We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric”
Review of Erasmus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Erasmus
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Writing a hotel review is normally straightforward but the Erasmus is anything but typical. It is like an eccentric aunt whose numerous faults are overshadowed by her charm. The place screams out for refurbishment yet you don't want to change a thing. It has a delightful rear garden yet it is inaccessible. The advert picture suggest a bordering river yet it is a street away from any water... and so the contradictions continue.

Room Tip: Room 2 is spacious, quiet with a wonderful view over the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cead_Mile_Failte_Ire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

I guess I'm not quite sure what to make of this hotel. The building was put up in 1693 and it is ideally located in the middle of the old town. My room overlooked the garden and was very quiet. The room was clean, check in friendly and efficient. There was plenty of food to eat at the self-serve breakfast buffet.
On the down side, it does need a bit of work - the TV was ancient and the choice of stations is limited, with not many in English. Whilst I'm all for saving electricity etc, I found the lighting situation very disappointing - with 2 bedside lamps on, I still did not have enough light to read in bed.
But its such an interesting building, I could possibly see myself staying there again, but a few things would need to improve.

Room Tip: The hotel will generally try to meet your request for a particular room and I can suggest if you lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mordeegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I have put my mother (75 yo) in this hotel after the Leonard Cohen Concert in Ghent. Do no expect a modern hotel, But if you like to feel the mood and the atmosphere of an old town house this is a perfect hotel. There are hardly better locations in Ghent than the "Poel". You are IN the historical center and you have a quiet street. It is a 1 minute walk to one ofthe ost beautiful sites in the world: Graslei/Korenlei.The manager lives behind the hotel and he and the staff take good care of the guests. I just love the dining room with the knights and the garden with the cats. Here you need the room to sleep and to refresh. Spend the rest of your time in my beautiful city...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a couple of days on a business trip. The staff were very helpful and relaxed. I had a small single room with the window overlooking interior airshaft so the view was not very exciting, but I did not really miss that. The room was clean. The closet for my clothes was a bit worn down. I was a bit disappointed that Wifi was not free. As the weather was bad, I spent more time working in the room than usual - this did not cause problems with the cleaning personnel. Breakfast was in a nice room with view on the garden. Location is great - very close to historic centre and a 20 minute stiff walk from Ghent-Sint-Pieters train station. A very charming hotel indeed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henri8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Superb choice if you like character, atmosphere and individuality; not for those who prefer an anodyne chain hotel experience. Almost more like staying as a guest in a medieval private house. Room very comfortable and all facilities but bedposts and canopy felt as though you were stepping back in time - a bit like the whole hotel really, but in a very good way. Breakfast ok rather than excellent, but superb location with all Ghent sites easily walkable. My friends were in 5* luxury further up the street, but there is no doubt that I had had the better deal.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

This is not your classic hotel with sparkling bathroom, elevators and 24hr room- or barservice...but it is one of the most authentic, human and charming hotels I know. Located in the heart of Gent, close to the Graslei, the Gravensteen and the towers of Gent, and nothing beats a nightly walk from here over the leien to the towers of gent. Absolutely charming rooms that have character and are comfortable though maybe a bit old, but every single one has its own atmosphere and personality. The suite, Nr12, is one of the most cosy and charming rooms i ever slept in. Good breakfast in a very nice room and the house itself is medieval and very well restaured. No elevator though, so not for the old or infirm, and there is no nightporter. High Harry Potter feeling somehow.

Room Tip: N012 is a stunner for couples !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickKessel_Lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

The good: Location; friendly staff; charming furnishings; clean.
The bad: Warn out; uncomfortable beds; old towels, blankets and bedding; no room service; no safe in the room.
The ugly: No staff on premises in the evening, during the night, and early morning--if you need anything, you are out of luck.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller871991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 39 in Ghent
1,042 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Onderbergen
Hotel Onderbergen
#13 of 39 in Ghent
356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 39 in Ghent
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Chamade
0.5 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erasmus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erasmus

Address: Poel 25, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: £69 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Erasmus 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Erasmus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erasmus Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing