We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant relaxing experience”
Review of Hotel Orion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Orion
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant relaxing experience”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

When we arrived after a long journey from the Euro-Tunnel we couldn't have got a better welcome. The hotel is an art deco style building that carries through into the room. Very spacious en-suite room that easily accommodated 3 of us. The owner very attentive but not in your face we couldnt work the safe out but rung reception and was there before we put the phone down. Hotel short bus ride to the beautiful centre of Ghent the owner provided us with bus tickets which saves you so much time and hassle. We enjoyed it so much we stayed an extra night and the hidden gem of this place is that you can book the sauna and swimming pool just for yourselves which was wonderfull. We couldn't recommended this highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 612Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    82
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
87
119
8
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Definitely coming back here, this hotel was the perfect end to a holiday on travelling back from Europe. The building and room were fantastic, and the manager Gerard, couldn't have been more helpful in pointing out where to go to in town. Really nice period Art deco building with great rooms in a beautiful part of Ghent. Fantastic value and great breakfast too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed just for a night on our way back from UK to Sweden, so we never went to the city of Gent. Instead of booking a motel I realized that Hotel Orion was as easy to reach from the motorway and much much more nice.
And was it nice? Oh yes! Very nice, comfortable, cosy and stylish! We had the beautiful big family room with high ceilings and AC and we slept so well!
The staff was very kind and the manager/owner Gerald is really a nice and helpful bloke! He told us about the fascinating history of the house when he kindly made up an extra bed for us!
The breakfast, parking facilities and the WiFi was great too.
We will come back and this time also visit the town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

A truly fantastic hotel! Staff were very helpful, room was incredibly large for the price we were paying, and all of the features were modern and plush. The bathroom was updated and gorgeous, with a walk-in shower and detached toilet to accommodate our larger number of guests. This hotel is unbelievably nice for the price-- we were not expecting anything so nice due to the low amount we were paying. Instead, we found ourselves in a good location, walking distance from the town center and near a number of beautiful parks. Some reviewers have said they needed to take the bus or tram, and that might have been the case for us, but we fancied a leisurely stroll to see the town, and it certainly did not disappoint.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cameron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stopped here for 2 nights whilst visiting the local music festival. Easy to find - just a couple of miles from the main dual carriageway & a short taxi drive or 45 min walk into the centre. Rooms are spacious with mini bar and safe. Slightly dated but OK. Some have air con so best to ask if it's hot weather. Pool and sauna are completely private and you book by the hour with decent showers and changing facilities. Breakfast is typically continental but a little pricey at 12 euros. Lovely free coffee in reception area with fast wifi throughout. What makes this better than average is the staff and customer service we received. Would I stay here again - definitely yes!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ImpartialAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Friendly, comfortable, easy to find, near a tram stop. All excellent; would love to have stayed longer. Good base to explore Ghent, about 20 minutes on the tram, 10 minutes drive. Nice, small Thai restaurant nearby (see separate review).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel was perfectly fine - room was spacious - had parking & free wifi. Everyone was very nice & helpful. It's a bit far from the center of town - had to take a bus there & back. The price was affordable. Everything was clean. Overall, it was a very good hotel - just a bit out of the way.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.7 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
1.8 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orion

Property: Hotel Orion
Address: Krijgslaan 181, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Orion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Deco Villa built in 1928 offers a nice variety of rooms with ensuite bathroom. Located in a very destinctive aera called the 'Milionaires Quarter' the hotel is half an hour walking from the medieval centre. Trams and busses can take you there in 10 minutes. Also the biggest parc and museums are at 10 min walking. The private sauna and pool are a big plus to your stay and will make your visit even better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Orion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing