We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Fine Arts Museum (Museum voor Schone Kunsten)
Ranked #9 of 175 things to do in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I visited mainly to see the restoration work in progress and then had an enjoyable time browsing through the various rooms. I particularly liked the sculptures. It's in a beautiful building too. Only thing that spoiled a great visit was the restaurant, I was put in a 'lobby' area for my coffee and cake as I dared to expect coffee, not food, at 11.15. No problem until I sat and saw how grubby it all appeared. Good coffee but surly service. When I paid I asked why I'd been put there as others went straight to the restaurant, the attitude was I should go somewhere else in future. Fortunately the art made up for this experience though it soured the day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Supergranbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    125
    37
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston MA
Level Contributor
585 reviews
200 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“More than expected”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Nice collection. Many masters and lots of Flemish selections. Interesting museum set up of circular form - don't miss a room.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tournai, Belgium
Level Contributor
371 reviews
190 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Flemish Art Delight”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Great museum for a great city. The museum is specially strong in flemish art from the XVI and XVII centuries. You can see the museum in one morning or afternoon. They also have contemporaneous art but I found this part weak with few hightlights. The sculpture section in really good, with a controversial plaster copy of "The human passion" from Jef Lambeaux which will remind you the movie "The Devil's advocate". Definitively it is worth to spend sometime here and I recommend to purchase the audioguide which will guide you without overwhelming you with many details.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Beto79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest of Dean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nothing took my fancy”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Much of the art here is from the same period, I waked round with friends but wasn't moved by anything in particular.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TOGsNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
108 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Interesting museum with old paintings”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Large rooms with lots of paintings and sculptures by Dutch, Flemish and French artists. Also interesting is the restauration of parts of 'the adoration of the mystic lamb' by Hubert and Jan van Eyck.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fine Arts Museum (Museum voor Schone Kunsten) also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Fine Arts Museum (Museum voor Schone Kunsten)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing