We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why go to Bruges?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ghent
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Blaarmeersen
Ranked #11 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Ghent
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Why go to Bruges?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed here in July 2010 on a trip to Germany. We stayed in Bruges going there and here on the way back, quite frankly, wished we just stayed here there and back. Campsite is great, in a lovely location and you can easiliy walk into the centre of Ghent along the canal. We had a lovely big pitch, with a hedge all the way round so making it quite private, the toilets were clean and looked as thought they had recently been upgraded and still had work to do on them. There is a shop and restaurant on site, but did not eat there. The leisure facilities around the park are brilliant if you have children with you. the staff were really helpful and assisted us in finding a vet for our dog to go and have his necessaries before returning to GB. We had no problem with noise, but we were not near the camping fields. I would recommend it to others and think Ghent is as nice as Bruges.

Room Tip: Explore all the area around you, great water park nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Nicki5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    41
    26
    9
    4
See reviews for
28
47
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

Used this family site for 1 night - never again. Our spot was below average in size but level & short walk to toilets etc. Toilets were ok but not as clean as Germany/Holland. Laid out in avenues of 6-12 pitches some with fence/hedges between each pitch. In addition they have a couple of large open fields for tents. Our pitch was adjacent to these; big mistake. Just before sunset, 6 cars full of Belgians arrived an set up 10 tents right next to us, set up the bar and drank and laughed through to 1am before settling down with encouragement from us and other unfortunate campers. There were other groups also who didn't make as much noise. Just be very careful on where your pitch is allocated as they seem to accept groups of people quite readily [whose idea of camping is just to use it as an outdoor pub with sleeping facilities] . Not cheap either; 1 night for 2 without electric was just over 18 euros. Helpful multilingual staff .

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Yorkie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ghent hotels

London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Camping/caravan site was popular and busy while we were there. Welcoming staff and lots of information provided on arrival, including map of Ghent, travel info, visitor's guide and rubbish bag!

Easy to get into centre of Ghent via 48/49 buses (only took about 20mins and costs E1.20 in adavance from ticket machine). Easy to find by car from the R4 ring road as well and very well sign posted onto the Blaarmeersen sports area.

Toilet/shower block was clean and closeby to the camping field (they have a field where you can pitch your tent wherever you like for a slightly reduced rate than if you get an allocated caravan/tent pitch). Showers were a bit strange in that they didn't spray very far from the wall- bit hard to wash your hair under! Drinking water taps also marked throughout campsite. Small issue- if you choose the camping field then you park your car in nearby carpark, about 5 min walk next to campsite.

Site also had a shop selling all essentials, as well as fresh pastries, and a restaurant/bar area- food/drink was good but a bit overpriced. No kitchen to cook your own food.

Overall a good campsite catering for a range of ages and travellers from many different countries. We enjoyed ourselves here and its a good value campsite - we paid just E18 a night for two people with a tent and a car.

Room Tip: Choose camping field for cheaper rate if you just have a small tent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We only stopped here for one night on our way from Germany to France, but the camping ground seemed very family oriented and clean. They had a playground, as well as a sporting complex next door, with a tennis court and many other facilities. Ghent is also a very nice town.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BenniHupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

This is an excellent place to stay. The first night I arrived the place was packed with people visiting the Gent festival, but the facilities were not overwhelmed. Things are kept clean. Access to Gent is easy enough on the bus or by cab.

The facilites on site are, for the money, superb. A big fake beach, lake and water slides along with a pool, small football pitch and mini golf. A beautiful place in the sun.

Highly recommended overall!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redders2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

We camped at this campsite for one night. The toilets and showers were clean and there were plenty of showers in the different blocks although not very much water pressure.

We decided to eat at the restaurant at night and the food was poor - I ordered a pizza and it only had canned tomatoes and olives on it - covered with lots of cheese to hide the terrible toppings. We drank tap water which they had the rudeness to charge us Euro1.80 a glass for. My children had meatballs and even my youngest normally a vivid fan of meatballs didn't eat more than one of them.

The campsite is located in the middle of a huge recreation park with plenty to do and keep the family entertained. There is a playground and mini golf opposite the campsite as well as tennis courts and the lake.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Beckstar8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

Stayed here in July this year.
We arrived really early at the site and got booked in as soon as it opened. The staff on reception couldn't do enough for us, gave us a pitch and only booked us in from 2pm that day, saving us extra cost.
Shower blocks clean and tidy, pitches large and tidy too.
Never used the cafe on site a little bit expensive, shop was ok.
Plenty to do on the site as its right next door to a massive leisure complex.
Really good transport links into Ghent, bus stop right outside the site, with a regular service.
All in all a really good site and we will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peteandchris46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
1.6 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.6 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
2.1 mi away
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#6 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.0 mi away
Europa Hotel
Europa Hotel
#20 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Blaarmeersen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Blaarmeersen

Property: Camping Blaarmeersen
Address: Zuiderlaan 12, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Ghent
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Camping Blaarmeersen Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing