We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You need a car for the town centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Campanile Gent / Gand
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“You need a car for the town centre”
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We found this Campanile hotel very quiet to stay in. Didn't use the restaurant. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The free wi-fi is very nice.
The downside is the location: we had a car so it was possible to park in town in the evening for a small price (after 7pm the Vrijdagmarkt car park was only €2.50 for the whole night). The 65/67 bus services though are a real pain: only two an hour which take you only to the railway station and from there you would change to tram 1 or 4 into the centre. That is fine when going in. But coming home was difficult because there was no timetable giving the times of the 65/67 buses back! Ended up getting a €10 taxi on two occasions because I wanted an alcoholic drink so driving in was not an option.
The rooms were clean and had the usual basic facilities. I never heard any noise from neighbours at all.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carpet-madness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    45
    62
    30
    26
See reviews for
18
75
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2010

I thought this was a really friendly hotel and I liked the chalet style rooms. However, I didn't have a car and getting into town by bus and taxi wasn't impossible but needed a bit of organisation!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryLeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

You get what you expect from a Camponile hotel - basic room and facilities. However for a stop over it is OK and the access of the main road was easy.
The food was good though, despite a limited choice and a bit pricey. However the service was a bit dubious. The kitchen forgot our main starters and brought them out at the same time as the main course!
Then, despite the bar hours being advertised as open till 23.00 hours, the waitress decided to close everything at 22.15 without saying anything and refused us and other customers a drink. The excuse was that she had to work the following day - what a shame.
On this basis alone I would not stay here again. There are other choces of similar hotels in the close vicinity.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterstoneboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Went with wife and friends for a short break. Arrived on first evening to be told restauranr was fully booked, but there were other restaurants close by. Knowing we would be tired the following evening we didn't want to be forced onto the streets again, thus we booked for 7.00 pm and were assured that this would be ok.
The next evening we arrived at the appointed time to find the hotel would not honour our reservation because they already had a coach load of Austrians to deal with. The manager could not have cared less and was not even prepared to buy us a drink if we waited for an indeterminate time.

This is the only problem we have ever had with a Campanile ( which is a franchise ) and this would not stop me frmn using others in the group but I would not stay here again and would strongly discourage anyone else from so doing

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ghent hotels

Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

A good motel if you are passing through. Although remote from city center, the Hotel Campanile has a pleasant staff, free (if slow) wi-fi, clean rooms, and a decent restaurant. Sits adjacent to a Holiday Inn Express and near several commercial/industrial firms.

Here's a more specific breakdown of what works and what doesn't.

Clearly most of the clientele speak Dutch or French, as the literature in the room provides information in those languages only. That said, the desk staff speak English, and addressed any questions I had promptly. (I would have muddled through in French, but thankfully for all concerned, this wasn't necessary.) The staff are welcoming and friendly, and clearly care about providing a good experience for guests. The room is quite clean, if somewhat spartan (no alarm clock and minimal furnishings but coffee/teapot and small tv). The restaurant offers a limited but hearty menu, clearly attracting people beyond simply guests. The bathroom shower had plenty of hot water and good pressure.

The downside? Despite the electric heat (plus supplemental heater in bathroom), the room is draughty and cold (in April). Hardwood floors don't help. Anyone with mobility issues should know that the bathroom tub has steep walls and a slick inner surface. And then there's the noise; with thin walls, you can easily hear people coughing in adjacent rooms or flushing the toilet. All of these things are probably quite normal in lodgings at comparable prices, but they are worth knowing. So, too, is the distance from the city center. Buses (#65 and 67 at present) can be met across the street. In my experience, the drivers were unfailingly helpful; indeed, public transport in Gent/Gand works well. No reason to take an expensive taxi ride. Still, you are 10 minutes from the train station (Gent St. Pieters), where you'll need to change to another bus or tram and continued onward. Journeys to/from the city/center to the motel have taken as little as 30 minutes and as much as 60.

Would I stay again? Quite possibly. The Hotel Campanile reminds me of a Motel 6 in the U.S. -- inexpensive, generally clean, and predictable.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaltoExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHIPLEY,WEST YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

A super place for a stopover,minutes off the motorway(use sat nav "9000 GENT").Room was small but adequate complete with toiletries and tea,coffee making facilities.A good quality restaurant served us a good meal at modest cost.We were on our way from north england to germany so the location just fit the bill.100%

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALAN SANDERSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittlesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2008

Campaniles give a good, reasonably priced stayover.
Everything fine at this estabishment.

  • Liked — Convienience
  • Disliked — No Comment
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RoyGerstner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
2.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
2.1 mi away
Parkhotel
Parkhotel
#24 of 37 in Ghent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Flandria Hotel
Flandria Hotel
#27 of 37 in Ghent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.9 mi away
NH Gent Sint Pieters
NH Gent Sint Pieters
#21 of 37 in Ghent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Gent / Gand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Gent / Gand

Property: Campanile Gent / Gand
Address: Akkerhage 1, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Gent / Gand 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Louvre hotels, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Gent / Gand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Gent / Gand Hotel Ghent
Campanile Gent Gand Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing