We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A personal hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Erasmus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Erasmus
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A personal hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a couple of days on a business trip. The staff were very helpful and relaxed. I had a small single room with the window overlooking interior airshaft so the view was not very exciting, but I did not really miss that. The room was clean. The closet for my clothes was a bit worn down. I was a bit disappointed that Wifi was not free. As the weather was bad, I spent more time working in the room than usual - this did not cause problems with the cleaning personnel. Breakfast was in a nice room with view on the garden. Location is great - very close to historic centre and a 20 minute stiff walk from Ghent-Sint-Pieters train station. A very charming hotel indeed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henri8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    66
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
60
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Superb choice if you like character, atmosphere and individuality; not for those who prefer an anodyne chain hotel experience. Almost more like staying as a guest in a medieval private house. Room very comfortable and all facilities but bedposts and canopy felt as though you were stepping back in time - a bit like the whole hotel really, but in a very good way. Breakfast ok rather than excellent, but superb location with all Ghent sites easily walkable. My friends were in 5* luxury further up the street, but there is no doubt that I had had the better deal.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kessel-Lo
Level Contributor
178 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

This is not your classic hotel with sparkling bathroom, elevators and 24hr room- or barservice...but it is one of the most authentic, human and charming hotels I know. Located in the heart of Gent, close to the Graslei, the Gravensteen and the towers of Gent, and nothing beats a nightly walk from here over the leien to the towers of gent. Absolutely charming rooms that have character and are comfortable though maybe a bit old, but every single one has its own atmosphere and personality. The suite, Nr12, is one of the most cosy and charming rooms i ever slept in. Good breakfast in a very nice room and the house itself is medieval and very well restaured. No elevator though, so not for the old or infirm, and there is no nightporter. High Harry Potter feeling somehow.

Room Tip: N012 is a stunner for couples !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RickKessel_Lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

The good: Location; friendly staff; charming furnishings; clean.
The bad: Warn out; uncomfortable beds; old towels, blankets and bedding; no room service; no safe in the room.
The ugly: No staff on premises in the evening, during the night, and early morning--if you need anything, you are out of luck.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller871991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

This is a lovely hotel, in a great location, with very friendly and helpful hosts. Super breakfasts, excellent shower (hot water a bit slow appearing), roomy and comfortable, friendly cat in the garden with its charming miniature maze. We stayed in room 2. A couple of gripes. Decor in the room, pictures, ornaments pretty ghastly. The TV showed only local stations, nothing in English, no BBC or CNN. Perhaps a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east yorkshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Although appears a little tired in decor -the rooms and bathrooms are large -and appeared spotlessly clean during our stay-didn't see the cobwebs etc noted in some other reviews
It is an old townhouse decorated with dark traditional furniture.
The dining room was lovely-with views over the garden. Breakfast was plentiful-nice to have some fresh fruit amongst the traditional continental breakfast options.
The staff were friendly and courteous.
i think this hotel is very good value for it's location and facilities provided.It is not a sterile modern hotel -all the better for this!
The nearby multi-storey carpark was also good value for a 24 hour stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor if you have mobility problems as the stairs are quite steep -there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastYorkshireCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed at Hotel Erasmus for four nights. Our rooms were a little dingy and could really benefit from some re-decoration but were clean and comfortable. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and as there is no lift we were helped upstairs with our luggage. Breakfast was included in the price and was varied and plentiful. Wifi cost us 5 euros per room for our entire stay which we felt wasn't too bad. There was no parking at the hotel but there is a multi-storey car park about 5 minutes walk away and which costs 10 euros for 24 hours. A kettle with tea and coffee was provided in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargB063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.1 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erasmus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erasmus

Property: Erasmus
Address: Poel 25, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Erasmus 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Erasmus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erasmus Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing