We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming and different”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Poortackere Monasterium Hotel
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Monasterium is old and not a luxury hotel, but is charming and clean. Excellent breakfast serve in a wonderful medieval saloon. Receptionist are kind, and gardens are beautiful. very well located near saint michel bridge and church.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aticauac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
There are newer reviews for Poortackere Monasterium Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed here for two nights last weekend. There was a quiet parking area at the back for my motorcycle although as she had just been restored, under cover parking would have been nice. The building is astonishing and was still a monastery until four years ago. My room was tiny with a single bed, and the washhand basin had just one tap - for cold water only. At 15 euros I chose to have a much cheaper coffee and croisant else where in the city. Only ten minutes walk from the hotel, and I found myself in the city centre. Ghent is a stunning place and more 'genuine' that it's neighbour Bruges. The people are very friendly and have a deserved reputation for hospitality. For a good place to eat, the Thai restaurant 'Witte Elephant' is exceptional and only 100m from the hotel. I would defintely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Well located hotel, near the historic center.
Big room but not so luxurious.
Hotel has more potential, it's very outdated and needs urgently some modernization without losing the authentic character.

Friendly staff and very nice breakfast!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We had a group booking (6 people) for the large dormitory. When we arrived we were offered an annexe apartment around the corner (2 min walk). This was at no extra cost which worked out at great value.

We had 3 double rooms in the annexe building which was preferable to all sharing a giant single room. The apartment was well equipped for self-catering and had a living room and TV. I would recommend this option for groups.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating and the old monastery had a cool feel.

This hotel was ideally placed for visiting the excellent city of Ghent and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulk431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The rooms are dirty and the furniture is many years old. Including the bedding. We found various types of insects in the rooms as well as stains on the bathroom floor, bed linen, and curtains. We found a flattened spider under our bed covers!!!

The receptionist is rude and appears incompetent as she constantly mixed up the names of room occupants (tried to give me the bill for someone else s room), did not know which room was occupied (gave me the key to an occupied room twice), and did not manage the booking correctly (did not know that some of us had booked in for an additional night).

Due to the bad organization, 2 people had to move room in the middle of the day ( in Ghent for work and this was incredibly inconvenient) and when one of these did not make it on time they found their belongings stuffed in their bag and out in the hallway.

The breakfast is definitely NOT worth the money. There is plenty of shops and cafes around the area so rather spend the money there.

All in all the whole experience is on about the level of a badly maintained youth hostel but with 3 star hotel prices.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The Location is excellent: inside the old town. We called the hotel directly to reserve. Attentive and wonderful service on the phone. She pleasantly told us our room was once the virgins' chambers. When we arrive, service was again super friendly. The room, #5 on the 1st floor, had lots of old charm, and spacious. We needed something and again service was delivered with smiles and enthusiasm. Parking was super nice: inside their own courtyard, safe, and only 10€/day.
Our only complaint was that one of the beds was badly in need of replacement: it was lop-sided and too soft on one side.
Their breakfast was less expensive than other comparable hotels: 17.50€ instead of 20€. But we ended up eating outside, because we thought it was still way more expensive than other countries like France.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DecadentGourmetTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The hotel is situated in an old monastery but it is too big to have much atmosphere. The staff is friendly and helpful. The bed in the single room was comfortable but the rest of the furniture rather rickety. There is no way that I could get €17.50 value out of any breakfast, so I skipped that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not have a window above the door. The passage lights burn all night.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.6 mi away
Flandria Hotel
Flandria Hotel
#26 of 37 in Ghent
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Flandre
Hotel de Flandre
#22 of 37 in Ghent
624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gravensteen
Hotel Gravensteen
#16 of 37 in Ghent
556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Onderbergen
Hotel Onderbergen
#11 of 37 in Ghent
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poortackere Monasterium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poortackere Monasterium Hotel

Address: Oude Houtlei 56, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: £67 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poortackere Monasterium Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Poortackere Monasterium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poortackere Monasterium Ghent
Hotel Poortackere Monasterium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing