We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Appaling service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gravensteen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gravensteen
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Appaling service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

I hate it when people in the service industry are obnoxious and unhelpful. How much does a smile cost? The young lady behind the desk was... Well, I travel a lot, an awful lot. And she reminded me of Bulgaria in the eighties. Terrible.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeanJoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    255
    105
    36
    20
See reviews for
63
266
18
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

A well situated hotel, with private parking. Excellent service and clean rooms. Good breakfast.. The staff were very helpful and courteous. Whenever we visit Gent we stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holiday188666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

Fed up with welsh summer weather, my wife and I thought we'd have 5 days in Gent. Overall, I think a couple of days would have been sufficient to see most things.
Anyway, the satnav eventually located the hotel, which couldn't be more central. Difficult to park on arrival, but they do have a car park of sorts at the rear. Very difficult to park the car, due to roadworks (Gent is FULL of roadworks at the moment) and various bits of scaffolding and funny shaped buildings - but they do have about 13 spaces at 10 euros per day.
The lobby is rather grand, but quite dead, with a couple of rooms off. One is a bar - which remained empty whenever we passed it, and another housing internet access.
Gent is an expensive place, and Hotel Gravensteen is no different. We paid 550 euros for five nights accomodation and car park. The room was a 'superior double' , which although having a great view of the Castle, was on the top floor of the hotel, and came with several beams that you had to duck under if you wanted to move about. The double bed was made of two singles put together, and was fairly comfortable, and with little external room noise, apart from the inevitable doors closing from adjacent rooms, it was quite a nice room. This room also had an airconditioning unit, which I would say is a must, otherwise it would have been very hot. The cost of breakfast per person was a mind boggling 19 euros - which we gave a miss preferring the cost effective option of a couple of digestive biscuits in our room, and a cuppa of Typhoo, made possible by our kettle, which we always use when in Europe. We bought it a couple of years ago just down the road in Brugge in fact, and always take it with us when abroad.
Took a boat trip round Gent - which was disappointing, and not a patch on the one we went on in Brugge several years ago. That's the trouble - having been to Brugge, Gent, in comparison, is relatively disappointing. However, I'd say it is worth a visit, but wait a couple of years untill they finish all their roadworks - and just go for a long weekend.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drkelvinsutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ghent hotels

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
143 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stayed here over a weekend, and although the location was great and city was beautiful, the hotel was not really what we expected. The entrance hall was nice and so was the building and architecture, but once upstairs, the light fixtures weren't installed yet and the room was very old and small. We were expecting a romantic room, but got a basic 3 star stay, though it was very quiet. The girl at the reception was full of attitude as well, and that didn't make things better. Would try to go somewhere else for this amount of money. There is a good fondue place across from the hotel though, so might be worth checking out.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

Was expecting so much more from the Hotel Gravensteen...which was billed on its website as much more glamorous and old-world style. The rooms were of quality size, but were obviously not well kept. Sleep was difficult due to a lumpy bed and an immense amount of road noise. This hotel was no value and you are much better off staying at a local B&B (where breakfast doesn't charge you 19 Euro a head!!!)....i know, i know....I should have checked Trip Advisor first!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BabetteBadxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

hotel could"nt do enough for us nice friendly staff room nice and clean big and roomey smack in the centre of town only downside very expensive drinks in the bar abrandy and a rum and coke 24 euros

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shortbreaker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2009

We made a reservation site unseen at the Gravensteen based on the recommendation by the New York Times. That was a big mistake. This hotel is a housed in a classic mansion that was carelessly converted to a hotel. Nasty carpets abound, and charming details have been ruined to maximize space for guest rooms. Our room was so small that there wasn't enough space to pull the chair out from the desk. The bathroom was dirty when we arrived, and it was barely larger than what you would get on an airplane.

In addition, there was loud construction in the lobby. The TV did not have a remote. The internet connection was 20 Euros a day, but very unreliable. We were woken up by the maid because the floor made a horrible sound when she was cleaning the room next door. They have a sauna, but you have to pay 10 Euros to use it.

There are some very friendly staff members which was the only bright spot here, but certainly not enough to warrant a visit.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonny5cents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.1 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
1.4 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gravensteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gravensteen

Property: Hotel Gravensteen
Address: Jan Breydelstraat 35, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gravensteen 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
49 comfortable rooms with private bathroom.Trendy lounge / Bar.Patio,Fitness and sauna.Cosy breakfast room,15 private parking places1 meeting rooms with daylight,Free wireless internet,Central location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Gravensteen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gravensteen Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing