We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Cour St. Georges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cour St. Georges
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A good hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We recently stayed at the Best Western Hotel Cour St Georges for two nights.
The hotel was in an excellent spot right next to the Old Town Hall and very close to all the main sights of historical Ghent.
Our room rate included breakfast - the breakfast was very good with cereals, bread, croissants as well as bacon & scrambled eggs plus the usual choice of teas, coffee & fruit juice.
Staff were friendly & helpful.
There was a garage area opposite the hotel with parking charged at €15 per night.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit the historical areas of Ghent.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mainswiring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    48
    63
    35
    22
See reviews for
20
93
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford,
Level Contributor
129 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

As many reviewers have pointed out, this is a cramped, hot, run-down hole which really does a disservice to the name Best Western. Although perhaps that is being a little generous. The location doesn't really make up for its general tawdriness. Needs total renovation, but the space is too small to do much with it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfessorCalculus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ghent hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

The hotel was scruffy, the rooms were poor, not as advertised on the website. The dining room, (breakfast only/0 had crumbling wallpaper right next to the tables we had to eat at. the lift was old and dangerous. a budget bed and breakfast place. the only good thing was the location very central for exploring Gent but certainly not a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: we did not see any good rooms we booked superior rooms and they were very poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

Avoid at any cost rooms facing street because of noise! Our first night we only got 3-4 hours sleep. The windows are thin and we heard conversations and traffic into the wee hours. The first room, 55, also had a dangerous half step between bathroom and bed. We were given two dysfunctional codes for using the internet before we finally got one that worked, wasting time we would have preferred using for sightseeing. The second night we got a room towards the back (14) and were much happier, although that meant not having a bathtub. The hotel had few guests when we were there, but the asst manager insisted that no room would be available until 3PM the first day; didn't understand why that had to be "policy". The young man at the desk the next day was much more helpful, and for that we were most grateful. The walls of the breakfast room are in dire need of restoration (many large holes). Overall, a very disappointing hotel stay in a wonderful city.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovebelizeanyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maaseik, Belgium
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

The room was smelling and noisy. The bathroom was too small had leaking wash tubs and the water temperature of the douche went to cold when opening another tap in our bathroom or another badroom. The plug from the bath was missing so we could only take a shower.
The internet corner was not working.
The breakfast was moderate.
The only positive was the location in the centre of the town.
Way too expensive and should not be part of a corporation like Best Western from which one would expect quality hotels.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John3000_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

Advertising is deceiving on this one - wireless internet only worked in the dining room; rooms vary greatly without explanation. I had a colleague pay for a superior room while we paid for basic room but colleague got the super small room while we got the larger/better room - this was embarrassing as the management indicated it was luck of the draw. Staff smoke freely in doors which is very stinky and apparently illegal. One Service provider there was excellent - "Chris" will do well in his future career in tourism. Daily cleaning routine was quite inconsistent. Food was adequate at best - not worth the extra daily charge. I'm sure there are better deals to be had. Oh - forgot to mention the very large 2" spider greeting me on the bed upon arrival - - the first night was therefore fitful but no further sightings.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abbytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen NH, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

Room was incredibly small, extremely hot. If you tried to open the window, facing a wall 2 meters away, you would have a concentrated sample of Ghent’s sewage and keep wondering for the rest of the night what these people eat.
Staff are friendly, deserve to work at a better hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roberto0553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade
0.1 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Erasmus
Erasmus
#17 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Flandre
Hotel de Flandre
#21 of 37 in Ghent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.0 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Cour St. Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Cour St. Georges

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Cour St. Georges
Address: Hoogpoort 75 - 77 Botermarkt 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Cour St. Georges 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Hotel incorporating Historic Building dating from 1228, which now houses Restaurant & Registration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Cour St. Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Ghent
Ghent Best Western
Best Western Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing