We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hospitality and hotel near st.peter station”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Orion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Orion
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hospitality and hotel near st.peter station”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

we travelled from london by coach and arrived Ghent at early morning 5:20am. The bus stopped at Damport bus station and we take the first bus (5:40am) to St peter station. After that, we had breakfast at the st peter station because the hotel is open at 7am. The transport system to the hotel is convenience but aware that the last tram back to the hotel is at 11:16pm and the last tram (tram no:4) does not go to the hotel. Luckily the taxi is not expensive. We paid fifteen euro from central to hotel. Gerald is great, he gave us the transport information and we save lot of time at Damport Bus station. He is friendly and reply our email very quick. This is my first time stay in family hotel and me and my friends like the hotel, we surprised the facilities in this family hotel. You could enjoy the gym, sauna, jacuzzi and pool. We will definitely stay Hotel Orion again. Is a good choice for a traveller who bored about the hotel chain. The only weakness is it takes around 20 minutes from hotel to the city central. However, is convenience for the traveller to the st. peter railway station (only 5 minutes tram). We take train from St. Peter Station to Brugge (another beautiful city). It takes 25 minutes fast train from Ghent to Brugge, The return train ticket is about twelve euro.

Room Tip: We stayed in triple room and is the corner of first floor. I believe the quality of rooms are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suh1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    80
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
87
116
8
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
432 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

On 21 June 2010 I wrote a review for Villa Cento Passi (which at the time was operating as both a hotel and medical convalescence centre, although the latter wasn't mentioned anywhere on the "hotel" website).

VCP has since closed.

Under new management and an extensive refurbishment, the all new Orion hotel has opened.

TA have incorrectly reassigned my review and it now appears against Hotel Orion by mistake.

I have made a request to TA to fix their mistake, but in the meantime to clear up any confusion and to assist the new owner and travellers I am placing this "review" to clarrify things!


Please disregard my previous review, the only part that is still relevant is below:


It is a little out of the town centre, perhaps a 25-30 minute walk, although there is a tram stop nearby that runs up near to the historic centre. It is quiet, with a small garden and some parking, with a number of steps up to the main entrance at the front.

There are a few restaurants nearby (turn to the right), and a supermarket about 5mins walk (to left, ie heading out of town).


Note, I have rated this 5 only to negate the impact of my previous 3 rating. I have not stayed at the hotel since it has changed hands and have no basis on which to rate it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeenB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
133 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Hotel Orion is a beautiful art deco mansion in the villa quarter of Ghent. It is renovated with great taste and has the most comfortable beds! There was even a fireside in the room - looks great!
But best of all was Gerald, owner and soul of the hotel! Due to illness we had to postpone our stay twice. Instead of being angry or charging extra money, he gave us such a warm welcome!! He asked for the health status with honest concern and made us feel as we were visiting friends. We have to go back, since we could not see all the nice things in Ghent, that he recommended to us! We can highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We had room 14 - with fire place and leather sofa. Fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jutta-Mainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

We are 2 adults and 3 children, we were travelling from the UK and due to problems on the motorway we missed our eurotunnel putting us back by hours. This meant we didn't reach hotel orion until way after midnight, I informed Gerard via email which he always respond straight away, he was very kind and tried to make me see this would be no problem for him.

I thought this would be just his customer service speaking but when we arrived and all fell out the car (people with children will understand that one) he was genuinely so nice, worried about us and didn't make us feel bad in the slightest for keeping him up so ate at last minute knowing he would be up early the next day.

Family apartment room was zany, luxurious for all 5 of us at an amazing price.

Poirot inspired, retro decor, clean beyond belief.

Great hotel for families as children are to feel really welcome.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squares80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Not you typical Hotel for the city but in a good way. The style was classy yet cozy, luxurious yet not at all pretentious. Used Booking.com and the deal was smashing. You are greeted by great staff, especially Gerard at the front desk. He was willing to help in so many ways and make you feel very welcome and simply has a great personal approach. If you have any trouble finding the location...Sat Nav's are funny on this street) give them a call and they will set you straight. Let us park for free even after check out. Was able to take an 20:00 train to Brusseles(station is 10 min walk from hotel and tickets cheep). and back by 00:00. beautiful rooms with large property and big windows for good weather. The staff can show you the fast bus route into town which is quick and painless and they will point out the best places to go. Highly recommended and will be back. A diamond in the rough. Do visit.

jAKE

Room Tip: Booking.com got me there quickly and does not charge a fee. Corner rooms for good views,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakeDurbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Exceptionally friendly reception. Owners are young and enthousiastic. Large clean room in a splendid art deco villa in a quiet environment. Private parking available. Delicious breakfast. All very reasonable priced. Free wifi. A new asset to this beautiful city.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetteren, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Hotel Orion in Ghent opened only recently. The property was formerly a hotel, restaurant and even a private hospital. Now it has been refurbished and re-opened as a hotel offering breakfast, own parking space and indoor pool and sauna.
I stayed there with my family for a couple of nights after being evacuated from our home in a nearby town and we were booked into a triple suite and a double suite. The facilities in the room are good and the space is superb. The rooms are incredibly spacious and ours overlooked the front garden and offered great views.
Wifi is available throughout the hotel and free of charge.
The building in itself is wonderful being an art-deco villa and this gives a stay in Orion an extra feature. The area in which the hotel lies hosts the most beautiful houses of Ghent.
Breakfast is served as a buffet and includes bread, pastry, fruit, cheese, meat, eggs,cereal, fresh juice, ... In other words there is ample choice for whatever taste.
There is no restaurant but some rooms have a small kitchen and the many restaurants of Ghent can easily be reached.
The historic center of Ghent lies a bit further away but public transport can bring you there in 10 minutes. The railway station is closeby which is an extra benefit.
Hotel Orion offers many good things but the kindness and helpfulness of the owner at the front desk is the icing on the cake.
I have no doubt that this hotel will be noticed and rated highly by many visitors!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabinemartens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.7 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
1.8 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orion

Property: Hotel Orion
Address: Krijgslaan 181, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Orion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Deco Villa built in 1928 offers a nice variety of rooms with ensuite bathroom. Located in a very destinctive aera called the 'Milionaires Quarter' the hotel is half an hour walking from the medieval centre. Trams and busses can take you there in 10 minutes. Also the biggest parc and museums are at 10 min walking. The private sauna and pool are a big plus to your stay and will make your visit even better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Orion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing