We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, but beautiful and extraordinary hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Poortackere Monasterium Hotel
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was our second stay in the Monasterium, and we were not disappointed either. It is a former monastery (19th c) transformed into a hotel, and the rooms are all huge. It is just fun to walk around, stop by in the former chapel, maybe have a drink in their bar, sit in the lovely and quiet garden, and enjoy your big room. Reception clerks all very nice and efficient. There are elevators to the respective wings. Beds nice, all the relevant furniture there,though mostly dated, plus a flat tv. Wifi (free) works mostly, but you have to position yourself properly. At times I had to go out to the huge hallway and pick up the reception there. Bathroom large and nice. The best, however, is their breakfast. I can't recall another hotel with such a splendid buffet, including champagne. The meats and sausages are fantastic, the scrambled egg was perfect; breads marvelous, etc. The only thing I would recommend to the hotel is to put up a better sign outside; the hotel is hard to find, even when you stand right in front. Our tour bus could drive down the street and park,, but traffic is difficult. Parking even for cars is 15 Euros/day; bus had to park very far away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aclassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hotel currently has a score of 48%, this seems a bit low. Maybe it is very depend on the room that you are allocated. Our room seemed to be in a newer section and was absolutely fine. Enough space, not very noisy, good facilities. The furtunire might be a little outdated, but it won't trouble you for a 1 - 2 night stay.

The hotel itself has a unique atmosphere, obviously, especially the bar looks great. The location cannot be beat, just around the corner of the city center. The parking facility is great, plenty of space and easily accessible. For 1 or 2 nights, this is a great option.... if you get the right room ;)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jurian99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Mate the mistake of ordering this hotel for two nights, will never use it again EVER. Old, smelly and for the worst part, just got a cigarette thrown into my window!! Just pure luck that my room did not catch fire!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KGeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed at the 'Maagdenvleugel' for one night during the week. Location is great, close to the Korenmarkt, de Oude Vismijn,... However rooms are old, and although the TLC seemed to be fine, they are desperately in need of some renovation: Unstable floors, smelly rooms (and corridors), moisture problems at the wall, uncomfortable beds/matrasses (or even just sofas in the 4p rooms), old and frowsy toilets, a shower with almost no water at an unstable temperature,...Moreover, as there were quite some guests, and doors and walls are rather old (in combination with an uncomfortable bed), sleeping quality was really bad due to noisiness.
Nonetheless, breakfast was fine: a big and tasty buffet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

On first impressions the building is impressive. The lover ground entrance is well presented with atmospheric candle lit corridors and a range do contemporary art. The chapel is an initial glance is stunning. However on closer inspection the original artwork is in a poor condition and in some cases painted over with gloss paint : ( which somewhat reflects the the gloss put over the hotels representation of its self on the website. Our room which cost £91 was horrendous ( which for myself is a term I rarely use as I am an optimist) to contextualise the smoke detector was hanging from a large hole in the ceiling. The toilet flush was broken and you had to take care not to cut yourself on the push button. The shower trickled and was either red hot or freezing cold and the light fitting was full to the brim with dead flies.To call the room dated is a huge under statement, the walls were dirty and a rather unpleasant shade of peach. I was more than disappointed and feel that the website is not at all a true representation of the hotel and would go as far as to say that it is incredibly misleading. Overly priced hotel that lures you with its history and intrigue.

Room Tip: Do not let the hotels own photos lure you as they are a gross misrepresentation. Poor dirty rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drunkenducky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The Poortackere Monasterium is well worth what you pay for it. I had a hard time finding a remotely affordable place to stay in Ghent for a recent last minute weekend trip. I ended up staying in a "slot" at the Poortackere Monasterium. It was a lovely choice.

I booked online through the website, which was easy enough. I took a cab from the train station, but took the tram on the way back. Much cheaper and just about as easy, if you are able to carry your luggage the few short blocks to the tram stop.

The staff were very professional and courteous -- gave me advice (when I asked) about what to go see and do, and how to get there. I found every one of the staff to be pleasant and helpful.

The slots are small simple rooms where the nuns used to sleep. Mine contained a perfectly comfortable single bed, a small desk built into an old brick fireplace, a huge (11 feet tall or so) wardrobe, a sink and two lovely "church" windows. The room was quiet -- even though I was told several times that the hotel was full. I slept wonderfully - and awoke each morning to birds singing at my window. There are shared toilets on the half levels (half a flight up or down from each floor) and there were a couple of shower rooms on the same level as my slot. The shower rooms and toilet rooms were clean and in good working order. There was a robe & pair of slippers in my room. I think that some rooms are en suite.

Breakfast was fine - and consisted of an assortment of both warm and cold foods -- yogurt, fruit, eggs, sausages, bacon, breads & pastries,cheeses, vegetables. It was a pretty standard buffet - nothing great but certainly adequate. The breakfast room itself, like the rest of the place was lovely and quaint.

You can see from other travelers' pictures of some of the rooms and public spaces -- that the building and grounds are unique and lovely. In all, I found the place completely charming and WELL worth the cost, which was so much more affordable than other options in the area.
The location couldn't be better. It is only a block or two away from St. Michael's bridge and the walk down the canal to the Castle of the Counts. However, that block or so really shelters the monastery from the bustle of the denser tourist areas.

I would definitely stay here again if I visit Ghent. And, I really do hope to visit Ghent again in the future. I was enchanted by all of it (especially in contrast to Brussels, which I found more crowded, less friendly, and dreary).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prof_voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This guest house, in a fomer monestery, is simple, quirky, fairly central, quiet and full of character, but certainly not a choice for anyone wanitng the international luxuary hotel experience. I love the simplicity, don't mind the lack of TV or en-suite facilities. I also love the character, the chapel and the simple rooms, and have stayed several times. For me it beats a stay in a modern chain any day. It does have good fast wi-fi

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itinerantflaneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gravensteen
Hotel Gravensteen
#17 of 38 in Ghent
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Flandria Hotel
Flandria Hotel
#28 of 38 in Ghent
198 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#11 of 38 in Ghent
1,011 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Onderbergen
Hotel Onderbergen
#12 of 38 in Ghent
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poortackere Monasterium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poortackere Monasterium Hotel

Address: Oude Houtlei 56, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: £68 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poortackere Monasterium Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Poortackere Monasterium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poortackere Monasterium Ghent
Hotel Poortackere Monasterium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing