We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food, beautiful view on the terrace!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belfort Restaurant

Belfort Restaurant
Ranked #457 of 839 Restaurants in Ghent
Price range: US$23 - US$129
Cuisines: Belgian, European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Belfort Restaurant will become a modern brasserie led by Tom Klussendorf who used to be the chef at Cafe Parti during the last couple of years. He aims for tasty and healthy dishes with a focus on organic and local products. The centerpiece is undoubtedly the rotisserie with farm chicken, roasts and, in season, pheasant! Of course there is also a wide range of vegetarian dishes and there will also be a selection of dishes for those with gluten allergies or for those who want to eat food with low carbohydrates. Besides that, something to really look out for, will be the exquisite wine list at the restaurant! Both the Cafe and the Restaurant have a spacious terrace overlooking the new park that was built along the Stadshal. A lovely oasis in the center of Ghent where you can enjoy delicious products, a wide selection of beers and the environment. The Belfort Stadscafe and Restaurant are situated beneath the Stadshal on the Emile Braun square in Ghent.
ghent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious food, beautiful view on the terrace!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We had a lovely lunch , enjoyed sitting on the terrace with a great view and very friendly waiters.
The Gentse Waterzooi, specialty of Genth has a nice Thais touch with spices and cocos milk., very tasty.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nannyGhent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    59
    24
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great price quality. Very nice service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Great price quality. Great interior. Very nice service. Open kitchen which gives you an additional atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Filip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great place, great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

I am a regular visitor of this restaurant and always been happy with the well priced lunch menu. Last week I went for a more extensive evening diner with some business partners, we were a group of 8 and were seated outside. The restaurant was rather full so it was a pleasant surprise service remained quick and efficient, (though 1 of the waiters was new, did her best, but wasn’t up to the job yet.)
The meal itself was excellent, a good quality beef carpaccio followed by a very original ‘gentse waterzooi’, a ghent chicken/vegetables soup speciality. Dessert (ananas carpaccio with mint) had to much mint to my taste. With the main course came a remarkable greek red wine.

Another positive experience, I’ll be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice wine, undercooked food, very expensive, bad service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

I went inside for a business diner and kinda liked the restaurant.The green inside and the open kitchen was great. The waiter had no sense of humour, but OK. The menu at 35€ looked nice so we ordered a glass of bubbels JC and had the menu. Since the wine list was huge (and I like to try wines I do not know) it took me some time to choose a wine. I found an interesting Portugese wine (crazy expensive for a weeknight diner with a friend, but OK) on the list and ordered it. The food was OK in taste, but my chicken was slightly undercooked, like just before being ready, the white wine came a minute later and was at room temperature (20°). The taste of the wine was great and the food was already on the table and getting cold... no options than have a sip now and let the bottle cool in the ice bucket.The main course was fish, then the wine was at perfect temperature, but the fish was also just undercoocked at the thickest parts. When I asked for the bill, I got the one from another table. No "sorry" or anything, The waiter just took it back after my remark and brought the correct bill without a word. I know a thousand restaurants in the world (even in Gent) where you can have a better meal at a better price with a better service. The other, younger waiter in the restaurant was doing his best and he tries to do better, but that could not turn my 65€ /person into a positive experience. Pitty for such a nice location though...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“delicious food, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

After a lot of controversy about this place in Ghent I was a little bit skeptic about dining in Belfort Restaurant. But why no try it for myself and see if the food is really so great as I had read in a review.
Went with 2 friends and we all ordered the 'aspergemenu'. This menu was delicious and the price was very reasonable. Service was excellent and the staff is very friendly. The restaurant itself is stylish but still in a cozy way.
This restaurant is one of my favourites in Ghent: great location, great food and after a great meal you are in the heart of Ghent to discover other lovely places.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NatalieVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belfort Restaurant also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Belfort Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing