We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Residence Cour Saint Georges
Nearby Hotels
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
27
59
81
45
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
59
81
45
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationlots of hot waterclean hotelprivate parkingcontinental breakfastcomfortable roomstop floormaintenancekettleeuro
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Having stayed at the hotel for one night in September 2013, sadly I would not recommend it to anybody. As a last minute change of plan saw us in Ghent, we had hoped to stay at the Marriott Hotel but chose this hotel after being told there was no availability at our first choice.

The hotel is excellently located in the centre of Ghent and is situated in what could be a very pleasant old building. The staff are very helpful and polite but that is the only positive aspect we encountered. The lack of a lift can be overlooked due to the age and type of building but what can not be excused is the old-fashioned decor throughout. The whole place was in desperate need of renovation, from the hallways and stairs to the rooms themselves.

We had paid extra for an executive room but this fell way short of our expectations and we felt we had paid well over the odds. The room was large and clean but again was very tired and in desperate need of renovation. The 'double' bed was 2 very soft single beds pushed together and the somewhat creepy clown painting staring at you on the wall did not create a good impression.

Having seen where breakfast would be served downstairs (a small, cramped room which we had to walk through every time we wanted to go in or out of the hotel), we opted not to bother and ate in the city centre. This could be a very nice boutique style hotel with some investment but beyond the great staff and location, it remains a vastly overpriced and out-dated option that is best avoided.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Great location in the heart of Ghent. Attraction and food options abound with very little walking. Parking across the street for a fee (18 euros/day) but price of convenience. Friendly staff willing to give recommendations and advise. Wi-fi was available and free but very slow. The room had a decent amount of space but ours was located on the ground floor. I know that no one was being recklessly loud but preparing breakfast makes noise as did the adjacent coming and going from the patio to smoke throughout the night. For others looking at the area, I would also compare to the Novotel and NH hotels that are nearby in terms of price and amenities.

Room Tip: recommend avoiding downstairs near the eating area.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wandering_Outlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Other than the location and good rooms, this place leaves a lot to be desired. For the price i paid ( 90 Eur/ night) i expect them to have some basic amenities in place. Julian and Jonathan are helpful, but it stops at that.
A day before arriving i emailed them asking for directions to reach the hotel, and till date i havent received a response. The showers poured out like lukewarm water despite of asking them to get it checked. The wifi signal was so poor that i would sit near the lobby to check my mails.
For such a strong brand name I was shocked that they didnt even keep adapters, as mine didnt fit in their socket. Even more shocking was that we had to borrow one from the neighbouring NH Belfort hotel, who kindly lent me one. Least they could have done was make arrangements the next day but alas...
Yes, the room was spacious, I had an attached balcony, and yes the bathroom was spacious too, but wouldnt you expect more for that price? Stay at the Novotel next door, you are not missing much, Ghent is beautiful, an overpriced hotel for a substandard infrastructure and average hospitality

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eve18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Great location just around the corner from the Hotel de Ville and the cathedral and a short walk to the canalside restaurants. Reception staff were helpful and check-in was efficient. There's chargeable hotel parking across the road which was a great benefit. The room was standard in size with a fan to deal with the heat of the day, but the bathroom was huge with a tiny shower off it. Better use could maybe have been made of the space. The breakfast buffet was limited, great that it was available until 11.30 but even more limited items as you approached that time. The breakfast room has interesting old silk wallpaper but service there could have been a bit more friendly. Overall, nothing to complain about or really to rave about. Just a standard stay in a very convenient location. We did mention that the tea tray had not been re-filled or teacups washed for our second night but that was a minor iritation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

A great location to see the sights in Ghent. The staff is professional and attentive. Benjamin was extremely helpful during my five day stay. He provided my colleagues and me with maps and walking directions, he summoned taxis, kept all breakfast items stocked, and gave us advice so that we could make the most of our visit to Ghent.

Room Tip: Away from the street.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews