We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Poortackere Monasterium Hotel
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Good cental location. Charicter by the bucket load. plenty of parking also avalible ( unusal for city locations ) had breakfast in the garden which was very nice. but like other people have said 17.50 euro is on the expensive side. But that is the only down side. would deffinatly stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stid4565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

One of those hotels that it's great to visit, because it's so different. Wonderful building, dining room was amazing, but because it was so warm, breakfast was served In the garden, which was great too. Nearly gave it 5 stars, but breakfast, while very good and generous was very expensive at €17.50 each. Room was spacious but in keeping with the rest of the hotel was quaint rather than modern and slick. Close to the centre of historic Ghent - everything was within walking distance. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nergelag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The stay in medieval cloister sounded better than it really was. Our room was in one of the newer buildings (not in the old cloister) at the thirds floor. There were no elevator, only stairs that was quite hard with the luggages... The room itself was spacious and clean. There was a possibility to make tea or coffee. The heating worked quite nicely, that was good as it was quite cold at the time. The old cloister was nice place to take a look at, but otherwise it did not feel like staying in any special place. Our deal did not include breakfast and we did not buy it separately, because it was quite expensive. There was a supermarket not far away and we bought some breakfast bread and fruits to the room. In general the hotel felt quite expensive for the quality (and lack of an elevator). The location was good.

Room Tip: There are only stairs to some floors, so if you prefer not carrying your luggages you should ask a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wompatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Good location,10 minutes walking to Korenmarkt.
Tiny rooms.Clean.
Unusual,interesting look as long as it is a former monastery(at least that's what they pretend).
Free WiFi,free tea and cofee.
Not expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Hotel Monasterium is a good option if you are looking for a budget hotel in the city. I stayed here last month for three days and found it perfect in every term. Rooms are very clean, comfortable and gracefully appointed with all things of need. Washroom is very big and functional. Breakfast was great and included a large selection. Coffee and tea were awesome. Facilities are good and all the staff members are hardworking and polite. I will definitely recommend this place to all my friends and family members.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank August S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

This hotel has characteristics that make it unique. The property is a former monastery and as such has a climate that makes you feel in the past, giving the perception of how life would be into a place devoted to practice this way of life, based on retreat and cloistered religious existence. Inside the hotel there is a small, yet impressive, chapel which increases the special atmosphere that you feel inside. I stayed in a room very basic but comfortable, with private bathroom. The location is excellent, on a quiet street and close to the city center. I recommend this hotel especially for the different climate and unique sensations it provides to its guests.
I think sometimes we need to experience different ways of travel and stay away from the same conventional patterns of hotels that you find everywhere. Poortackere Monasterium is one of them that worth to try

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Contrary to what HostelBookers indicated when I was making my bookings for Ghent, this isn't the cheapest accommodation available in the city: there are several hostels that offer rooms in the 20 euro range, just look for them on the official Ghent tourism website.

Nevertheless, I stayed one night in the Monasterium's single room and on the whole, had a pleasant night's rest about 5 to 10 minutes from the historic city centre. The room was equipped with a comfortable basic bed, sink, desk, and not much else. A bathrobe, bathroom slippers and basic soap/shampoo are provided. The showers are self-enclosed rooms which open out to the hallway: these were clean, with comfortably warm water, and a good surface on which to lay out your clothes and towel. Toilets are out in the hallway as well, and those are clean also.

I noticed that the floors tended to creak on occasion, and footsteps out in the hall are clearly noticeable. Walls are also very thin, so depending on who else is staying around you may face some variation in the noise levels.

Service from the staff was great, and they were very helpful when the key to my room didn't work. Bottled water from the Monasterium bar is expensive (2 euro for a small bottle, 4 euro for a large one) so buy some elsewhere and bring it back if you get thirsty at night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fu_Haoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.2 mi away
Hotel Onderbergen
Hotel Onderbergen
#13 of 39 in Ghent
358 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 39 in Ghent
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gravensteen
Hotel Gravensteen
#19 of 39 in Ghent
588 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.2 mi away
Erasmus
Erasmus
#21 of 39 in Ghent
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poortackere Monasterium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poortackere Monasterium Hotel

Address: Oude Houtlei 56, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: £61 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poortackere Monasterium Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Poortackere Monasterium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poortackere Monasterium Ghent
Hotel Poortackere Monasterium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing