We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, great food define "Brasserie Cafe des Arts!"”

Brasserie Cafe des Arts
Ranked #88 of 869 Restaurants in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Somewhere In Wa
Level Contributor
139 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Helpful staff, great food define "Brasserie Cafe des Arts!"”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Just across the street from the Flemish Opera, this place was jammed before a performance. Not having opera tickets and thus not under the gun time-wise, we left and explored some of the nearby squares and streets. When we returned, all was calm. The wait-staff were charming and made helpful suggestions. My salmon was cooked as I like it, "al dente," moist and silky. Desserts were a treat, a lovely culmination to this dining experience in Ghent.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Therese R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    63
    9
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved salads and beer”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Interesting selection of beers, delicious salads, waiter looked lika a young Tom Hanks. Very friendly and distinct place. Recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kusti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A good meal, great atmosphere”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This is a comfortable restaurant with the main dining area downstairs and an upstairs area for groups.

There was no English menu but a very helpful waitress helped us through the various choices and even suggested which beers to accompany the meal. We chose the grilled goats cheese salad which both looked and tasted delicious - the cheese had been spread with honey before grilling and the salad included strips of warm bacon as well as slices of apple and mixed green leaves.

We both finished our meal with an espresso and each was served on a small tray with a little chocolate, a nice touch.

There is a good assortment of beers and pleasant wines.

You may wish to book if planning to eat there at the weekend as this place can get busy.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good food”
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Loved the atmosphere! Nice menu, had lots (but not too much) to choose from. I had a salad with salmon and scampi and it was lovely, my boyfriend the entrecote and he liked it (maybe not the best steak ever but definitely worth it).
Saturday evening around 7 was busy and I think we were the only ones without reservation but managed to get a table, with a time limit though but we had to leave early anyway so that was fine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irsku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A must when you come out of the opera!”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Great selection of beers, nice wine list, huge portions and one of the best entrecote in town. It opens until late (which is not so easy to find in Gent) and the staff is just great!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jorge j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie Cafe des Arts also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Brasserie Cafe des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing