We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel for city trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
NH Gent Sint Pieters
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
GreenLeadersSilver level
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for city trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

This hotel is not in the center of Gent but nearby City parking. Hotel has its own private parking in dead-end street behind hotel (not clearly announced). Rooms are large / spacy and comfortable. Breakfast is very good with special breakfast for children. Our hotelroom looks recently renovated.
Employees very friendly and helpfull. Free citymap of Gent available at reception desk.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated room (maybe all are renovated meanwhile). We spend a weekend in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterWg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    182
    159
    43
    18
See reviews for
63
217
27
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

Spent here one night, unexpected and unplanned. I was charged 80 Euros for a large room with an old and used interior. Everything worked, but some refurbishments are very welcome. Small bed for a couple, old bath room, old tv.
Service was ok though

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

The building looks good from the outside and the first impression of the lobby was good as well. Unfortunately this nice impression ends as soon as you head to the elevator: it is old and slow. The corridors where a bit narrow and looked old as well.

The rooms were ok. Clean bathroom, not too big but ok. Old tv, but I guess you don't come here to watch tv. Enough space to throw some clothes around, a table with two comfortable chairs. BUT the bed was not really great.. Mattress was ok for one night and would have been ok for another night, but definitely not more. One of the less comfortables ones I have had over the years. Furthermore, the bed was on wheels and the breaks didn't work. So when I felt the need to watch some tv in bed and sat with my back against the backrest (is that the correct word for a bed?), I found myself driving the bed towards the tv. Maybe I should have watched Top Gear.

The staff was friendly. Our key didn't work at first, so we went back to the reception, tried again and went back to reception.. again. And once more it didn't work and we went back. Eventually we got another room. Staff did a good job as I think there was something wrong with the electronics and we got the other room within a few minutes. Afterwards they showed us the way through the city (they have small maps). Location itself is ok, but you'll have to walk a bit to get to the historic center (or take the tram).

Had no breakfast as it was rather expensive. Seems a lot of hotels have quiet expensive breakfast rates these days, bothers me a bit.

Anyways, the hotel is ok for a city trip, not more, not less.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

We booked this hotel via nhhotels.com at a very good rate! It’s located at walking distance from Gent Train station. The front desk employees were friendly and helpful as they gave as a map of Gent and they explained as were to go around, also you can buy tram tickets to go to the center. The room was large, clean and provides excellent sleeping quality (very good mattress and quiet neighborhood).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navigator33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

We booked this hotel on Hotel.com at a very good rate; located at walking distance from Gent Train station.
Good rooms, clean and good location.
The staff was attentive and the breakfast buffet exceptional.
TIP – The Hotel offers bikes for rent (9EUR a day), the best way to go around the town and surrounding Countryside. Lovely!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GioMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
1,176 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 682 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

As I said, is a great place if Ghent is your base for a trip, specially to Brugge. Its very close to the Central Station and pretty much nothing else. The tram that passes just in front of the hotel would take you to the center but after a long time and Its just simply better to take a walk (around 35 minutes) or walk back to the station and take the red tram.
The hotel was nice and practical although the staff was not very helpful. There was not a computer available to use and for a chain hotel that kind of low. But the wireless internet was pretty solid. They just need to have a practical sheet to guide guest around the city as a big chain hotel would do. After all, a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMartinSDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We've stayed a few times at both nh hotels in Gent: this one by the main station, and its sister the Belfort in the city centre. This is by far the quieter, and conveniently placed near the mainline station, so if you are planning on touring around, this is probably the better option. Having said that, if you are looking for a lively hotel and a nice restaurant on site, this won't suit you. You can have breakfast here, and a drink in the evening if you would like, but there is no real place to socialise.

The rooms are spacious and elegantly decorated. We had a superior room on the first floor which came with a good sized seating area, and all the desk space a woman and her untidy husband could need... We've previously stayed in both the suites on this same floor, and both come recommended, the Mozart perhaps more so for its fab bathroom.

The service here friendly and helpful, which why we come back here more often than to the more efficient but less charming nh Belfort in the city centre. A footnote for anyone needing a gluten-free diet; gluten free breads are available for breakfast here: a pleasant and unexpected surprise.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the hotel are quieter with no noise from passing trams.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyberryUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
1.0 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.7 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
1.1 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Gent Sint Pieters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Gent Sint Pieters

Property: NH Gent Sint Pieters
Address: Koning Albertlaan 121, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ghent
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Gent Sint Pieters 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star NH Gent Sint Pieters hotel is located in a charming residential section of Ghent close to the railway station. The historical center of the city can be reached easily on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, NHHotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Gent Sint Pieters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Gent Sint Pieters Hotel Ghent
Nh Hotels Ghent
Nh Gent Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing