We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect experience and very helpful owner !! BRILLIANT !!”
Review of Hotel Orion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Orion
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is a charming hotel within 20-30 minutes walking distance from the city centre old quarter... Our room ( 4 ) was huge and perfect for the two of us and our 2 teenage kids. The room offered great comfort, lovely shower/toilet room and very spacious feel. The owner is a top guy , he helped us find a great route to the old city rather than cab/bus I would recommend this walk through the park and next to the museums etc etc... This is not your typical hotel and you need to bear in mind that this will not give you perfection but it will give you the perfect experience if you want to plumb into some real culture of the city , ask the owner about the history of the building , great story..... all in all I enjoyed this so much, I will return for sure,,, we have stayed in chain hotels in Gent before and this is a much better experience.... oh and free secure ( and I mean proper secure ) parking was appreciated since we had over £1000 worth of bikes hanging on the back of the car .... RECOMMENDED !!!!

Room Tip: room 4 is huge and great for families.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0nnyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Hotel Orien has two main selling points: the owner and the spa facility. The owner is probably the nicest guy in the world, so friendly and accommodating. And the pool/sauna area, although small, is a little bit of luxury you won't get elsewhere in the city - it's an especially good feature because you book the pool/sauna area privately rather than having to share it with other guests. The pool has a current generator, which means that getting a good work out isn't an issue. There's also a fitness room, but we didn't try that out.

For the price I doubt you will find better - I did a fair amount of searching online and this hotel clearly stood out. The art deco building has real character and the rooms are comfortable, clean and well-presented. This isn't a high-end establishment, but the modernisation of the rooms has been well-executed, especially the bathrooms. Rooms are minimalist but cater for all essential needs.

Hotel is in a quiet area, in walking distance from main train station. Walking to Gent town centre is a fair old trek, but nearby bus provides easy access to the town (buses run every 15 mins, takes about 10-15 mins to town centre). Also trams are available from the train station.

Room Tip: Best to check with hotel which rooms are quietest. We had a room under the stairs which was rather n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and my 2 friends stayed at the orion hotel last weekend and could not fault it in the slightest the room was clean and tidy, bed was comfortable, shower was amazing! Gerard even ordered plus pizza because we were to hungover amazing!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank LyndaSinclair1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

cozy and really beautiful hotel, clean and spacious.
the breakfast was really nice, the receptionist very helpful and available, and the spa was amazing, we didn't expect it would be private, so we bought swimming wear for the occasion, it was a nice surprise, you can have sauna and swimming pool for your self for 1 hour a day, perfect to regenerate after the walking around in Gent.
we'll come back for sure!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biccibawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for three nights. The room was HUGE compared to most others we've stayed in. We must have been at the back of the hotel as our room looked out across some gardens and some parking bays.
As the hotel is slightly out of town it is quiet and relaxing. There is a large park almost opposite the hotel which, I can imagine, would be beautiful in the Summer.
We assumed 15 mins walk to Gent St Peters Station. There is a Tram not far away and a bus a little further. We chose the bus as it was the better route for our destination. Having bought a de lign 10 trip carte we paid 1 euro per journey.
We had gone to Belgium to check out the Christmas Markets. Arriving on the Thursday morning we were greeted by a very pleasant young man (Gerard?) who spoke perfect English. We were immediately made to feel welcome. We were given a map with lots of advice about where to go and what to see. We also had the local transport details explained too.
Gerard took us to the lift and then used the stairs to meet us at our room to make sure everything was OK.
When told what the breakfast would cost - 12 euros each per day - we decided we'd check it out on the first morning and then decide what to do the rest of our stay.
We stayed for breakfast each morning!
While the cost does seem rather high - particularly if there are several people in your group - we calculated what the total would be and considered whether that was a reasonable cost for this standard of hotel including breakfast. We agreed it was.
There was a selection of fruit, cereal, pastries, cold meat and cheese. The 'hot' food selection consisted of sausages, bacon and scrambled egg. (My husband said the food wasn't hot but he enjoyed it anyway.)
There was a selection of small bread rolls as well as a large dark loaf for slicing with basic white bread slices for toast. There was a microwave with little containers for producing fresh poached eggs.
There was possibly the biggest selection of soft cheeses I have ever seen anywhere!
There is a huge glass-fronted fridge in which there are a selection of fruit juices, water, milk, yoghurts - including fat-free - and a large bowl of fresh fruit salad.
Teas tend to be 'infusions' but we always take our own on holiday anyway.
The room was modern and clean with a huge comfortable bed. (Two twins together).
There was a large wardrobe with spare duvets though these weren't needed as the room was comfortable warm with easily controlled heaters.
It was nice to have drawers to use as so many hotels don't nowadays.
There is a small safe and a mini-bar. (We used the mini-bar as a fridge for our milk). We were charged 1.50 euro for bottled water.
There is a kettle and and some 'makings' for drinks: Two sachets of coffee, two tea bags - infusions, a couple of sugar sachets and milk pots.
The bathroom was painted a really dark red. There was a wonderful shower with a choice of shower heads. A more traditional hand-held one. Ideal for use with children and / or washing hair? The other was a large (deluge) shower head. Wonderful.
Soap, hair & body shampoo and shower caps were supplied.
I agree with the reviewer who commented on the height of the toilet. I'm 5'7" and my husband is 6'2". Even he commented on it!
There is a seating area in the foyer that also has a coffee maker.
All in all a really comfortable stay.
We would use this hotel again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgantravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in a double room. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was quiet and well heated with an excellent shower, no bath. The cleanliness was generally good except for dust under the bed and a few cobwebs around the room. There was a minibar and kettle in the room along with one small sachet of coffee each. Breakfast was available at 12 euros each but we decided to eat in the town instead. The hotel is about 40 mins walking distance from the city centre and tourist sites. A local supermarket is about 15mins walk away. I would certainly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nivana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel is understated and excellent. We arrived late and were met by a very friendly receptionist who recommended a nearby restaurant for some late dinner. The house is beautiful and the room we had was huge and really nicely furnished. It's a little out of town but still walkable distance. I will definitely keep this place in mind for my next visit to Ghent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeebly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 39 in Ghent
629 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.8 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 39 in Ghent
1,054 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
1.8 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 39 in Ghent
2,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orion

Address: Krijgslaan 181, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: £84 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Orion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Deco Villa built in 1928 offers a nice variety of rooms with ensuite bathroom. Located in a very destinctive aera called the 'Milionaires Quarter' the hotel is half an hour walking from the medieval centre. Trams and busses can take you there in 10 minutes. Also the biggest parc and museums are at 10 min walking. The private sauna and pool are a big plus to your stay and will make your visit even better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Orion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing