We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“King's Breakfast - Bongo Event Day drummed out of court more like”

Brasserie 't Stropke
Ranked #709 of 869 Restaurants in Ghent
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
NEWPORT, UK
Level Contributor
177 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“King's Breakfast - Bongo Event Day drummed out of court more like”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

we were given an "experience" voucher for a Kings breakfast with champagne and all the trimmings... Book by phone and you must reserve it says or else your magical experience will be spoilt...
It was not their fault that the weather was bad, but parking is expensive and we put 5 euro in to the meter to make sure we had enough... No one ever phoned back nor answered email, to the reservation so we were ready to be dumped. what we did not expect is a production line where every table was a Kings breakfast. No one checked whether we had reserved, we were give a crummy table high up and right by a top access to a stair case that no health and Safety inspectorate would allow. from the moment we sat down we had to vie for attention for everything and several items on the menu just didn't arrive. After about 10 min of trying to catch someones eye one waiter rushed by and said we are every busy you know.... by that time we'd been there nearly 2 hrs and to be frank i was still starving ! Anyway we had enough of being treated like peasants (maybe the staff were KING here?) and walked out. The food itself was mediocre anyway. We took the matter up with BONGO but they were less than keen to listen to any complaints and we refused a derisory % refund which would actually mean we'd have to put up more money to get anything useful from it. My wife bought me a Big Mac and my tummy was satisfied and we enjoyed the rest of the day. ironically this place is opposite the Museum of Torture.... how appropriate

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeWNewport_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    30
    7
    16
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“worst restaurant of our entire time in Ghent”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Very slow service, and it wasn't that busy. The server seemed bored and indifferent to the clients. The vegetable lasagna had very few vegetables, and consisted of tough pasta with a sauce that tasted like canned ravioli. My husband had carpaccio which was dry and tasteless. Neither meal tasted fresh. No bread was served with the meal. The prices were high. Very disappointing meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank k l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Very friendly service and great mosselen!”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

A positive mention in an online blog led us to this restaurant - we might otherwise have been scared off by the location, as it's very centrally located and at first glance might appear to be just for the tourists.
We were lucky to have a very friendly English speaking waiter, who helped us out with the menu and the specialties.
We'd had a lovely lunch at a local's restaurant recommended by our b'n'b host (restaurant Ter Burg, in Burgstraat) so we didn't need starters, but for mains, there was no choice for my husband and I, as moules-frites (or mosselen and frietjes) were high on our list of must-eats on this visit (our first) to Belgium. They were delicious, and a very generous serve (fortunately, as the prices weren't low). My husband chose the white wine variety, and I chose the garlic cream version (lookroom). Partnered with very good frietjes and mayonnaise.
Our daughters enjoyed their steak and duck meals (again, huge portions), as well as their wafels. Too full to order dessert, I managed to talk the girls into parting with a forkful of wafel, and I've never had waffles like this outside of Belgium! Light, airy, crisp on the outside, and soft rather than chewy on the inside.
Recommended, for a fun, casual dining experience in Ghent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank heggos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The food was of a very good standard and a reasonable price. The staff were excellent - friendly and helpful, especially when discussing how a steak should be cooked.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank discerning_visitor42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zevergem
1 review
“cosy and tasty food”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

this is a restaurant on a perfect location, you would think it's a tourist trap.
But nothing like that, great food, cosy atmosphere and cheerfull waiters.
Shortly, its a must been place in Ghent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DIETERGZEV01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie 't Stropke also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Brasserie 't Stropke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing