We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good choice for sightseeing but a room with no view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Gravensteen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gravensteen
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Leamington Spa UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A good choice for sightseeing but a room with no view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Location excellent - the castle right outside - a short walk to many of the main sights - boat trips start nearby - plenty of shops and restaurants, and a few take-aways, (especially chips) - close to the Tourist Office - Trams 1 & 24 stop just round the corner. Nearest supermarket Carrefour Express in Hoogpoort (small but good selection)

The Gravensteen reception staff were always helpful and smiling. They were ready with a city map for us at check in, which was very efficient and quick . They were willing to try and fix any problems with rooms, answer any questions etc..

Breakfast was very good and plentiful and coffee excellent. There was a strange lack of teaspoons (apart from minuscule ones with the cups). It is difficult to eat fruit or yoghurt with a large dessert spoon but the plain, Greek-style yoghurt was worth the effort. There was a wide selection of cold meats, cheeses, cereals, fresh fruit salad, pastries, breads, teas and lots more. The breakfast room staff, with one exception, were efficient, pleasant and helpful, even at 7:00am.

Our room was in the 'modern' annexe, because we had asked for a quiet room. It was quiet on the whole, apart from noise from other guests and the rumble of service vehicles on one night. The room looked out on to a cream painted wall, but was very dark even with all 5 lights on.. However, since the weather was so bad, it was dark outside too. It was a good thing that the minibar and TV worked well, with lots of channels including BBC and ITV (World Cup was on) and that the room was well furnished, with two armchairs, so we could watch in comfort. The TV was at a sensible height too, (not, as in some places, almost on the ceiling). The bed was quite comfortable, if a bit soft. There was adequate storage space in the wardrobe, plenty of hangers and a room safe (included in the room price).

The bathroom, very well lit, was well equipped with modern fittings and everything worked. However nothing could disguise the pungent ‘drains’ smell, despite heavy air freshener spraying by the cleaner. The room and bathroom were very clean, but the city sewage system’s inadequacy and the nearness of a waterway were beyond the control of the hotel. It was necessary to keep the door firmly shut.

There were mosquitoes, but one window had a screen and there were anti-mozzie tabs provided if needed.. I ended up with a few bites so should have used them! The air-con worked and was not noisy, so no need really to open windows.

After 6 rainy days in Ghent and having visited almost all the sights, museums and galleries to keep out of the rain I don’t plan on visiting the city again, but if I were to go I would be happy to stay at the Hotel Gravensteen (especially if I got a room with a view!).

Room Tip: I think annexe rooms will be quiet, but may have poor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Calice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    258
    113
    36
    20
See reviews for
64
272
18
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just spent a long weekend in Ghent and picked this hotel mainly on location and we were not disappointed. Our room was very spacious (executive double) and definitely worth the price. Great location right in the middle of the historic centrum. The staff were really friendly and very helpful with recommendations of where to eat and drink etc. We would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed at the back of the hotel which was definitely quieter but not such a great view (overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night during a business trip. The quality of the room was quite acceptable for the price. The hotel is located quite close to the center of Ghent.

Unfortunately when checking out I was charged around 18€ for breakfast that apparently was not included. During check-in I was given a price-list and no price was specified for breakfast, only stating breakfast was available from 7 to 10am while specifying a price for every other service. I had to sign a paper when taking it, but the column for price was not filled in. Therefore I assumed it was included. I would absolutely not have taken the breakfast if I knew the price, since it was extremely limited and totally not worth it.

The service at check-out was extremely bad, since they absolutely did not want to look into this issue, only saying 'I cannot change this now' and telling me that the person who did the check-in does not normally do check-ins and probably forgot to mention that it is not included (which obviously is my fault?!).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bertold V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ghent hotels

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We booked 4 nights with the Romantic Package to celebrate our 44th wedding anniversary. Champagne and the amazing local chocolates were waiting for us in our room on the 2nd floor of the old building, with a magnificent view of the castle. Room 22 was spacious with a large bed, bed settee, desk ,table ,chairs and large TV with a good selection of English speaking channels included. The WiFi signal in our room was good. The bathroom had a bath with hand held shower and shower cubicle with rain and separate adjustable shower heads. There was shelving for clothes but a rail or wardrobe to hang items would have been useful.
The buffet style breakfast across the courtyard in the new building offered a good variety of fruit, cereals, meats, cheeses, pastries and some cooked items.
The staff were friendly and helpful, especially when we were faced with staying an extra night due to the Belgian rail strike!
The hotel is in a superb central location with easy walking distance to all main sites and good restaurants. Tram no 1 from outside the train station stops just a few yards away, at the castle.
We thought this was a great value stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in old building may have some road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Gent/Ghent and needed a place to stay. They offered us a small suite with a queen sized bed and a couch that made into a single sized bed for a reasonable rate. We enjoyed sitting in the courtyard enjoying a drink before dinner. It was great to be so close to everything at night. We were even allowed to park at the hotel,although I do not recommend trying to drive in Old Gent - what a nightmare of one way, blocked off and irregular streets.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Patsy539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for business travel. The service was excellent and the room very comfortable. The staff made excellent recommendations for nearby attractions and restaurants. The chocolates delivered to my room were the best.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Durodola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Was in Gent to meet with new colleagues at University College HUB-KAHO, colleagues selected our hotel- hotel Gravensteen. We arrived late, and despite the hour, the hotel staff were vey accommodating, friendly and so helpful. I messed up my reservations, somehow made them for a month later. the staff jumped right into action to accommodate, find a room and notify me of any cancellations so that I would have 4 contiguous days. The rooms were in section apart from the hotel, no problem. My room was cozy, quiet and comfy. I slept well and had no complaints. The front desk staff rotated throughout our stay and without fail each was so friendly and knowledgeable often helping us make reservations in restaurants, find the best chocolates or simply help us get to our destinations. The hotel was centrally located to the squares and walking distance to some gray restaurants. First rate all the way.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jorge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grave1, General Manager at Hotel Gravensteen, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Jorge G.,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay in our hotel!
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Vincent De Wilde
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.1 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gravensteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gravensteen

Property: Hotel Gravensteen
Address: Jan Breydelstraat 35, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gravensteen 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
49 comfortable rooms with private bathroom.Trendy lounge / Bar.Patio,Fitness and sauna.Cosy breakfast room,15 private parking places1 meeting rooms with daylight,Free wireless internet,Central location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gravensteen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gravensteen Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing