We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well deserved 4 star site”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ghent
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Blaarmeersen
Ranked #20 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Ghent
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This site has everything you need. Friendly helpful efficient staff at reception and in the restaurant. Large pitches set in groups among trees and hedges. Clean, large showers which are warm with heat adjustable water temperature. Recycling of rubbish. Adjacent to park and lake with a bus stop outside. Good food in the restaurant. Some traffic noise but a great site.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Supergranbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

The pitch we were given for our motorhome was perfect. It was surrounded by hedging and quite private. The toilet blocks were spotless and with plentiful hot water in the showers. There was no shortage of these facilities either. Lovely restuarant on the site with good food at reasonable prices. Plenty of places to walk the dogs too, around this beautiful site. Many sports facilities available. Frequent bus sevice from site to Ghent. Would advise you use bus as it's far less stressful than parking in the city. Would we use this site again ..... definitely!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gwynneth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights and despite it raining at night the pitches were quite well drained, the pitches are large and devised by low hedges. The shop and restaurant are close by and the staff at reception were friendly and efficient , the bus into the city centre is right outside the site and runs frequently just get out at Mac Donald's and you are opposite the main canal. Would definitely return .

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Thatcher63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Confused the sat nav so not easy to find.you can hear train and traffic noise.this is a small price to pay for a brilliant friendly site. Excellent good value bus route terminates right next to campsite. The site is surrounded by a huge park with loads of activities from swimming. The town is much quieter than brugge but just as nice. Boat tours in the city centre very pleasant.2 day stay on the way to somewhere more exciting highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lesta38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This was the first stop on a 6 week road trip around Europe and we were very pleased with our choice. The site is just outside the city centre but with easy access to the centre via a frequent bus service that stops just outside the camp. The staff were friendly and booking in and checking out was hassle free. We had a small tent and car and the pitch we were allocated was more than big enough for our needs. Toilets and showers were clean and dotted around the site so they are never far away. Minor quibbles are that the site is fairly close to a ring road so you do get some traffic noise during the night/ Also the power feeds were a little fair away from our pitch so our power lead, which was about 20 yards long, didn't quite reach however neither of these issues would stop us returning to this very good site.

Room Tip: Make sure your power lead is at least 10m long if you are camping and want power.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

On our trip through Belgium and Luxembourg this was the only place we stayed two nights and it was a nice experience. The service is brilliant, you're given everything from bus time tables, maps, tips and a smile without even asking for it. There is a small shop convenient even if a little on the more expensive side, a bar and a chip shop on site, the wash machine and dryer is around 4 euros and is working well. One BIG advantage is that you don't have to decide straight away how long you want to stay, you pay when you leave. If you leave after 12 you'll pay for the next night, but that seems pretty fair!
The tent sites are all separated by hedges allowing a lot of privacy and there are several shower and toilet blocks, which are reasonably clean. The bus into Ghent leaves every 20 minutes or so and stops right in the centre. Blaarmeersen is also the last stop on the way back so it's an easy journey (buy your tickets in advance it's cheaper than on the bus, but best get an all-day ticket). I'd definitely stay there again if I wanted to go to Bruges, especially if the weather is nice since Blaarmeersen is a recreational area with a lake!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corvicula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Arrived Sunday and staff were quite good at booking us in, site was good, and close to Toilet and wash facilities.
Decided to eat at the restaurant, service good staff friendly and food quite good and reasonably priced but on this night as with other nights restaurant closed early even when people were sitting outside having a quiet beer, never once did it close at the prescribed time.
When enquiries were made for Wi Fi tickets, the brochure said office the office said shop the shop said tomorrow, we never did get WiFi but if as it says "4 star camping" couldn't WiFi be free in the restaurant area.
There was a funny smell in the toilet block(2) near to our site and the ladies toilet did not have any paper towels or dispenser fitted at all. Each day the cleaning staff did little more than fill the toilet roll and paper towels holders if you were lucky enough to have one.
The sites themselves were very good lots of space and privacy with hedges around them, Blaarmeersen is close to town and a regular bus service leaves from the complex every half hour. There is some road and rail noise during the night but not enough to deprive you of sleep. take some mosquito repellent and bite remedy, they were quite vicious during out stay.
Ghent is a fabulous place and the best city i have ever been in to be able to relax, enjoy walking around the sites and streets with plenty of street cafes and bars to have a drink or meal.
Purchase the City 48 hour City card and you can travel free on buses and trams for the duration of the card plus you get a free boat trip and believe me it is worth doing.
Would i use Blaarmeersen again for another Ghent visit, yes I would, generally the site is good, staff friendly and it is well placed to get around not just Ghent but other parts of Belgium too. just sort out the niggles and then you will deserve the 4 Star rating

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 0923Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
3.0 mi away
Campanile Gent / Gand
Campanile Gent / Gand
#34 of 38 in Ghent
184 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
#19 of 38 in Ghent
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Flandria Hotel
Flandria Hotel
#28 of 38 in Ghent
198 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 38 in Ghent
599 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Blaarmeersen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Blaarmeersen

Address: Zuiderlaan 12, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Ghent
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Camping Blaarmeersen Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing