We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit, understand criticism better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Residence Cour Saint Georges
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Second visit, understand criticism better”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

After a very positive stay in February (see earlier review) I returned to Gent and the Cour St. Georges last week.

Everything I wrote about perfect location and good service remains valid, but I begin to understand some of the criticism levelled at the rooms. Last time I had a room on the 1st floor above the entrance and was very happy with it. This time I had room #2 on the ground floor at the back. On paper it should have been a better room, slightly larger with a bath instead of a shower, and a private balcony outside.

Unfortunately it was hellishly hot - despite very average (+-19C) temperatures outside. The central heating radiators weren't to blame, it was actually a section of wall that was almost painfully hot to the touch. Apparently the hot water plumbing was completely uninsulated there. Thoughtful staff had placed a large fan next to the bed, and with open windows, a single sheet and the fan at full blast I had a pleasant night - but I dread to think what a really hot night would have been like.

Also the bathroom looked luxurious with marble and chrome everywhere, but the hose connecting the tap to the shower head over the bath was too short, so I couldn't have the shower at full height. As I'm fairly tall, that meant having to bend over to get completely covered.

In the end I still had an OK stay, but I'm much less lyrical than I was last time. Advice is to keep away from rooms at the back on the left. It's stil a nice hotel, but your mileage may vary dramatically depending on the room. Bigger isn't necessarily better.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the rear on the left. At the front seems a better choice even if potentially noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dion_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    50
    68
    38
    23
See reviews for
21
100
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
276 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed here for one night in June. It was a last minute booking but we were very satisfied with everything from the friendly staff to the excellent breakfast buffet.
We got a great room, overlooking the street and another old building. The room was clean, spacious and the bed was comfortable.
You can park your bike across the street but use several locks as there are a lot of bike thefts in the town.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann-Christin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallarate, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

it's a quite old hotel but the personal is really friendly. The only good thing is that is close to the center. I dont think this hotel is good for businnes trip, maybe it's better for romantic weekend. The breakfast is too much poor.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The room was very spacious the bed was really good. Staff was perfect, always ready to help. Located right in the middle of Ghent. However, the room in the ground floor is right in front of the maids room. On the morning they talk outside the room and make a lot of noise.

Room Tip: The room in the ground floor is right in front of the maids room. On the morning they talk outside t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julianowick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Arrival and check in was quick and efficient, private parking opposite the hotel was very welcome. Room was good and had all we needed for our two night stay, however, remember to take a travel kettle, mugs, coffee etc as like most hotels on the Continent these are not provided as standard. If you forget, there is a great little shop close by where you can buy these items. Don't expect to find an English news chanel on the TV, although some programmes had English sub titles. Location is excellent and everywhere in Ghent can be walked to easily. Breakfast was good and all tastes seemd to be catered for. Staff were friendly, respectful and courteous and responded quickly to requests for more loo roll!! We would definately return to this historical hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel and had double doors leading out onto a fire escape which we a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whittlesf0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I'll start with the good...the staff was really helpful and nice. They were consistently friendly and knew the area. They were a true asset and generally enhanced our experience. The location is also excellent. It's in the middle of the historic district and is an easy walk to the tram and several other interesting locations.

The breakfast is alright. It is far from the best we've had, but it's decent.

And the bad...

Our room was super hot. Like hit in the face with the heat hot. Like open the windows and doors to 45F temperatures hot. Like sweltering hot. We were told that there was no heat in the room, so our bet is that it comes from other places in the hotel and is a result of being an old building. We also smelled a ton of smoke even though the rooms were supposedly non-smoking. Oh, and needing to keep the doors and windows open (with no screens) meant that we're covered in mosquito bites.

If the room was temperate and didn't stink of smoke a fair chunk of the time, this could likely be a 4 rating and certainly at least a 3, but the room was really rough and I'm not sure what could be done about that.

Room Tip: Avoid room 2 until they do something about the heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpgecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ghent hotels

frederick, maryland
Level Contributor
669 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 549 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This hotel was very satisfactory and cost effective; the rooms were comfortable and had character (I was in the wing with rooms named after composers rather than room numbers). A nice breakfast was offered for an additional 8 euros/day. There is a small outdoor patio in the middle of the hotel for breakfast and relaxation on nice days. There was no gym facility. The staff went out of their way to get and provide information for their guests on any local activities (the local swimming pool, restaurant recommendations, cathedral, location of the post office, train schedules, taxi arrangements, etc.). The hotel is centrally located on the street directly behind the three medieval towers of the cathedral, church and the belfry. I enjoyed my stay in this hotel but I was inspired just by being in Gent and surrounded by history and Flemish culture; I probably would have been satisfied any standard lodging.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fred200099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
1.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Chamade
0.1 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Erasmus
Erasmus
#21 of 37 in Ghent
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Residence Cour Saint Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Residence Cour Saint Georges

Property: Best Western Residence Cour Saint Georges
Address: Hoogpoort 75 - 77, Ghent 9000, Belgium (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Cour St. Georges)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Residence Cour Saint Georges 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Hotel incorporating Historic Building dating from 1228, which now houses Restaurant & Registration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Residence Cour Saint Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Ghent
Ghent Best Western
Best Western Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing