We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dark and noisy brasserie”

Brasserie Cafe des Arts
Ranked #58 of 849 Restaurants in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, European, French, Dutch, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Temse, Belgium
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Dark and noisy brasserie”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Met there for a business lunch. Sat in the back, very dark and noisy, hard to talk and listen to eachother. Food not up to standards. "homemade" Belgian garnaalkroketten had very few grey shrimps, such a shame! The pasta with smoked duck consisted of lots of pasta and small amount of duck. At the restroom, ladies wash their hands next to men's (open) toilet....
Service ok.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IlseTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    58
    9
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Following the recommendation of Danielle at the Ibis Hotel Opera and with her help in making a reservation, we had a fine meal at a fine price, 62 euros for main course, dessert and bottle of wine. She found out that they serve Belgian beef stew (stoofvlees) and it was excellent. So do eat here and do make a reservation.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidTOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
136 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Located opposite the opera, therefore can get very busy. We managed to get a table for four without a reservation, but noticed people being turned away later. The food was very good and the service very polite and helpful. Organisation seemed to be lacking and the attentive service dropped off due to the numbers. Quieter later, but it still took ages to get the bill. Worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveLlanelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing steaks, so good I went back the next night.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

On a recent trip to Ghent, I stumbled across Cafe Des Arts. The menu looked great and I thought the prices were reasonable. I fancied a steak and they had a decent range of choices. I ordered and the waiter asked me how I'd like it cooked and then took the time to explain that as It was a french chef and they grade it a little differently he was off. The huge steak came out perfectly cooked, with ample sauces and a mountain of fries. Well worth the money. The other dishes were coming from the kitchen looked great too. Massive salads and casseroles. The staff were attentive throughout and the atmosphere was great. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone travelling to Ghent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DallasR1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somewhere In Wa
Level Contributor
138 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Helpful staff, great food define "Brasserie Cafe des Arts!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Just across the street from the Flemish Opera, this place was jammed before a performance. Not having opera tickets and thus not under the gun time-wise, we left and explored some of the nearby squares and streets. When we returned, all was calm. The wait-staff were charming and made helpful suggestions. My salmon was cooked as I like it, "al dente," moist and silky. Desserts were a treat, a lovely culmination to this dining experience in Ghent.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Therese R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie Cafe des Arts also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Brasserie Cafe des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing