellent, if noisy. It was just disappointing to be stuck in an entirely separate block at the back . It all seemed very temporary.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank amanda j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grave1, General Manager at Hotel Gravensteen, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Amanda,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay in our hotel .I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations this time; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
We understand that you were looking forward to stay in the main building. We take into account the preferences of our guests; please mention when booking the room.
At the time of your stay, the facade of the building was cleaned and sandblasted. We wish to express our apologies for any inconveniences this may have caused.
We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Once again, we thank you for sharing your experiences and hope to welcome you again (in the mainbuilding).

Sincerely,

Vincent De Wilde
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel Gravensteen is set in an excellent location, adjacent to the castle of the counts. You are in the heart of the historical area of Ghent when you stay here. On the doorstep there is an abundance of restaurants and bars. Highly recommend Du Progres for a good steak, which is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Booking is a must if you want to go here.

We stayed in room 84, it was a good size and included a double and single bed. The bed was comfy and the room was very quiet. We only had one issue when the bathroom light would not work. Reception advised us that they couldn't do anything as the handyman didn't work at weekends! So rather than having a shower or bath in the dark we moved the lamp into the bathroom. Breakfast included cold boiled eggs, hams, cheeses, yoghurts, Danish pastries and a variety of breads and rolls.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again mainly for its location.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LouiseBarham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The hotel is beautifully located in the Old city center of picturesque Ghent. Named after the the medieval castle, it is just around the corner. The staff is friendly and the hotel is clean. The rooms are fine and the bathroom has a large shower. Beds are fine, the wireless free internet is fast. Breakfast is mediocre, a bit disappointing for the class of hotel. Private parking is limited, but there are public car parks in the area. Ghent itself is best visited by public transport. The city is a gem.
The Gravensteen hotel is a decent, centrally located 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arne68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Gravensteen is a centrally located hotel in Ghent ata walking distance from tourist attractions and in the city centre. The receptionist at check in was very helpful. Free wi Fi is a big plus. Room was not too big but spacious. shower cubicle was a bit cramped and could do with a shelf to keep toiletries. All in all value for money

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ADREMBIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Excellent hotel in the centre of Ghent but difficult to find via sat nav and one way system but got there in the end. Hotel very clean and staff really helpful - we were able to park at the hotel which was good - very convenient for bars and restaurants and river cruises - would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: On 2nd floor - very nice and quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribeirão Prêto, São Paulo, Brazil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I liked very much to stay at Gravensteens hotel, in Ghent. Ther is a charm of antique at the environment, and it fits so much to Ghent's atmosphere. The breakfast is delicious, i loved it!
The staff is very available, and specially the recepcionists were very kind , explaining everything I asked, sometimes several times... But i think the best is the localisation, it is perfect, right beside the Castle, it was so nice, to pass by the Castle every day, when leaving the hotel. And it s also near of the other charming and must view places of Ghent. I sure recommend and would come back, in Ghent, again.

Room Tip: My room was ok, but i didn t know the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Celia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.3 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.1 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
995 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gravensteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gravensteen

Property: Hotel Gravensteen
Address: Jan Breydelstraat 35, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gravensteen 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
49 comfortable rooms with private bathroom.Trendy lounge / Bar.Patio,Fitness and sauna.Cosy breakfast room,15 private parking places1 meeting rooms with daylight,Free wireless internet,Central location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gravensteen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gravensteen Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing