We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location, but not worth 90 Eur, for rubbish wifi, non functional shower and more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Residence Cour Saint Georges
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
HK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, but not worth 90 Eur, for rubbish wifi, non functional shower and more”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Other than the location and good rooms, this place leaves a lot to be desired. For the price i paid ( 90 Eur/ night) i expect them to have some basic amenities in place. Julian and Jonathan are helpful, but it stops at that.
A day before arriving i emailed them asking for directions to reach the hotel, and till date i havent received a response. The showers poured out like lukewarm water despite of asking them to get it checked. The wifi signal was so poor that i would sit near the lobby to check my mails.
For such a strong brand name I was shocked that they didnt even keep adapters, as mine didnt fit in their socket. Even more shocking was that we had to borrow one from the neighbouring NH Belfort hotel, who kindly lent me one. Least they could have done was make arrangements the next day but alas...
Yes, the room was spacious, I had an attached balcony, and yes the bathroom was spacious too, but wouldnt you expect more for that price? Stay at the Novotel next door, you are not missing much, Ghent is beautiful, an overpriced hotel for a substandard infrastructure and average hospitality

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eve18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    50
    64
    38
    22
See reviews for
21
97
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Great location just around the corner from the Hotel de Ville and the cathedral and a short walk to the canalside restaurants. Reception staff were helpful and check-in was efficient. There's chargeable hotel parking across the road which was a great benefit. The room was standard in size with a fan to deal with the heat of the day, but the bathroom was huge with a tiny shower off it. Better use could maybe have been made of the space. The breakfast buffet was limited, great that it was available until 11.30 but even more limited items as you approached that time. The breakfast room has interesting old silk wallpaper but service there could have been a bit more friendly. Overall, nothing to complain about or really to rave about. Just a standard stay in a very convenient location. We did mention that the tea tray had not been re-filled or teacups washed for our second night but that was a minor iritation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

A great location to see the sights in Ghent. The staff is professional and attentive. Benjamin was extremely helpful during my five day stay. He provided my colleagues and me with maps and walking directions, he summoned taxis, kept all breakfast items stocked, and gave us advice so that we could make the most of our visit to Ghent.

Room Tip: Away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lage Zwaluwe, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
184 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I had a room on the first floor at the big which was really spacious, a big surprise when have to pass a cramped lobby and take your luggage through the breakfast room. Breakfast itself wasn't particularly special, not to much choice and ver tight seating arrangement. Also some parts of the hotel may need some touch up to get it to current standards. But at the end, you are in the city centre for a good price.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We spent a night there during the recent music festival. It is an excellent hotel and is well located for excursions into the centre of the Old Town. Beware the lift though - it only takes 2 people at a time so if you're not prepared to walk, getting up and down can take time. The breakfast room is a little crowded / intimate but the breakfast, whilst typically continental, was good. The family room on the top floor (sleeps 3/4) is good value and very roomy. Pre-arrange parking in their garage across the road as otherwise parking could be problematic.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanA147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

the location is perfect, the service is excellent, the breakfast is good but the Hotel is in urgent need of renovation. It is just dated and it shows! We were lucky that temperatures were only around 20C - if it gets warmer the rooms will be sticky anh hot...

Also - for the state of the Hotel the prices are not justifiable

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

After a very positive stay in February (see earlier review) I returned to Gent and the Cour St. Georges last week.

Everything I wrote about perfect location and good service remains valid, but I begin to understand some of the criticism levelled at the rooms. Last time I had a room on the 1st floor above the entrance and was very happy with it. This time I had room #2 on the ground floor at the back. On paper it should have been a better room, slightly larger with a bath instead of a shower, and a private balcony outside.

Unfortunately it was hellishly hot - despite very average (+-19C) temperatures outside. The central heating radiators weren't to blame, it was actually a section of wall that was almost painfully hot to the touch. Apparently the hot water plumbing was completely uninsulated there. Thoughtful staff had placed a large fan next to the bed, and with open windows, a single sheet and the fan at full blast I had a pleasant night - but I dread to think what a really hot night would have been like.

Also the bathroom looked luxurious with marble and chrome everywhere, but the hose connecting the tap to the shower head over the bath was too short, so I couldn't have the shower at full height. As I'm fairly tall, that meant having to bend over to get completely covered.

In the end I still had an OK stay, but I'm much less lyrical than I was last time. Advice is to keep away from rooms at the back on the left. It's stil a nice hotel, but your mileage may vary dramatically depending on the room. Bigger isn't necessarily better.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the rear on the left. At the front seems a better choice even if potentially noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dion_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
1.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Chamade
0.4 mi away
Erasmus
Erasmus
#18 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.0 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Residence Cour Saint Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Residence Cour Saint Georges

Property: Best Western Residence Cour Saint Georges
Address: Hoogpoort 75 - 77, Ghent 9000, Belgium (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Cour St. Georges)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Residence Cour Saint Georges 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Hotel incorporating Historic Building dating from 1228, which now houses Restaurant & Registration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Residence Cour Saint Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Ghent
Ghent Best Western
Best Western Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing