We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not staying in NH hotels any more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
NH Gent Sint Pieters
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
GreenLeadersSilver level
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
231 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Not staying in NH hotels any more”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

That makes two bad experiences with NH hotels in a row for me. I'm done now! The breakfast was just barely so-so. There is no restaurant in the hotel, the closest is about a 15 minute walk. It's dark, and as in the other NH hotel I stayed in recently, they pretend they're ecologically concerned while actually just saving money on terrible low-wattage bulbs. The staff are vaguely helpful, but when I tried to cash an American Express traveller's check I was brusquely told they don't cash them - no referral to a nearby bank or any other kind of help. In fact, the woman at the desk actually laughed at me when I complained. (I think she was a trainee, though, because she kept saying the manager was in a meeting, and going to check with him.) Difficult to get a large mug, or ice, or water out of them. No fans available because "we have air conditioning", which didn't work well enough to put out a breeze, let alone cold air. When I complained, I was told it was only an AC fan, and not for cold air. Just absurd. The entire chain is apparently going downhill. Be warned.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krashtest d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    182
    159
    43
    18
See reviews for
63
217
27
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

I'd stayed at NH brand hotels before and had a decent experience. Not here. Dark, dingy hotel, corridors resembling more a prison than a hotel, rooms were box-sized and not very comfortable. Staff were not very welcoming. In the morning we asked the porter if breakfast was included in the room tariff - he told us it was. The breakfast offering was fairly poor. At checkout the breakfast charge was 17 euros per person. Absolutely shameless and completely negated any value the room rate might have offered.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vietnamese_Whirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ghent hotels

Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

I had a brief one night stay here while meeting up with some friends in Gent. The room was large, extremely well furnished and clean, and definitely a cut above most chain hotels I've stayed in. Although I couldn't take advantage, the hotel offered the chance of a (free) late checkout on Sunday.

Probably the only thing that isn't ideal is that the location, like the railway station, is some way out of the centre. If you're arriving by train it's convenient for when you arrive and drop off your luggage, but there's still a 25 minute walk to the heart of the city. It's a pleasant enough route but if you're staying for longer you might start to get tired of it.

Room Tip: Ask about late checkout on Sundays
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AirMiles22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

I don't remember having such mixed feelings towards a hotel before.

CONTEXT: Business Trip extended for pleasure.

---- WHAT'S GOOD? ----

LOCATION: A nice and quiet 25 minute walk from Ghent attractions. 5 minutes from the train station, which allowed us anchor in Ghent, and visit Brugge and Brussels. One could also do day trips to Antwerp and the west coast. So the location is pretty good.

FOOD: Awesome breakfast buffet! We loved the breakfast here. (Eggs - bacon/sausage, cold cuts, vegetables, fresh croissants etc.. It's just great. There are only a few restaurants in the near vicinity. Downtown is the only place to go for a nice outing.

STAFF: The reception has been friendly. The staff is helpful. Some of them may come across a bit cold by north american standards if you are foreign to the Dutch/Flemish culture, but they have helped us with our needs.

---- WHAT'S ACCEPTABLE? ----

CLEANLINESS: Overall cleanliness is fine, but not what you would expect from a 4-star hotel. Accumulated dust under the bed and around.

ROOM: On the plus side, it's large with a proper work desk etc. But then two twin beds next to each other instead of a king just doesn't cut it. TV is 15 years old. I didn't even turn it on, but some might care.

----WHAT'S BAD?----

SERVICE: This place does not have automated wake-up calls, so they can slip. Our wake up call was 30 minutes late, without any warning that we had been late, nor apologies. We could have missed our train, and then the flight. It would have been a nightmare if we hadn't been careful to allow some extra time in the morning.

INTERNET: You have to pay per computer not per room! The speed is satisfactory on the economy package.

OVERALL: I gave this hotel 3 stars, because as much as I like the breakfast and the quiet, one simply cannot fail the basics. Get an automated wake-up call service. Provide better internet services. Such sloppy management would put you out of business in no time in US. If you are a professional business guy, beware! For casual business trips and sightseeing it's ok.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K-MACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
159 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

Business hotel, close to train station. 40-minute walk to city center, which has great churches, canals, restaurants. Tram also available, but difficult to figure out ticket machine. Doesn't include breakfast - pricey in hotel restaurant, but we grabbed breakfast in train station (nice station with good breakfast counter options). Not much nearby the hotel for restaurants. Modern, impersonal atmosphere in the hotel, but location was good for train access, and rooms were very large. WiFi free but only worked in lobby. Definitely a business hotel. Good weekend rates. Only 35 minutes by train into Brussels.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vannes, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

Don't be fooled by the hotel pictures: this is a fairly old building. Incredibly spacious room with a sofa and an office desk. Pretty well maintained. Great breakfast and nice staff. Location is not exactly central but the tram is right next door and as a result it's super quite. No restaurant, just a breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Totolebreton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

This is the perfect hotel is you are using Ghent as your home base while traveling to other cities in Belgium. We traveled to Brussels, Bruge and Antwerp, each 30-50 minutes from Ghent. The hotel is about 4 blocks from the train station, perfectly located in a quiet residential area. It's about a 15 minute local bus trip to the old city of Ghent. We booked a standard room and we were upgraded to a suite with a balcony. The rooms were large and comfortable. We opted for breakfast at an internet rate of 10 euros per person. The breakfast included everything you could want and then some and was excellent. The hotel is friendly and welcoming. There is a bar and store located in the lobby. I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
1.0 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.7 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
1.1 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Gent Sint Pieters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Gent Sint Pieters

Property: NH Gent Sint Pieters
Address: Koning Albertlaan 121, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ghent
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Gent Sint Pieters 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star NH Gent Sint Pieters hotel is located in a charming residential section of Ghent close to the railway station. The historical center of the city can be reached easily on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, NHHotels, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Gent Sint Pieters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Gent Sint Pieters Hotel Ghent
Nh Hotels Ghent
Nh Gent Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing