We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positives and negatives”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Poortackere Monasterium Hotel
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Positives and negatives”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We chose this place over one other hotel in Ghent for our 3 night stay as we felt that it would be a bit unique to stay in an old monastery.
Positives: Friendly and helpful staff, large room and bathroom, shower worked well and was hot, wifi worked well, location was close to the old centre of Ghent, yet had some lovely local bars and bakeries nearby.
Negatives: Unfortunately I feel we were given the least desirable room. It was on the ground floor and near the entrance to the upstairs section of the building, so lots of noisy foot traffic late at night. Our room was very tired looking, so not very pleasant to spend time in.

Room Tip: Ask to not be on the ground floor in the building next to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    99
    72
    46
    44
See reviews for
32
90
51
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

A long weekend in Ghent and the city centre hotels looked bland and expensive. This hotel stood out for its architecture (an old monastery) and the location (close enough to walk to the city centre). There were 3 of us and we were given a huge room with a double bed and two single beds plus a seating area with two sofas. Breakfast comprehensive but expensive- better to go to town and try a local place. Bedroom and bathroom clean and tidy with plenty of free toiletries, tea and coffee.

Room Tip: Ask for a family room to get more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nofixedabode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Located in an old monastery, it certainly is different then your average city hotel.

The restaurant area is rather beautiful with a large garden. Eating breakfast outside when it's sunny certainly evokes a spiritual calmness. At our stay there was a special breakfast which was simply superb and correctly priced.

However the rooms are old and ugly. I get that the rooms are sober, you are staying in a renovated monastery after all. However an old TV, faded wallpaper, aged carpet ... are more depressing than sober. Especially the awful beds are terribly uncomfortable, you don't expect youth hostel bed's when you pay that much. There was some mold issues in our bathroom and the rooms are poorly isolated so we heard a lot of noises from our neighbors.

The service was decent and helpful, you get a small card of the city and we were able to stash our luggage for a day while visiting the city. It can get crowded in the reception area but that didn't bother us much. The hotel itself is located very well in the city center.

Conclusion:
At the moment you pay simply too much for this experience. The rooms are in need of a serious renovation and the beds need to be more comfortable. A price drop could persuade us to come back, but as it stands we wont be returning soon.

I would give it a 2,5/5, but considering the beds I went with 2 rather then giving it a 3.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joostbevernage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ghent hotels

Boechout, Belgium
Level Contributor
139 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Very basically equipped but large rooms with a high ceiling, breathing an authentic spiritual monastery atmosphere. Chapel, courtyard and even the breakfast room reinforce each other. Reasonably broad breakfast, definitely better than any of the previous religious inhabitants would have enjoyed. Centrally located in the beautiful city of Gent. Great for those in search of a place to quietly contemplate. Definitely not for those in search of TV, pool or a party venue.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LUC T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blankenberge, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We decided to go at the last moment, so we booked whatever was available, we didnt know that there was a city party. The hotel is acceptable, is an old building, looks and "smells" old, the room was big but kind of ugly, the breakfast was good good but too expensive, as well as the hotel itself, too much money for the quality received.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anabellelee2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was a great hotel. Very unique and extraordinary. Everything about it is interesting, the courtyards, hallways, chapel, breakfast room. Definitely a better experience than your average normal hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRN105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pokhara, Nepal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The atmosphere was amazing, and it still had the character of a former monastery. On the way to reception I passed an old chapel. My room had decor that fitted with this - basic, clean, old style.

I had a peaceful sleep here, with a nice soft bed. I had good quality towels and a towelling robe.

There wasn't a wardrobe or drawers to store my stuff in. The shower and toilet were down the corridor. I wouldn't recommend this to people after modern decor and ultra comfortable surroundings.

But I would recommend it if you're after historical atmosphere, a good location (near centre and tram routes) on a budget.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank wandering987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Erasmus
Erasmus
#18 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Onderbergen
Hotel Onderbergen
#11 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gravensteen
Hotel Gravensteen
#15 of 37 in Ghent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poortackere Monasterium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poortackere Monasterium Hotel

Property: Poortackere Monasterium Hotel
Address: Oude Houtlei 56, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Poortackere Monasterium Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Poortackere Monasterium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poortackere Monasterium Ghent
Hotel Poortackere Monasterium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing