We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (608)
Filter reviews
608 results
Traveller rating
91
221
198
67
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
221
198
67
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationcity centreminute walkmain stationchain hotellarge roomhotel is locatedbooked this hotelold townbars and restaurantsshort staygentbrugespieterbelgiumclosetproximity
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 608 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Booked via booking.com and having stayed at NH hotels before, we were expecting a slightly fresher decor and furnishings than there is. Our first room was tiny with mould on the bathroom ceiling but a quick trip to reception saw us moved to a better cleaner room,although the bathroom was old and tired it was serviceable and clean. Beds were really uncomfortable unfortunately but there is a kettle and fridge in each room with tea bags and coffee. However, there is no milk!!!!
Breakfast was a poor show from what we are used to from previous NH stays, poor choice of hot food, limited pastries and old, stained chairs which have seen better days. Also the hotel does not serve an evening menu so if you don't fancy a trip back into ghent in the evening, you'll need to walk down to the station or next door is a nice little Italian/pizza restaurant.
All in all, for us this hotel was not up to the usual standard we are used to from this group and,although staff were thorough and the room was clean, the hotel overall is tired and could do with a good spring clean.

Room Tip: Book a superior because the standard rooms are somewhat lacking
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

This hotel is clean welcoming quiet all day and just the ticket for connecting to the airport. The staff werer really helpful to me for printing boarding pass and other arrangements. However 20 Euro for Breakfast is a bit steep. Maybe bring your own or walk to the shops.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank GCM0455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

I have seen other reviews saying this was a dark old place reminding them of the 50s... I found it very comfortable and seemed quite modern though I could tell the bathroom was "tired" and in need of refurbishment. Breakfast was lovely having a good selection. It was close to St Pieters station which was convenient for me and the next day I was fine with the 20mins walk to the city centre. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LondonEmpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We were booked into this hotel by a client and were really disappointed. The hotel is a good 20 years beyond a refurbishment. It might be good as a film set for a 1950s movie, but as a place to stay it is dark, dirty and not very comfortable. I'd give it a miss if you Can!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a 2 night stay early September mid-week.

Service was brilliant, very friendly and informative.

The doors to the bedrooms looked like freezer doors. It was very odd. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable.

It was good value for money but in terms of location it was a 20 minute walk to the centre. Not bad if you like walks like is but can be a bit of a clart on when you want to get back to the room to change for night time. We ended up going out and staying out all day. There's no real dress code in gent so that was cool.

There was hotel parking at a cost of 9 euros a day, there is no free parking anywhere in gent apparently and parking on the street you have to renew every 4 hours. Hotel parking appears to be the best option.

Rooms include baths, shower, safe.

If we were to return we would more than likely stay somewhere a little closer to the centre as said earlier however this hotel was clean, good service and value for money if you don't mind being slightly out.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews