We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in centre of Gent”
Review of Hotel Gravensteen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Gravensteen
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We arrived in Gent/Ghent and needed a place to stay. They offered us a small suite with a queen sized bed and a couch that made into a single sized bed for a reasonable rate. We enjoyed sitting in the courtyard enjoying a drink before dinner. It was great to be so close to everything at night. We were even allowed to park at the hotel,although I do not recommend trying to drive in Old Gent - what a nightmare of one way, blocked off and irregular streets.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Patsy539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for business travel. The service was excellent and the room very comfortable. The staff made excellent recommendations for nearby attractions and restaurants. The chocolates delivered to my room were the best.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Durodola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Was in Gent to meet with new colleagues at University College HUB-KAHO, colleagues selected our hotel- hotel Gravensteen. We arrived late, and despite the hour, the hotel staff were vey accommodating, friendly and so helpful. I messed up my reservations, somehow made them for a month later. the staff jumped right into action to accommodate, find a room and notify me of any cancellations so that I would have 4 contiguous days. The rooms were in section apart from the hotel, no problem. My room was cozy, quiet and comfy. I slept well and had no complaints. The front desk staff rotated throughout our stay and without fail each was so friendly and knowledgeable often helping us make reservations in restaurants, find the best chocolates or simply help us get to our destinations. The hotel was centrally located to the squares and walking distance to some gray restaurants. First rate all the way.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Jorge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grave1, General Manager at Hotel Gravensteen, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Jorge G.,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay in our hotel!
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Vincent De Wilde
Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Hotel Gravensteen has great prices and a super central location in Gent. Easy to walk to all attractions. Beautiful lobby. Good breakfast. Comfy but run down room. The first night our roof or our tub (couldn't tell which) leaked and our floor, carpet were soaked from that point on. They gave us a free breakfast for our trouble (not a very satisfying adjustment). Staff are blase. Manager never available. Comes in late. All in all, I would probably not stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grave1, General Manager at Hotel Gravensteen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear
Thank you for your review regarding your stay in our hotel.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in Ghent. It was also a pleasure to read your positive feedback about the location of our hotel, the lobby and our buffet breakfast.
I am sorry for the plumbing problem in your (bath)room during your stay. We have checked the room immediately after your report. We didn’t receive any complaints about this issue anymore.
I have been informed about the issue, and have been dealing with the follow up. I did not receive a request to meet each other, so I am sorry we could not catch up.
I wish to express my apologies if our staff wasn’t friendly and helpful. The entire team of Hotel Gravensteen always strive to give our guests the best experience during their stay.

I would like to thank you for your time and for sharing your experience, and hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Vincent De Wilde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was a really poor quality hotel & even though it was just three stars, it was disappointing. Apart from a new girl who checked us in, the rest of the staff were offhand at best & almost rude when I reported the problems with electrics & the safe. We had our dog with us for which they were happy to charge extra but then put us in a noisy street front room with dreadful access down a steep set of back stairs. In a fire I don't think we could have gotten out. In the bathroom an electric socket & light fitting were both broken. The safe was not affixed to anything & could not be accessed as it was open but stuck in the lock position. The wooden floor looked modern in the photos but was actually just roughly sanded back so we got splinters from it in bare feet. Very disappointing in every way!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grave1, General Manager at Hotel Gravensteen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Sir and Madam Braithwaity,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay in our hotel .I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations this time; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We wish to express our sincerest apologies if our staff seemed to be rude to you, or wasn’t helpful in your opinion. We always try to solve a problem in a proper way and when reported to the receptionist (for example the problem with the lights/electric sockets and the safe).

Unfortunately you were less satisfied with the comfort of your room, located in the main building of the hotel. If you would have wished for another room because the noise of the street (although they have double glazing), we would have offered you another one in the other part of the hotel (according to availability at that moment). The rooms are located at the inner court, are more quiet (no street noise/traffic) and don’t have a wooden floor.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Once again, we thank you for sharing your experiences and hope to welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Vincent De Wilde
Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Tired decor with carpets on the wall and a shower I could not stand up in. Disappointed with the room, although bed comfy. The reception and bar area are nicely decorated and staff friendly. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

A perfect base from which to explore this beautiful city. The hotel is plush, comfortable and clean. Breakfasts are ample. Service is excellent. Very pleased we chose this hotel.
The only negative was sketchy wifi.

Room Tip: Room 15 has a (slim) view of the river. It's a very nice room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grave1, General Manager at Hotel Gravensteen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Susan,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay in our hotel.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Concerning the free Wifi, we are working on a new system where the speed and stability will be optimized! Soon it will be introduced.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Vincent De Wilde
Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.1 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 39 in Ghent
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.6 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
1.4 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 39 in Ghent
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gravensteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gravensteen

Address: Jan Breydelstraat 35, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: £71 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gravensteen 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
49 comfortable rooms with private bathroom.Trendy lounge / Bar.Patio,Fitness and sauna.Cosy breakfast room,15 private parking places1 meeting rooms with daylight,Free wireless internet,Central location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Gravensteen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gravensteen Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing